SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:52 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Hulu pulled from Boxee

You've all probably already seen this news, but in case you haven't http://www.geektonic.com/2009/02/hul...u-content.html

Boxee Blog Announcement
Hulu Blog Announcement

Hulu is forcing Boxee to pull the Hulu content from their HTPC software this Friday.

I wonder whether this will affect SageTV's plans for Hulu? I hope not, but I fear the answer...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:18 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I would expect no. I'm thinking Boxee, and the majority of other current options that support Hulu, do so without "approval", sorta by hacking it in. I can see Hulu not being happy with that. Best I can figure, Sage is going for "legitimate" support.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:23 PM
thatdude90210 thatdude90210 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 385
Uh oh, Hulu is being pulled from Boxee... due to some content providers having their heads up their butts. Will Playon suffer the same fate? Or for that matter, what about SageTV's own attempt at integrating hulu with HD theater?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:43 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I would expect no. I'm thinking Boxee, and the majority of other current options that support Hulu, do so without "approval", sorta by hacking it in. I can see Hulu not being happy with that. Best I can figure, Sage is going for "legitimate" support.
I sure hope you are right. If so it would be a huge win for SageTV. If not....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2009, 07:03 PM
Halstead Halstead is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 183
Boxee looses Hulu- what does it mean for Hulu on SageTV

So, it looks like Hulu is going to start keeping Boxee users from accessing Hulu starting tomorrow:
Hulu Blog
Boxee Blog

I wonder, what this means (if anything) for the various 3rd parties that access Hulu, and what it might mean for SageTV integration.

* merged *
__________________
Halstead York

HTPC/Server: A8 3850; Win 7 Home x86 + Java 1.6.0_26; Sage 7.1.9; Driving Epson 8500 pj @ 1080p | Office: Core2Duo E8500 w/ EFI-X running OS X 10.5 & Win 7 Pro x64 (dual boot) + Java 1.6.0_20; Sage 7.0.23; Driving 30" Samsung 1900x1200 monitor

Last edited by Halstead; 02-18-2009 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2009, 07:57 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Amid the noise and empty boycott threats across the net I did see one interesting thought on the Engadget comments. The poster speculated that by getting Hulu off the internet and directly onto TV's that it somehow blurred the line between internet video and regular TV that put it in a legal gray area as far as licensing and compensation are concerned.

Last edited by evilpenguin; 02-18-2009 at 07:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:10 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I would expect no. I'm thinking Boxee, and the majority of other current options that support Hulu, do so without "approval", sorta by hacking it in. I can see Hulu not being happy with that. Best I can figure, Sage is going for "legitimate" support.
Have we gotten any more details about Sage's Hulu support? Given that the only device that I know of that is working on official Hulu support is the Roku device, I've always assumed Sage's support was hacked together too.

By my read of Hulu's blog post, the Hulu folks seemed to be pretty clear that they didn't mind Boxee streaming Hulu videos. And why would they? They were still getting their ads out there (and I assume they had a way of tracking them). They said it was the content providers that made them pull Boxee. And, I assume this was because they didn't want the Boxee and Hulu competing with cable/satellite/OTA. As long as Hulu is just for people sitting in front of their computer, most people won't use it as their primary source for these shows.

Sage is probably too small to get the attention of content providers, but it wouldn't surprise me if the content providers issued Hulu a general decree that would also apply to Sage's efforts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:38 PM
jason22 jason22 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
I haven't used Boxee. Were there any restrictions that it appeared to be bypassing. Could you FF through or skip commercials? Could you use Boxee to view HULU outside its servie area? If not, I too would be worried that content providers are pushing back for competitive reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:13 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Nope, it was essentially the same thing as using the website and going fullscreen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:42 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
Given that the only device that I know of that is working on official Hulu support is the Roku device, I've always assumed Sage's support was hacked together too.
Where did you see this? I have seen a lot of requests but when did Roku say they are working on "official support"?
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:55 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Amid the noise and empty boycott threats across the net I did see one interesting thought on the Engadget comments. The poster speculated that by getting Hulu off the internet and directly onto TV's that it somehow blurred the line between internet video and regular TV that put it in a legal gray area as far as licensing and compensation are concerned.
Hmm, Uh, didn't we just here some stuff from CES that TVs are now being integrated with stuff like that? and IPTV stuff too.

Now companies are making a ruckus? Of course it's the other companies.

Lines are blurred for a non-technical person, but we all know it's still coming from the internet but a larger viewing screen.

This reminds me when they were going to sale mp3 in the store instead of buying cd, but the music company didn't want that. That was over a decade ago but NOW they embraced it and doing it.

This also reminds me that if they could they would charge for email because that taking away from postal charges. It's a blurred line, you know. People are now receiving packages and now download able games

I don't understand the stance, they are still putting advertisements in the video stream. I wonder if it has to do anything with the TV.com vs Hulu.

