SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:27 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Windows Installer

Latest release available

Windows Files . Click the Files tab at this locaton

Note: 9.2.1 - first release including support for 64 bit windows - Thanks to WNJJ for all the work on getting the 64 bit changes completed to make this option available to SageTV users.

SageTV Change Log

Code:
Version 9.2.1 (2019-03-23)
64-bit AVI playback and music fixes (Windows)
Change: Whitelist LAV Audio and Video Decoders (Windows)
Change: SageTV7 STV system information will indicate 32/64 bit
Fix: Include Win10 in 'VISTA_OS' detection (Windows)
Change: New installation properties default video/dvd_video renderer is 'EVR'
Change: New installation properties default video/audio decoder are auto-detected
New: Add EXEMultiTunerPlugin, HCWIRBlaster & USB-UUIRT VS projects (Windows)
64-bit code and VS project updates (Windows)
Enabled MSYS2/MinGW compile for FFMPEG-based projects (Windows)
Fix: IR interface hangs trying to send non-numeric (eg: 42-1-1) command.
Removed dependency on SDK6.1 (Windows)
Fix: Sage-x64 hang due to CableCARD tuners (Windows)
Fix: Add support for HVR-4400 and other 885 variants (Windows)
Notes:
  • 64 bit install is a NEW product and will NOT perform an upgrade of x86 versions
  • Default install folder for 64 bit will be "Program Files" rather than "Program Files(x86)
  • Installation of 64 bit into the same folder as an x86 (32bit) version should work but not recommended
  • Installer will now default the install folder to the previous install location for upgrades - the 64 and 32 bit installs are handled separately for this
  • You should be able to have BOTH the 32 bit and 64 bit version installed on the same computer under different folders. They cannot/should not be run at the same time for numerous reasons
  • There is a new SageTV64 Service entry that should operated independently of the 32 bit one
  • If you copy your Wiz.bin and properties to your new installation, keep in mind that the .properties will need to be edited manually for the different paths - this is not the recommended approach as plugins and other references in the properties may cause issues
  • Note: the x64 version needs 64 bit Java and the x86 version needs 32 bit Java
  • Java is NOT embedded in the installer any longer. If Java (x86/x64 respectively) 1.7 or higher is not found on the system then the installer will download Java 1.8 from BinTray and install it. If you want a different Java version then please install it prior to running the installer.
  • AC3Filter is NO LONGER part of the installer as of 9.2.1
  • LAV Filters is now offered as part of the 32 bit and 64 bit installers.
  • The installer has options for setting "EnableSageTVStreamDemux" and "AlwaysSwapForAC3Filter"
  • Registry entries for the 64 bit install follow the windows standard so will be in a new location than the 32 bit ones (no longer under WOW6432node)
  • The installer has an option to install USB_UIRT support in the 64 bit version
  • If you wish to retain Closed Captioning or MPEG2 decoders from your V7 install, please install V9 on top of a V7 install.
  • this installer includes all prerequisites including
    • MS c++ 2010 and 2015 runtimes
    • DirectX 9 (only necessary parts)

Known Issues:
  • The installer may raise an error related to the registry settings "EnableSageTVStreamDemux" and/or "AlwaysSwapForAC3Filter". You can safely ignore these errors. Example here...
  • HDHR fresh installs will not find the 64 bit install. 2 work arounds....
    • Install the 32 bit version somewhere else, configure HDHR first time, and then you could uninstall the 32 bit version
    • Select either BeyondTV or Other: ATSC/QAM in the HDHR configuration
  • On the 64 bit version USBUIRT install may not complete fully and you may need to perform the following manual steps AFTER the install completes.
    • Copy uuirtdrv.dll from "SageTV\redist\usbuirt\amd64" folder into your Windows\System32 directory. Note that there will already be one there from the USB-UIRT driver install, but it is the 32-bit one and shouldn't be there anyway (the 32 bit one will be in SysWOW64 folder). Warning: If you reinstall the USB-UIRT driver for any reason it may replace this file with the 32-bit one.
      • 32 bit file dated 7/8/2011
      • 64 bit file dated 7/22/2012
    • More details here...
  • On the 64 bit version USBUIRT may not work in Service Mode for BOTH transmit and receive (only one or the other). This does work on some systems but the cause is unknown. You may use SageTV in "application mode" rather than as a service and this functionality should work. More details here...

For discussions related to the development of the windows installer please refer to this thread....

Latest Linux Files can be found here...
Attached Images
File Type: png download.png (1.5 KB, 2889 views)

Last edited by jusjoken; 04-06-2019 at 01:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 10:01 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Fails on Windows 7

Stalls on "Installing Visual C++ redistributables"

SageTV 7.1.9 trial installs and runs with no problem, unfortunately it will be dead in 19 days.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:05 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
Stalls on "Installing Visual C++ redistributables"

SageTV 7.1.9 trial installs and runs with no problem, unfortunately it will be dead in 19 days.
Is your win7 current with updates? We know this works on window 7 so need more info.

k
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:35 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Just installed it (win7 and Sage 7 trial) on Monday. I ran "check for updates" when installing, but it didn't find any. Maybe a permissions problem? I'm finding Win7 quite a bit different (obstinate) compared to XP. I don't even know where to check the version. I installed piriform speccy and it said that I was running Windows 7 64-bit.

