SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2011, 11:50 AM
madas madas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 83
Sage client always starts minimized

Hello,

I am running the sage client on the same machine as the server (in service mode)

I have ui/last_win_fs=true in my sageclient.prop file

When I start sage it goes full screen for about a second then minimizes to the taskbar. If I set ui/last_win_fs=false it launches into window mode ok.

Any ideas why it keeps minimizing?

I've checked ui/startup_type and set this to 0,1,2 and it doesn't change the behaviour of this.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2011, 02:11 PM
frontlinegeek frontlinegeek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 184
Do you have Full Screen Exclusive turned on?

I have that issue when FSE is on. Turn that off and all is fine.
__________________
My contribution to the internet: https://www.youtube.com/user/frontlinegeek
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2011, 03:23 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
+1. I have the media center button mapped in eventghost to bring sage to the front so it really isn't an issue, but it would be nice if it didn't happen.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:47 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
As mentioned, disable FSE. It's really not needed if you are using the EVR. What is happening is some other program is grabbing focus, and since you have sage set to be a full-screen exclusive app, it is minimizing.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:40 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
As mentioned, disable FSE. It's really not needed if you are using the EVR. What is happening is some other program is grabbing focus, and since you have sage set to be a full-screen exclusive app, it is minimizing.
If FSE doesn't work, file a bug report. On mid-level (and lower) GPUs you will see a marked improvement in PQ when it is enabled; the main reason is that it disables DWM composition, but giving exclusive access to the screen has other benefits as well.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2011, 08:23 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I haven't noticed any PQ issues without having it enabled vs disabled. For some reason it stopped happening. I guess I won't worry about it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2011, 12:02 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I haven't noticed any PQ issues without having it enabled vs disabled. For some reason it stopped happening. I guess I won't worry about it.
If you don't see the difference don't sweat it . Every mid-level GPU I've tested has benefited to some degree, with the lowest end showing the most improvement when FSE is enabled.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2011, 12:29 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
If you don't see the difference don't sweat it . Every mid-level GPU I've tested has benefited to some degree, with the lowest end showing the most improvement when FSE is enabled.
I agree. When I used ati 3450 there was a big difference between FSE pq vs no FSE, but with the 8800GT (soon to be amd 6570) I don't see any difference.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2011, 12:45 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I agree. When I used ati 3450 there was a big difference between FSE pq vs no FSE, but with the 8800GT (soon to be amd 6570) I don't see any difference.
Yeah, I've never tested a 8800GT but given its spec's I'd expect it to be outside the noticeable range.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:45 AM
madas madas is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 83
disabling FSE fixed it for me.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resuming DVD playback always starts back at the beginning on Sage client LehighBri SageTV Software 12 01-12-2010 11:57 AM
SageTV Client starts fullscreen but no focus IVB SageTV Software 1 12-30-2005 10:56 AM
Unfortunate behavior when fav #5 starts at 11:05pm but fav #15 starts at 11:00pm rmellor SageTV Software 16 03-23-2005 03:05 AM
Using remote control with Sage minimized? tabletsage SageTV Beta Test Software 6 02-11-2004 12:04 PM
My Client almost starts up but dies. jackP SageTV Beta Test Software 3 01-27-2004 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.