SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-05-2017, 09:58 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,771
Okay, so that's basically the mini toslink converter. I didn't even know mini toslink existed.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-05-2017, 10:36 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Okay, so that's basically the mini toslink converter. I didn't even know mini toslink existed.
Yeah, it's been around a while. Used it on the portable Minidisc recorder I had 15 years ago.
__________________
Server: 2 x Xeon L5430, Supermicro X7DWE , 24GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.2
Client 2: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-11-2017, 11:01 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,633
So this evening I finally got to test the optical output and it also doesn't output 5.1 surround from Netflix. However, I did notice that audio pass through with HDMI was working in Plex after the most recent update. The SageTV Client is also working with pass through but it is not playable and stutters like crazy.

I have learned that the likely reason I don't get 5.1 from Netflix or other streaming apps is because they are mostly standardized on Dolby Digital Plus, which is not directly transportable over SPDIF. It has to be "converted" to standard DD, which likely requires a license that Mi Box doesn't have. So for this to work across all apps you either need a receiver with HDMI that can decode DD+ or one of these HDMI switches to work with an older non-HDMI receiver:

J-Tech Digital 5 Port HDMI/MHL Switch & Audio Extractor SPDIF/3.5mm Jack Stereo Outputs with Ultra HD 4K ARC EDID Setting(5x1 Ultra HD) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01296E5OO..._.v-NybB68VGWG
__________________
Server: 2 x Xeon L5430, Supermicro X7DWE , 24GB RAM, 12TB drive array, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.2
Client 2: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-17-2017, 11:05 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,531
Anyone know what the availability of the MiBox is like these days? I live in Canada but I am going to be in the US next week. I was going to order one at walmart.com but they are OOS. Anyone know know frequently do they come back in stock?
__________________
Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, 2xHD-PVR(connected to SA3250HD+SA4250HD-Rogers Cable), HDHR(2xOTA), HVR-1850(one OTA, one connected to SA3200 SD cable box), 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-17-2017, 11:14 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Anyone know what the availability of the MiBox is like these days? I live in Canada but I am going to be in the US next week. I was going to order one at walmart.com but they are OOS. Anyone know know frequently do they come back in stock?
Probably the best option is to order it for pickup at the store you'll be near, and there it will give you the availability at that store (today, or a date, today typically meaning they have it in stock there). They will pull it off the shelf (or out of the back room, most often) and keep it at the pickup area for up to 7 days.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:05 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Anyone know what the availability of the MiBox is like these days? I live in Canada but I am going to be in the US next week. I was going to order one at walmart.com but they are OOS. Anyone know know frequently do they come back in stock?
They showed available when I checked the stores I was going to be close to in Fort Lauderdale and Orlando at the beginning of February. It wasn't were I expected it to be with a/v equipment and the clerk didn't recognize the name or understand the features but easily found it when I showed the picture on my phone



Martin

Last edited by emveepee; 02-17-2017 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage 7 Beta Linux Ready for Prime Time? loonsailor SageTV Beta Test Software 1 08-03-2010 07:07 PM
Fox Prime-Time QAM issue DON3k Hardware Support 15 03-28-2010 05:38 PM
6.5.6 - Not quite ready for prime time yet AzJazz SageTV Beta Test Software 10 01-19-2009 11:54 AM
HD Media Extender not quite ready for prime time mattbrad2 SageTV Media Extender 6 01-06-2008 08:01 PM
Is Sage 4.1 ready for "Prime Time"??? trini0 SageTV Software 23 04-11-2006 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.