SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2020, 09:43 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,572
Oh my a Hardware 4K Recorder

Look a this and not only is it 4K about also support HDR it from Elgato Standalone/USB 4K60 S+ H.264/265 Hardware Encoder
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2020, 07:58 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,924
$590 and out of stock according to the web page. But reviews show it as $400. Not so clear that this is better than the uray type of encoders, except this appears to capture audio from HDMI so you should get multi-channel audio.

This appears to be primarily a standalone recording device. But it does also have a USB3.0 interface to capture PC. Hopefully you can initiate a recording from software rather than having to physically push a button.

No mention of HDCP. Can you use this to capture content from a 4K cable box or satellite box?

Here's a review from April: https://www.pcgamer.com/elgato-4k60-...e-card-review/
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2020, 09:38 AM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Not so clear that this is better than the uray type of encoders, except this appears to capture audio from HDMI so you should get multi-channel audio.
A URay will capture audio from HDMI. The issues are the 2 channel AC3/AAC/MP3 option and it won't downmix 5:1 so it needs 2 channel input.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2020, 11:03 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,924
Thanks Martin - so if I use one of these to record will I need to provide stereo audio as well. Won't SageTV downmix from 5.1 to stereo - or at least an HD300 will?

And if you also feed it two channel audio will the recording therefore have both the stereo audio track and the original source audio track?

In looking at the Elgato device they mention the stereo input as allowing gamers to capture their audio commentary, and I assume that you would also get the audio from the game in the file as well.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2020, 11:53 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Thanks Martin - so if I use one of these to record will I need to provide stereo audio as well. Won't SageTV downmix from 5.1 to stereo - or at least an HD300 will?
My impression from reading the specs was that it simply won't capture 5.1 audio at all, so the audio data isn't available to dowmix. Would be happy to be wrong on this, however.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2020, 12:29 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
My impression from reading the specs was that it simply won't capture 5.1 audio at all, so the audio data isn't available to dowmix. Would be happy to be wrong on this, however.
When I have the STB set for Dolby out, I get silence. My SA8300 manual says "Important: If your HDTV cannot decode Dolby Digital formatted content and you have configured the DVR to output in the Dolby Digital format, you will not be able to listen to audio through the TV" I figure the URay HDMI is not properly telling the STB to switch to PCM.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2020, 07:49 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
$590 and out of stock according to the web page. But reviews show it as $400. Not so clear that this is better than the uray type of encoders, except this appears to capture audio from HDMI so you should get multi-channel audio.

This appears to be primarily a standalone recording device. But it does also have a USB3.0 interface to capture PC. Hopefully you can initiate a recording from software rather than having to physically push a button.

No mention of HDCP. Can you use this to capture content from a 4K cable box or satellite box?

Here's a review from April: https://www.pcgamer.com/elgato-4k60-...e-card-review/
The specs say “HDMI (unencrypted)”.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice using TV recorder provobis Hardware Support 9 06-07-2010 06:56 PM
went to buy recorder.... davey_fl SageTV Recorder Software 3 04-27-2005 08:51 PM
Client hardware: hardware decoder? specs? natesneat2000 General Discussion 9 10-26-2004 06:37 PM
Will there be a recorder in 2.0? Should I buy recorder now? IVB SageTV Beta Test Software 6 05-05-2004 04:55 PM
Recorder vs. TV SteinyD SageTV Recorder Software 5 03-22-2004 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.