SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2021, 11:03 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,092
Windows 11 announcement

Still early of course, but discovered using the Windows PC Health checker that my server won't be able to run Windows 11, as the AMD A10 processors won't be supported (and I doubt the motherboard in there does TPM 2.0 anyway).

Maybe this will get me to upgrade to something of this era.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2021, 12:42 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
Still early of course, but discovered using the Windows PC Health checker that my server won't be able to run Windows 11, as the AMD A10 processors won't be supported (and I doubt the motherboard in there does TPM 2.0 anyway).

Maybe this will get me to upgrade to something of this era.
I did the Check and not of my PC's came back able ... My Intel i7 i5 ... So i would not put much stock in that Health Check.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2021, 12:46 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 347
I read that the CPU requirement is not a "hard requirement" and most decent CPUs can run Win 11 - check and see if your BIOS has “PSP fTPM” (AMD) or "PTT" for Intel and enable it and re-run - those are effectively a built-in TPM. I can't seem to find a list for Intel but I read that almost all CPUs since Gen 4 have PTT.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370/OpenDCT/HDHR-Quatro (OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8)
Channels-DVR:Win10/i3-4340/HDHR Quatro 4K/TVE(YTTV)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2021, 01:04 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,564
This came back as unsupported ....

__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2021, 01:57 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 347
The official Win 11 CPU list indicates an 8th generation or newer Intel CPU is required - It looks like the software is factoring in the "soft requirement" of the CPU - I'll try my 9th gen when I get home and post - this morning the health checker said my core i5 9600K was not ready either, but I have since learned about turning on PTT in the BIOS, which I am fairly certain is currently off

Update: After turning on PTT, my PC is now Windows 11 ready - conclusion: PC Health App is checking for TPM/PTT and checking the CPU list
Attached Images
File Type: png Windows-11.png (310.2 KB, 30 views)
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370/OpenDCT/HDHR-Quatro (OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8)
Channels-DVR:Win10/i3-4340/HDHR Quatro 4K/TVE(YTTV)

Last edited by Telecore; 06-25-2021 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2021, 03:24 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
I think if history has taught us anything, then Windows 11 will be a dud, Windows 12 will fix everything wrong with Windows 11, and not to fret, because the Linux PC Health Checker says that it'll run on your old hardware just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2021, 10:19 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
The announcements didn't talk too much about what is advancing on WSL. Presumably the Android emulator on Win11 will use WSL. WSL is becoming more and more useful and I have been using it a fair bit and it has added a lot more functionality. You can now get at least three Linux distros as well - Ubuntu, Kali and Suse.

It will be interesting to see if the Win11 Android emulator will run the SageTV Android client.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2021, 10:21 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telecore View Post
The official Win 11 CPU list indicates an 8th generation or newer Intel CPU is required - It looks like the software is factoring in the "soft requirement" of the CPU - I'll try my 9th gen when I get home and post - this morning the health checker said my core i5 9600K was not ready either, but I have since learned about turning on PTT in the BIOS, which I am fairly certain is currently off

Update: After turning on PTT, my PC is now Windows 11 ready - conclusion: PC Health App is checking for TPM/PTT and checking the CPU list
You can find the list of supported CPUs here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...tel-processors

Many people will not be able to run Win11 as this is a pretty high bar in terms of having a fairly new PC.

From TheVerge:https://www.theverge.com/2021/6/25/2...e-requirements
Quote:
Originally, Microsoft noted that CPU generation requirements are a “soft floor” limit for the Windows 11 installer, which should have allowed some older CPUs to be able to install Windows 11 with a warning, but hours after we published this story, the company updated that page to explicitly require the list of chips above. We’ve reached out to Microsoft to clarify its CPU requirements and support, and we’ll update you accordingly.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2021, 03:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
You can find the list of supported CPUs here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...tel-processors

Many people will not be able to run Win11 as this is a pretty high bar in terms of having a fairly new PC.

From TheVerge:https://www.theverge.com/2021/6/25/2...e-requirements
There are already videos on installing on any hardware.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2021, 03:53 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
You can find the list of supported CPUs here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...tel-processors

Many people will not be able to run Win11 as this is a pretty high bar in terms of having a fairly new PC.

From TheVerge:https://www.theverge.com/2021/6/25/2...e-requirements
That page only lists the intel processors. There is another page for amd:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...amd-processors
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR

Last edited by Tiki; 06-26-2021 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-28-2021, 07:35 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,338
I suspect this has more to do with the announced Windows 11 requirement of TPM 2.0 support (Trusted Platform Module) than anything else.

TPMs support is a fairly new thing, so many of the older processors/motherboards aren't going to support it.

It will be interesting to see if Windows backs down from this at all or if it ends up being a mandatory requirement for Windows 11 to work at all.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2021, 09:57 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
How will this affect running Windows 11 in VMs, like under unRAID as a host OS. Will you still need TPM or can that be "emulated" by the host OS in a WM?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-28-2021, 10:57 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
How will this affect running Windows 11 in VMs, like under unRAID as a host OS. Will you still need TPM or can that be "emulated" by the host OS in a WM?
I think this video Linus (Linus tech tips) installs windows 11 on unraid.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odZSCdNTFPw
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-02-2021, 07:43 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 363
I'm much more concerned that Windows 11 might introduce some new "features" we have to work around to keep SageTV running.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-04-2021, 10:32 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
https://www.ghacks.net/2021/06/29/mi...-requirements/

Quote:
Microsoft's Windows 11 operating system may support more processors than initially announcement by Microsoft through the system requirements. Microsoft released the first Windows 11 Insider build on June 28, 2021 for testing.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-06-2021, 11:53 AM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I'm much more concerned that Windows 11 might introduce some new "features" we have to work around to keep SageTV running.
Really depends on how you want to set up your system.

For me, I want as few updates and changes as possible on certain systems that will never or rarely interface to the interweb, so I've been installing Win 8.1 and setting it to no updates. I have a Win 8.1 VM that serves as an HDPVR2 network tuner server set up this way, and I don't want it getting mucked up.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-14-2021, 02:10 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Almost ditto for me, although I do updates.

I have two servers running at home and both are Windows 8.1 64-bit. I don't need or want any of the Win10 garbage on those. One is SageTV, Plex and assorted AV stuff. The other is BlueIris.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-21-2021, 03:46 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
Still early of course, but discovered using the Windows PC Health checker that my server won't be able to run Windows 11, as the AMD A10 processors won't be supported (and I doubt the motherboard in there does TPM 2.0 anyway).

Maybe this will get me to upgrade to something of this era.
I just tried that on my desktop. The site says it's "coming soon".
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-03-2021, 11:17 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,564
Install on older hardware.

https://www.theverge.com/22644194/mi...essors-changes
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comskip Monitor: Announcement Steep SageTV Customizations 340 09-26-2020 09:23 AM
Narflex Announcement tvmaster2 SageTV Software 11 07-27-2015 12:06 PM
SageTV Announcement mightyt SageTV Software 34 09-15-2004 04:20 PM
Plextor announcement x[corwyn] General Discussion 4 09-14-2004 08:38 PM
Where is the 2.0.11 announcement? JJarmoc SageTV Beta Test Software 8 01-30-2004 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.