One thought is that Hulu is an online source. Is someone really going to sit in front of the computer for hours watching a season of a show or just watch enough to go out and buy it from the store to watch it on your tv? I'm sure the latter is what they are hoping for. Now, since the people are having a means on getting it on tv, now that messes up the game plan (money).
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:56 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
Where did you see this? I have seen a lot of requests but when did Roku say they are working on "official support"?
Well, even that is speculation from rumors. There are a lot of reports of Roku working on Hulu support. And, an interview with a Roku VP last year indicated they're talking to the "big web video providers". If we believe the rumors (and with this recent event, I'm less inclined to), I think that strongly suggests Roku would be acting with Hulu's support (otherwise they wouldn't do it).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2009, 12:28 AM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I would expect no. I'm thinking Boxee, and the majority of other current options that support Hulu, do so without "approval", sorta by hacking it in. I can see Hulu not being happy with that. Best I can figure, Sage is going for "legitimate" support.


vaguely, according to boxee's blog, Hulu allowed and knew of it's presence in the boxee software:

Quote:
so we built support for browsing Hulu on boxee, reached out to Hulu, and on Oct 20th, 2008 shared it with our alpha testers. the response has been amazing. people love watching many of their favorite shows on Hulu via boxee. last week we generated more than 100,000 streams for them…

it is really sad, as the content was no different in appearance or ads when compared to the website, and, in fact, it was much easier to find content through boxee....
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2009, 07:47 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,836
Lots of possible reasons for this but here it my take.

If I were a cable or Satellite company paying big bucks to the networks to broadcast their shows, and then the networks turned around and allowed the same shows to be streamed to viewers TV sets cutting me out, I'd be pretty ticked off. Allowing the shows to be streamed to a computer probably got my attention but allowing the shows to be watched on a TV using a simple consumer box would put me over the edge.

Follow the money, the networks were probably getting heat from the cable and satellite companies.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:52 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
If I were a cable or Satellite company paying big bucks to the networks to broadcast their shows, and then the networks turned around and allowed the same shows to be streamed to viewers TV sets cutting me out, I'd be pretty ticked off.
Here's a quote from a Comcast press release:
Quote:
“In terms of the overall VOD business the majority of very attractive product that people are getting on sites like Fancast and Hulu … a huge amount of that is already on our VOD platform,” he said. “The interesting thing is the programmers are very sensitive to the fact that the affiliate fees that the cable and satellite industry pays are really the most attractive part of their business. Most of them are not making very much money, if any money at all on the Internet.”
http://www.homemediamagazine.com/fin...ubs-2008-14615
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:43 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 417
Why has PlayOn not been asked to remove support for Hulu???

I wonder if Sage will let is know if they are not going to continue on their path with Hulu support?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:49 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Why has PlayOn not been asked to remove support for Hulu???
We don't really know whether PlayOn or any others have been contacted at this point. We'll soon find out probably.

Quote:
I wonder if Sage will let is know if they are not going to continue on their path with Hulu support?
I'm sure they'll let us know once they decide.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-2009, 12:20 PM
Ryokurin's Avatar
Ryokurin Ryokurin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via ICQ to Ryokurin Send a message via AIM to Ryokurin Send a message via Yahoo to Ryokurin
You have to keep in mind that some of the content providers may be concerned about protecting their overall business, such as when Warner Brothers pulled all their current shows from the networks online streaming because they felt it would undercut syndication. Overly cautious? Yes. but I don't blame them either, especially in the current market.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-19-2009, 01:22 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Why has PlayOn not been asked to remove support for Hulu???

I wonder if Sage will let is know if they are not going to continue on their path with Hulu support?
The PlayOn product costs money. I would suppose some of that is being used as a license fee to Hulu.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-19-2009, 05:52 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
The PlayOn product costs money. I would suppose some of that is being used as a license fee to Hulu.
I highly doubt it. It would be big news if Hulu has official arrangements with other companies like that, and I haven't seen it. Other companies- bigger companies- would be jumping on board. Playon has sort of responded on their forums about the Hulu/Boxee ban, and their reply didn't say anything about being partners with Hulu. They said has not heard anything from Hulu on this subject and nothing that's been said indicates this applies to anything other than Boxee.

Playon is pretty small, as is Sage. Either one can probably get away with some Hulu support as long as it doesn't wind up in some New York Times advertisement. But, we might find it going against Hulu's terms of use soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPNs on HD-200 for Hulu, etc. outside of US wayner SageTV Media Extender 6 09-27-2009 08:46 PM
Hulu plugin? APillowOfClouds SageTV Customizations 23 02-14-2009 10:21 AM
HD100 and Hulu? Stuntman SageTV Media Extender 5 02-10-2009 12:23 PM
Boxee on the HD200? Brent SageTV Media Extender 8 12-11-2008 09:49 AM
Finally 'pulled the trigger" and ordered -=Jeff=- General Discussion 37 06-30-2008 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.