EDIT: Just tried to install SageTV Client 441 from the Stuckless repository. Got error "C\Program Files(x86)\SageTV\STVERPrstr.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147024770" I also tried it with "Run as Administrator" same result.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1

Last edited by ASegredo; 11-02-2016 at 11:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2016, 01:31 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 70
I had to maually install updates on win 7 64... theres an update that fixes the windows updater on the computer.... people say it will hang if you dont reboot prior to runing windows... i just ran into both of those problems on Sunday
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:04 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I have the same problem on Windows 10 but there the necessary patches will not install and are not available through Windows Update.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2017, 09:47 AM
willieb willieb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
EDIT: Just tried to install SageTV Client 441 from the Stuckless repository. Got error "C\Program Files(x86)\SageTV\STVERPrstr.dll failed to register HRESULT-2147024770" I also tried it with "Run as Administrator" same result.
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
Guys,

I upgraded to Version 9 yesterday with seemingly no problems. I have a server, 2 HD100s, an HD200, 2 HD300s and an Android Miniclient all functioning well. I continue to be amazed by the talent and dedication all of you have. My only issue is that every time I try to install the Windows client on my main "work" machine at home, I get the error ASegredo encountered above. The only difference is I am running a fully-up-to-date version of Windows 10. I am installing over a working version of SageTV 7 so I am a little confused about why my mpeg2 drivers hang (not if I click "Ignore" for the STVERPrsts.dll, it is followed by about 15 more dlls that I know relate to Mpeg 2 playback). Any ideas? I can do it manually if someone points me in the right direction. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2017, 10:20 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieb View Post
Guys,

I upgraded to Version 9 yesterday with seemingly no problems. I have a server, 2 HD100s, an HD200, 2 HD300s and an Android Miniclient all functioning well. I continue to be amazed by the talent and dedication all of you have. My only issue is that every time I try to install the Windows client on my main "work" machine at home, I get the error ASegredo encountered above. The only difference is I am running a fully-up-to-date version of Windows 10. I am installing over a working version of SageTV 7 so I am a little confused about why my mpeg2 drivers hang (not if I click "Ignore" for the STVERPrsts.dll, it is followed by about 15 more dlls that I know relate to Mpeg 2 playback). Any ideas? I can do it manually if someone points me in the right direction. Much appreciated.
This is typically due to a dependency missing on your system. Did you try the kb install mentioned in the installer post? That may not be the right kb any longer but some dependency is missing and we need to track it down. I have an up to date win 10 test vm but it installs fine on it.

k
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2017, 07:26 AM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Is your win7 current with updates? We know this works on window 7....
I am going to make a logical leap and say that the installer probably does not work on XP - mainly because it is failing on my XP box and I do not see mention of any Windows versions except 7 and 10 in the threads I have skimmed so far.

Am I on the right track?

If so, would anybody opine whether I should "Upgrade" my XP box to 7 or 10?

I haven't heard anything good about 10, but it seems to be where things are headed.... OTOH, I know and trust 7.

Also, once I get an acceptable OS on the box, am I going to run into trouble because my SageTV is installed on D and not C: ?

The rationale for D: is that D: is for Data and C: is for System.... so I can image/re-image C: without losing data like Wiz.bin or SageTV.Properties.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna

Last edited by PeteCress; 05-29-2017 at 07:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2017, 07:44 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteCress View Post
If so, would anybody opine whether I should "Upgrade" my XP box to 7 or 10?

I haven't heard anything good about 10, but it seems to be where things are headed.... OTOH, I know and trust 7.
You asked for opinions - my opinion is that you should upgrade and to Win10 as Win7 is getting pretty long in the tooth. Some folks have complained about having forced reboots on Win10 but I don't think that I have seen that happen.

Other than that I don't see a downside to Win10 and a bunch of things on the upside, such as being newer and having some features that Win7 doesn't have.

For a further opinion - all of the cool kids are moving to unRAID Linux.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-29-2017, 08:14 AM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
...you should upgrade and to Win10 as Win7 is getting pretty long in the tooth. Some folks have complained about having forced reboots on Win10 but I don't think that I have seen that happen.

Other than that I don't see a downside to Win10 and a bunch of things on the upside, such as being newer and having some features that Win7 doesn't have.

For a further opinion - all of the cool kids are moving to unRAID Linux.
Well, that resolves the 7-vs-10 question for me.

