SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2009, 02:37 AM
kuka kuka is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Placeshifter only 1 frame per second

I installed trial SageTV server on two computers and placeshifter on several computers connected 100 Mb LAN.

In any combination I try to use placeshifter I get only apprx 1 frame per second. Sound comes perfectly. I use Hauppauge HD PVR without any software compression. Hauppauge bundled software works perfectly.

On SageTV server computer CPU load is 5-9 %, memory usage 50 %. On placeshifter computer CPU load is 15-20 % (Core duo 2.2 GHz, with 2 GB).

Whats wrong? I go for SageTV if placeshifting works correctly, since that feature is essential to me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2009, 12:33 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Are you recording the HDPVR at 1080i or 720P?

1080i is not supported at this point thru placeshifter.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2009, 11:05 PM
kuka kuka is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
Are you recording the HDPVR at 1080i or 720P?

1080i is not supported at this point thru placeshifter.
I have tried only standard resolution, no HD. When I start placeshifter, in the beginning the frame rate is higher, maybe 15-20 frames/sec, but within few seconds it goes down to 1 frame/sec. It is not depending on PC hardware or LAN. The result is same with two duo 2.2-2.8 GHz or older Celeron in 100 Mb LAN. I downloaded SageTV client and try with it later for debugging, but I need placeshifter to watch remote cable box. I assume there is no bandwidth issue with SageTV since upstream from cable box is 10 Mb and downstream is 24 Mb and I have watched without any problem IPTV service, which steals 8 Mb.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:20 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
H264 content does not work well over placeshifter ever after setting lower bitrates for the server to transcode. Please correct if I'm wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2009, 12:55 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
Are you recording the HDPVR at 1080i or 720P?

1080i is not supported at this point thru placeshifter.
Why is that?

I can stream 1080i mpeg fine to my placeshifter (HD Homerun source)

I can stream 720p h264 fine to my placeshifter (HD PVR source)

But as noted, 1080i h264 is choppy/stutters in placeshifter.

The same file 1080i h264 streams perfectly over the (gigE) network to VLC player.

How come VLC plays well and Placeshifter doesn't?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:47 AM
kuka kuka is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
I tried SageTV client on same PCs and it worked perfectly. I cannot understand what makes Placeshifter so different. Still I need remote client over internet. Can I use client for this, it is still only streaming...?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture Fanart Frame Peter_h SageMC Custom Interface 3 09-05-2009 04:41 PM
Capture Single Frame MacDaddy SageMC Custom Interface 5 02-11-2009 10:23 AM
Stuck on a frame IIcast SageTV Software 0 12-29-2008 07:45 PM
Player frame skips srcnick SageTV Software 1 11-03-2008 03:49 PM
Frame by frame uofi_316 SageTV Software 2 01-28-2006 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.