SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 02-24-2009, 08:13 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Sorry about that....final word here and I won't say any more and then getback on topic...

it's a little bit of both.

At home, the WAF has been pretty high lately. I always save any kind of maintenance for the weekend mornings and/or when no one is watching anything on the weekend. It is true that the secret to a high WAF to is not ever touch anything . If it works, leave it alone......resist the urge or get your own machine to futz with.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 02-24-2009, 08:16 AM
sam99 sam99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
Old Fart says: Distracting the kids... what happened to "go outside and play and don't come back 'til dinner time" ? Or was that just a warm-climate thing?
heh, they are almost 2 and 4, they do not go outside without me or my wife, snow or not Bringing up the menu and clicking on one of their shows will keep the 4 year old focused, but the 2 year is not into tv at all. At least they are not fighting. Compare that to right before I had sage and my 4 year old was 2 and the only thing on was Zach and Cody or one of those obnoxious things that pass for cartoons these days, ugh. I like the shows I mentioned, they show use of imagination, singing and dancing, all of which actually has my son singing and dancing along or pretending to act out a backyardigans or little einsteins show.

even my K(id)AF is high, he can navigate through the menus to his shows by telling me which selections to make. His shows are a reward, not an entitlement or cheap babysitter.
__________________
SageTV user since 04/07!
Server: Athlon 64 3000+ 2g, 2x500m mem, 80g OS, 4x500gb in hotswap enclosure, 3x1tb sata2, 2xHVR1600 dual tuners. Splitters on cable SD line (channels 1-99) and attic antenna for OTA HD
Client1: HD300, 60" Samsung 60A3000 great room
Client2: HD200, 40" Samsung LCD bedroom
Client3: HD100, 42" Panasonic Plasma kid's playroom; Client4: MVP, 36" CRT basement workout area; Client5: MPV 13" CRT garage workbench
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:40 AM
Eckwell's Avatar
Eckwell Eckwell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 289
WAF in my house is pretty high, and SageTV has kept my now 3 and 7 year olds from even learning what "Live" TV is, or even commericials. My 7 year old hates commercials!

The only really problem that I have is Close Caption support. The excellent CC Plugin and the work done on CCExtractor keep things in check, but when it doesn't work, it's trouble... I can never really get into the top teir of WAF beause of this.

For instance, last night, watching American Idol, the CC was dead on! until half way through when it started rendering the CC nonstop in rapid fire and I had to shut it off. I know there are most likely things I can "Try" to fix it, but bringing it down requires that I stay up until 2am!

She said to our friends the other day... "He is never satisfied and is constantly changing it"... true, in order to make it BETTER!!!
__________________
Eckwell / Chicago, IL
SERVER: AMD Phenom III 8750 Black / 4 GB / XP Pro / JV1.6.24 / V7 / 2 PVR-HD (DirectTV) & HDHR (2xATSC)
STORAGE: WD Raptor36GB boot / 11TB in 2 eSATA enclosure
DEFAULT STV
Comskip triggered by DirMON2 --- HD100 / HD200 /HD300
BMI fanart
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:52 AM
pknowles's Avatar
pknowles pknowles is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 64
My WAF took a hit last night. Wife wants Netflix on the HTPC, which requires Silverlight, which requires SSE instructions. However, we have an old AMD Thunderbird that doesn't have SSE instructions.

I'm now looking on freecycle for someones through away P4.
__________________
Phil K.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 02-24-2009, 12:21 PM
ghostlobster's Avatar
ghostlobster ghostlobster is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 340
Send a message via MSN to ghostlobster
Regarding explaining maintenence to the Mrs., that's pretty easy...it's the cost of the convenience and features. If you want the functionality of this setup, it needs to be paid for in a few hours (maximum) per month. Generally, when I puoll the system down for maintenence, I also slap another add-in in place. something that I can show her to get a small wow out of it and make the maintenence worth while when looking at it from the outside-in. Last time I put the latest version of Sage in place, I also installed Fan Art for movies and TV. She loved that! The time before, I put the caller-id YAC client in, again, another huge WOW.
__________________
Ghostlobster
Server: Athlon 3000+, 1GB RAM, 2 Hauppauge 150s, HDHomeRun, HD-PVR driving 3 clients.
Client 1 - Athlon 4600 x2, 2 GB RAM, ATI HD2600 XT
Client 2 - Athlon 4200 x2, 1 GB RAM, ATI HD2400 Pro
Client 3 - Athlon 4200 x2, 1 GB RAM, nVidia 8500 GT

Raleigh Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 02-24-2009, 01:48 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
I find the easiest way to keep my wife "distracted" when doing maintenance is to drop the HD200 into standalone mode, pull up my playon server (which is running on another desktop), and let her watch old tv shows from Hulu.....This will usually keep her busy for an hour or two...
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:35 AM
webwalker's Avatar
webwalker webwalker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 193
Now that my wife is starting to break in to the idea of the client/server nature of sage, she's starting to see how she can enjoy some of her programming in the evening without being underfoot when I need to perform maintenance.

If there is a maintenance item on the core server, I give her 24 hours notice. That means that she decides what she wants to watch that night and then pulls it over to local storage on her laptop during the day. This way we can be in the same room while I'm working and she watches her programming on the laptop.

The only thing that has become a headache is that the server is booked 4 out of 7 evenings recording broadcasts of first run material. This really puts a dent in my ability to set aside a few hours of solid work on the core server.

She is also fascinated and horrified by the amount of storage that programming is sopping up. As soon as I get SageMC to acknowledge EDL files against for non-mpg video, we'll start more aggressive compression on the kid's programming and start the squash. But at the rate we're going, I don't expect we're going to put off our storage upgrade until August, which was my planned schedule.

The longer Sage stays up at a shot, the higher the WAF gets.

M
__________________
SAGE Server 7.0.23 | Java 1.6.0_23
HW: XP32 @ 2.4Ghz Core2Duo/4gb RAM
PVR150 + SAT | HDHR | 1x HD200
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:39 AM
webwalker's Avatar
webwalker webwalker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 193
I just thought of another thing that jumped the WAF here.

Friday last, one of the networks changed NUMB3RS from a new episode to a rerun on less than 36 hours notice. NUMB3RS is a 'first run only' event. So my wife was quite alarmed when she finished a program halfway through the normal run time of NUMB3RS and noticed that it wasn't recording. She pulled up the EPG for the episode and was surprised to see that it was a repeat; the day before it had shown as a new episode.

Her estimation of SAGE smarts (despite having had a Tivo since 2001) went way up. She still misses her Wishlist, though.

M
__________________
SAGE Server 7.0.23 | Java 1.6.0_23
HW: XP32 @ 2.4Ghz Core2Duo/4gb RAM
PVR150 + SAT | HDHR | 1x HD200
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better WAF for DVD Library tpboyce SageTV Software 7 01-04-2009 11:38 AM
High WAF tells me to say "Thank you" dislecksea General Discussion 12 12-04-2008 11:54 AM
Question about overall reliability and WAF timnelsonic SageTV Software 26 02-27-2008 05:58 AM
Conflict Manager didn't work right - WAF factor spiraling down raoul SageTV Software 16 02-05-2008 03:40 PM
WAF is very high! jbarr General Discussion 14 01-04-2007 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.