But for a hundred bucks (10 OEM price), maybe I need to re-visit the unRAID solution. Somebody had me going on it a couple weeks ago, but when I tried to create a USB stick to do the deed, I could not make it happen.

A strong appeal to me of the UnRAID solution is the USB stick: it sounds like I can leave the XP install in place and just try UnRAID without losing anything - once I get a USB stick working.... -)

Perhaps more relevant is that it seems like The-Powers-That-Be-SageTV-wise are all using UnRAID....

No problem with Un-RAID and 3-TB drives, right?
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-29-2017, 09:11 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteCress View Post
Also, once I get an acceptable OS on the box, am I going to run into trouble because my SageTV is installed on D and not C: ?
Just when you run the Installer, choose Options before doing the install so you can ensure it is going to the path you want. When I did the V6 > V7 > V9 upgrade on my test image, the V9 Installer did the Default (C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV) path instead of detecting it was on D: drive.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-30-2017, 08:10 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteCress View Post
I am going to make a logical leap and say that the installer probably does not work on XP - mainly because it is failing on my XP box and I do not see mention of any Windows versions except 7 and 10 in the threads I have skimmed so far.

Am I on the right track?

If so, would anybody opine whether I should "Upgrade" my XP box to 7 or 10?

I haven't heard anything good about 10, but it seems to be where things are headed.... OTOH, I know and trust 7.

Also, once I get an acceptable OS on the box, am I going to run into trouble because my SageTV is installed on D and not C: ?

The rationale for D: is that D: is for Data and C: is for System.... so I can image/re-image C: without losing data like Wiz.bin or SageTV.Properties.
It should work on XP. You will first get an error that tells you to update the windows installer...it should give you details.

It then will have at least one failure of registering a dll...EVR i believe. Ignore these and continue.

It should then work.

Note...if you search for WHS posts i believe it acts the same as XP.

k
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-20-2017, 11:08 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,348
jusjoken is there plan update to 9.1.7 any time soon it sure be nice to have the fix logos in guide
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2017, 02:20 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
jusjoken is there plan update to 9.1.7 any time soon it sure be nice to have the fix logos in guide
Are you sure 9.1.7 fixes that ? I believe that someone first needs to create a makefile that will properly build the imageloader and I am not aware if anyone has yet. I tinkered with it myself for a bit but it may take a long time if everyone is waiting on me to figure out C makefiles

Otherwise, the only thing I am waiting on is to give TMiranda time to adjust youtube plugin as I believe it will stop working after the new STV is in place in 9.1.7 and I think there are many users that rely on that.

Otherwise, I can build a 9.1.7 pretty much any time.

k
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-20-2017, 03:06 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I tinkered with it myself for a bit but it may take a long time if everyone is waiting on me to figure out C makefiles
Did you install Mingw? It looks like once you do, you need only run 'make ImageLoader.dll' in the directory where the makefile is, provided the paths to the libraries are all good. (I.E. you may have to update the jdk path to a newer one.)

In theory the dll builds could get added into the native Windows project but I assume the goal here was to keep the dll/so source and build between Windows and Linux as shared as possible.

Last edited by wnjj; 09-20-2017 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-20-2017, 04:06 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Are you sure 9.1.7 fixes that ? I believe that someone first needs to create a makefile that will properly build the imageloader and I am not aware if anyone has yet. I tinkered with it myself for a bit but it may take a long time if everyone is waiting on me to figure out C makefiles

Otherwise, the only thing I am waiting on is to give TMiranda time to adjust youtube plugin as I believe it will stop working after the new STV is in place in 9.1.7 and I think there are many users that rely on that.

Otherwise, I can build a 9.1.7 pretty much any time.

k
See https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...25&postcount=6

which saying
Edit: The code is actually fixed. The DLL with the changes just needs to be compiled and included in the next Windows release.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-21-2017, 11:16 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Are you sure 9.1.7 fixes that ? I believe that someone first needs to create a makefile that will properly build the imageloader and I am not aware if anyone has yet. I tinkered with it myself for a bit but it may take a long time if everyone is waiting on me to figure out C makefiles

Otherwise, the only thing I am waiting on is to give TMiranda time to adjust youtube plugin as I believe it will stop working after the new STV is in place in 9.1.7 and I think there are many users that rely on that.

Otherwise, I can build a 9.1.7 pretty much any time.

k
I'm targeting this weekend for the YouTube fixes.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-22-2017, 12:30 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 192
I noticed the installer created a "MPEGDecoder" folder. I was under the impression that you needed V7 for the use of a MPEGDecoder; is that no longer the case?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-22-2017, 01:54 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
I noticed the installer created a "MPEGDecoder" folder. I was under the impression that you needed V7 for the use of a MPEGDecoder; is that no longer the case?
Are you upgrading over v7? If so, it will create that and migrate the decoder that was part of v7.

k
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Github Development 460 08-21-2017 03:47 AM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.