SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2020, 11:01 PM
bott3322 bott3322 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 31
Sagetv v9.2.2 64-bit: HDHR/OTA tuners find Channels but Sagetv Doesn't

After a fresh install of both Windows 10 and Sagetv 64-bit v9.2.2, Sagetv video capture devices/HDHR tuners cannot find channels after scanning, though the HDHR GUI/viewer can. Background:

Sagetv v9 32-bit was originally installed and working great on Windows 7 until an unrecoverable HDD crash. Windows 10 was installed on a new SSD. The latest SiliconDust HDHR software was downloaded/installed and OTA channels were successfully scanned and viewable.

Sagetv 64-bit v9.2 was then installed, initially in C:\Program Files (but later uninstalled, and re-installed in C:\). Sagetv video capture/HDHR tuners were properly configured and scanned, but no channels were found. I then started digging around on the forum.

I found a couple hopeful threads, one resolving a no-channel issue with Win10 UAC and Virtual Store file storage, and another involving .SCN files not being found for the same UAC reason. To avoid UAC complications, I decided to un-install and re-install Sagetv as Administrator in C:\ root after disabling UAC in Win10 and disabling Webroot virus s/w. Still no luck.

(After reinstalling in C:\ root, Sagetv couldn't find the capture devices/tuners at all. After deleting the Sagetv folder in C:\Program Files left behind from the uninstall, Sagetv then found the tuners and configuration went smoothly, but again, channel scanning found nothing.)

I'm out of ideas.

Currently, SiliconDust HDHR tuner s/w is installed in C:\Program Files and works fine. Sagetv v9.2 is installed in C:\, with capture devices proper set up with Schedules Direct for OTA channels. Windows 10 UAC and Webroot are presently disabled. I can view OTA channels through the HDHR GUI, but a Sagetv channel scan finds none of them.

Thanks in advance for any help with this issue.
__________________
Formerly Sage 9 32-bit + HD200, Win 7 Home Premium, i5-2450M, 2.50GHz, 8 GB RAM, HD 3000 Graphics. Currently, Win 10, Sage 9.2, 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2020, 12:11 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,328
Have you tried installing the 32-bit SageTV so that you can select “SageTV” within the HDHR setup app? HDHR doesn’t recognize the 64-bit install of SageTV but once you configure it with the 32-bit one installed, you can uninstall the 32-bit version. You don’t need to uninstall the 64-bit version to do this.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2020, 09:50 PM
bott3322 bott3322 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Have you tried installing the 32-bit SageTV so that you can select “SageTV” within the HDHR setup app? HDHR doesn’t recognize the 64-bit install of SageTV but once you configure it with the 32-bit one installed, you can uninstall the 32-bit version. You don’t need to uninstall the 64-bit version to do this.
Thanks wnjj. My wife thanks you, too.

Your tip worked. I left 64-bit SageTV and HDHR s/w installed and additionally installed 32-bit SageTV.

Originally (with 64-bit SageTV installed) in HDHR Config s/w, I chose "default" from the "BDA Compatibility Mode" dropdown. There was no option for "SageTV".

A "SageTV" option appeared in HDHR after installing SageTV 32-bit. HDHR channels scanned successfully. Then in both 32-bit and 64-bit SageTV, tuners/capture devices could be configured properly and channels found.

This raises questions for me, so I delayed replying so I could do a little more forum reading.

After going to the "Windows Installer" link you provided, I found my particular issue mentioned under Known Issues: "HDHR fresh installs will not find the 64 bit install. 2 work arounds...." My bad. But now I have both 32-bit and 64-bit versions installed.

Q1. Which is the better installation to use on a 64-bit OS? For Windows 10 and a basic SageTV install, does 64-bit SageTV have advantages over 32-bit making it preferred? I chose 64-bit simply because Windows 10 is 64-bit. Seemed logical. Which should I keep and/or use? 32-bit? 64-bit? Are there links you can point me to?

Q2. 64-bit SageTV installation has options for: LAV Filters, "AlwaysSwapForAC3Filter", "EnableSageTVStreamDemux", and USB_UIRT support -- some preselected, others not. I was tempted to select everything, but not knowing the implications, I left all the pre-selects alone and did a "vanilla" install. I figure 64-bit can be installed again, including LAV filters and AC3 filter swapping options. How are these options used, and are they explained somewhere? What's the guidance for making these install choices?

I suspect the general answer will be, if you don't know what they are, you don't need them. But a high-level explanation or links would be greatly appreciated. For those unfamiliar with them, or if it's been awhile since you've had to install SageTV, it would be nice to have references since the decision to include install options comes so early one's learning curve.

Thanks again for the help. We're big SageTV fans, and I've always received great support on this forum when I get in a jam.
__________________
Formerly Sage 9 32-bit + HD200, Win 7 Home Premium, i5-2450M, 2.50GHz, 8 GB RAM, HD 3000 Graphics. Currently, Win 10, Sage 9.2, 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2020, 07:00 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 387
generally speaking, the main advantage of 64 bit SageTV over 32 bit is for using extenders (HDx00). If you use several extenders, you can increase the amount memory Java (over the 1 GB limit for 32 bit SageTV) is using to help accommodate additional extenders.

