SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2009, 11:35 AM
can3gxw can3gxw is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 219
Question Record and stop manually?

After much searching, and no luck, I am posting hoping that someone can tell me some good news.

Is there a way to have SageMC simply start recording what I am currently watching without changing channel, and then stop recording when I want it to?

Here is why I would want to do such a thing:

I have a Bell PVR. I DO NOT have an HD-PVR yet, so I am limited to the S-Video input on my PVR-150. This isn't the greatest thing to watch on an HDTV, so I use the Bell PVR for 90% of my recordings.

Sometimes, there are some great clips on that I want to keep for posterity, or perhaps some show that I want to offload for whatever reason. I can pipe the video through Sage, but I can't really record it because it wants to run the whole length of the program that's on "that channel", even though that channel is moot since the feed is NOT what Sage thinks it is.

Is there a way to set up a "manual record channel" and then press REC on Sage to start the recording... then, when the desired portion is over, press "STOP" and stop the recording? This could be anywhere from 30 seconds to 1 hour (or more).

Has anyone ever done this or have an idea if it's possible?

Thanks!
__________________
Gregg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2021, 07:54 PM
p3m0 p3m0 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by can3gxw View Post
After much searching, and no luck, I am posting hoping that someone can tell me some good news.

Is there a way to have SageMC simply start recording what I am currently watching without changing channel, and then stop recording when I want it to?

Here is why I would want to do such a thing:

I have a Bell PVR. I DO NOT have an HD-PVR yet, so I am limited to the S-Video input on my PVR-150. This isn't the greatest thing to watch on an HDTV, so I use the Bell PVR for 90% of my recordings.

Sometimes, there are some great clips on that I want to keep for posterity, or perhaps some show that I want to offload for whatever reason. I can pipe the video through Sage, but I can't really record it because it wants to run the whole length of the program that's on "that channel", even though that channel is moot since the feed is NOT what Sage thinks it is.

Is there a way to set up a "manual record channel" and then press REC on Sage to start the recording... then, when the desired portion is over, press "STOP" and stop the recording? This could be anywhere from 30 seconds to 1 hour (or more).

Has anyone ever done this or have an idea if it's possible?

Thanks!
That is what im looking for too. A way to manually record and stop recording. I have a colossus 2 with hdmi so what i watch is straight into to pc no guide no server. I could no longer use wintv 8 cause video stutters and is choppy and Hauppauge has not replied about a month ago. Sagetv works perfectly no stuttering choppy laggy video. As i can see this was posted a very long time ago and there won't be an answer to this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2021, 08:43 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 404
Not a way to do exactly what you're asking for, but you can record the whole thing & then run your recording through either Sage's converter, Handbrake, or something similar, telling it to pull just the desired portion of the video. That's how I handle clips.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you make stop button actually stop dinki SageMC Custom Interface 4 02-04-2009 03:02 PM
OMG. Stop Recording. Not kidding. Stop NOW! joesh SageTV Software 5 02-20-2007 08:32 PM
How to manually scan channel dma4620 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 11-12-2006 08:24 AM
v2 beta 13 Record Start/Stop Adjustment Problem TiltRod SageTV Beta Test Software 5 02-27-2004 10:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.