SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2018, 11:25 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 807
Stereo Configuration Question

Hi,

I am getting a compact stereo receiver for my office. It does not have HDMI ports. I am thinking of of doing the following:

HD300 == HDMI ==> TV == Optical ==> Receiver == Speaker Wire ==> Speakers

Does anyone see any issues with this setup?

Thanks,
John
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2018, 04:52 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
Probably depends on the TV. I had an older flat panel television that would not pass 5.1 channel audio out of its optical port in a similar scenario.

I'm not sure of the current state of newer televisions, but the thread linked to below had a similar experience. You may end up having to run the optical directly from the HD300 to the receiver, or upgrade the receiver.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60796
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2018, 04:57 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Hi,

I am getting a compact stereo receiver for my office. It does not have HDMI ports. I am thinking of of doing the following:

HD300 == HDMI ==> TV == Optical ==> Receiver == Speaker Wire ==> Speakers

Does anyone see any issues with this setup?

Thanks,
John
John this will work just fine like this
HD300 == HDMI ==> TV
HD300 == Optical ==> Receiver == Speaker Wire ==> Speakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Probably depends on the TV. I had an older flat panel television that would not pass 5.1 channel audio out of its optical port in a similar scenario.

I'm not sure of the current state of newer televisions, but the thread linked to below had a similar experience. You may end up having to run the optical directly from the HD300 to the receiver, or upgrade the receiver.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60796
There are way around that with an HDMI Audio Extractor Converter

Last edited by SHS; 07-14-2018 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 12:20 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 807
I only plan on having stereo in my office, so there is no 5.1 to worry about.

I was doing the optical from the TV since it is a smart TV and has a few streaming apps built in.

Thanks!
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2018, 01:54 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I only plan on having stereo in my office, so there is no 5.1 to worry about.

I was doing the optical from the TV since it is a smart TV and has a few streaming apps built in.

Thanks!
I see then you should still be fine
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2018, 03:00 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Hi, you may need to turn on "Game Mode" on the tv f you experience synchronisation issues (LipSynch)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configuration question mgpaulus Hardware Support 4 09-22-2016 12:48 PM
Configuration question beedlebum Hardware Support 3 05-15-2009 10:49 AM
What would you do ... configuration question ... robhix Hardware Support 2 10-14-2008 09:19 AM
Audio Question Stereo/5.1/Inputs??? itms Hardware Support 3 11-25-2005 09:42 AM
Audio question... stereo programs sounding odd madpoet General Discussion 2 12-31-2003 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.