SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2020, 02:39 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,375
Cable Companies no longer have to provide Cable Cards

https://thedesk.matthewkeys.net/2020...-silicon-dust/
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2020, 03:41 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 156
Yeah, when I went into my local Comcast office in Houston a few months ago the comment I got from them was that they were not going to be supporting the cable cards pretty soon.

Which sucks since I have one in a Tivo and another in an HDHRPrime.

I just don't know when Comcast (Houston) is actually going to do it and what it will mean for folks that have and use them.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)

Last edited by CptKirk; 09-05-2020 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2020, 03:44 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,128
This could be the final nail in the coffin for the yet-to-be-released HDHomeRun Prime 6...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2020, 04:07 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
This could be the final nail in the coffin for the yet-to-be-released HDHomeRun Prime 6...
Yeah. It's almost like they saw it coming
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2020, 06:20 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,304
Spectrum is already moving channels over to the new system which do not work with cable card. Therefore I cannot view all my channels on SageTV. I expect it only to get worse.

I'm going to be really upset when the cable card ceases to function. It is the main reason I'm still on cable.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2020, 07:48 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
Spectrum is already moving channels over to the new system which do not work with cable card.
What new system?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2020, 11:40 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Yeah. It's almost like they saw it coming
Yeah me too this will also finally convince me to fully move to Channels DVR at least they have TVE which has %95 of the channels I watch ... Might have to finally say bye to SageTV as I do not have any Cable boxes. I use a Roku for DRM and on Demand for XFINITY.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2020, 05:54 AM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Yeah. It's almost like they saw it coming
IMO, Silicondust had no intention of manufacturing a new Cable Card device. It was all smoke and mirrors.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2020, 06:07 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
IMO, Silicondust had no intention of manufacturing a new Cable Card device. It was all smoke and mirrors.
Not sure what they would have stood to gain doing that, I do take them at their word that it was a matter of locking in a commitment to produce the chipset required for the hardware. I'm sure they would have loved to continue selling the Prime 3 these past couple of years, but it's not possible if you can't get the chips that the product was designed around.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FCC Forces Cable Companies to Support HD Streaming on Network Devices panteragstk General Discussion 22 12-12-2012 07:27 PM
I need a longer IR receiver cable wayner Hardware Support 9 05-07-2012 07:26 PM
Cable companies not showing in setup? Brent94Z SageTV Beta Test Software 18 10-12-2010 01:48 PM
Forgent sues cable companies over DVR patent Crazedz General Discussion 7 07-19-2005 12:57 AM
Sage please contact cable companies dadams SageTV Software 0 07-26-2004 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.