Unlike Windows 7, Windows 10 does not include a decoder. Currently, LAV filters are being used by many to replace the missing functionality. Oh, and back when SageTV became open-source the default SageTV MPeg2 decoder was removed, (I believe) because it had proprietary components in it. There are other decoders/filters available that could be used instead. The version of LAV that comes with current versions of Sage works just fine, but there is an updated version of the LAV filters.

LAV filters include decoders for audio and video as well as a splitter. In order to not use the default Sage Splitter, EnableSageTVStreamDemux needs to be set in the registry. You can search the forum for the correct settings. I find the LAV splitter works better for playing back MKV files.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2020, 08:22 PM
bott3322 bott3322 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 31
I appreciate it, UgaData. We have just one extender, so 64-bit won't be as critical for me as others.

Regarding LAV Filters, after the channel issue was fixed, I tried installing 64-bit STV again hoping to install with the optional LAV filters and EnableSagetvStreamDemux, etc., but the options didn't appear the second time. I chose "repair" option, but have no idea what was accomplished if anything. I'll probably have to do a fresh 64-bit STV install for those options to be offered again.

You mentioned LAV filters that come with STV and an updated version. Is the updated version referring to the LAV Filter selectable option during install?

Is setting the EnableSageTVStreamDemux registry entry done via the install option or manually?

I'll need to do some additional forum digging on these. Thanks again!
__________________
Formerly Sage 9 32-bit + HD200, Win 7 Home Premium, i5-2450M, 2.50GHz, 8 GB RAM, HD 3000 Graphics. Currently, Win 10, Sage 9.2, 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2020, 09:12 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 387
The LAV filters installed with SageTV are something like 0.73 and the latest are 0.74 something. It will work either way, just need to have the correct bit level installed (same with Java).
( I suppose you could also have both bit levels installed, no problem as long as it all works, not so good if things don't work.)

(my answer is manually, but it should work as part of the install - someone else may speak to how it works for them) I usually search the registry and set the EnableSagetvStreamDemux to '0' to disable or '1' to enable the internal Sage DeMuxer. ( I set it to zero since I choose to use the LAV splitter (there are also other splitters available).
EnableSagetvStreamDemux shows up a couple of time in the registry and I set both same (I think only 1 matters, but I want to be sure).

If you choose to go through the install/un-install process you can but extra options are more a convenience and can be done manually after the install as well.

the LAV filters can installed or updated outside of SageTV install as can Java and the registry settings ( "AlwaysSwapForAC3Filter", "EnableSageTVStreamDemux") or the USB_UIRT.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2020, 12:54 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,328
One thing that's important to note: If you only use an extender, those settings and LAV filters aren't important at all. They only apply to playback on a Windows server or client. For 32-bit installs, you can actually install SageTV V7, then install V9 over top and you will end up with the originally licensed MPEG2 filter without any need for LAV. This is not an option on 64-bit since there never was a 64-bit V7.

USB-UIRT is a 3rd party piece of hardware that sends and/or receives IR for controlling cable boxes or to act as a remote receiver for a PC.
__________________
Windows Installer

Last edited by wnjj; 11-25-2020 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2020, 02:58 PM
bott3322 bott3322 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 31
Thanks UgaData. Much more clear now. I prefer the idea of tweaking registry settings over a fresh install. I'll need to do more forum digging on LAV filters/splitter as I think the updated LAVs you mentioned may be the way to go.

BTW, do you have any understanding on the background/use of AlwaysSwapForAC3Filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
One thing that's important to note: For 32-bit installs, you can actually install SageTV V7, then install V9 over top and you will end up with the originally licensed MPEG2 filter without any need for LAV. This is not an option on 64-bit since there never was a 64-bit V7.
Thanks wnjj. I appreciate the clarifications. Helpful!
I use an HD-200 extender for family room viewing. I occasionally view recordings on the "server(?)" PC where SageTV is installed while another program is being watched on the HD-200. That's about as complex as we get here.

Also, when I lost my HDD, I also lost backed up V6 and V7 32-bit SageTV installers. Yep, I know, poor form.

1. Is a V7 SageTV installer available for download, and would a V7 key be needed to use it, given I've lost all trace of mine?

2. In general, it would seem to me that 64-bit SageTV may be the direction for long-term future development, and the better option over 32-bit. Agreed?

3. Installing 32-bit V9 on top of V7 for MPEG2 functionality has its appeal, though I'm not sure if LAV Filters has equal capabilities compared to MPEG2 or is considered superior and the future. I may not be thinking about this correctly either. Is there a concensus opinion?

Interestingly, I am getting subtitles (closed captions?) on some of my SageTV OTA recordings without having MPEG2 installed. I didn't know this was possible without MPEG2.

BTW, I'm near the end of my questions. I don't intend to make this an endless exercise in your/everyone's patience. Thanks again for all the help!
__________________
Formerly Sage 9 32-bit + HD200, Win 7 Home Premium, i5-2450M, 2.50GHz, 8 GB RAM, HD 3000 Graphics. Currently, Win 10, Sage 9.2, 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV 9 can't find tuners rhfdc Hardware Support 1 06-21-2020 02:37 PM
SageTV Docker sees HDHR-Prime, but doesn't play channels AzJazz SageTV for unRAID/Docker 2 03-11-2018 12:27 PM
Sage can't find channels for OTA HDHR joshuad156 Hardware Support 2 09-05-2016 05:55 PM
New Sage Version doesn't find Channels during scan kuch68 Hardware Support 2 05-24-2010 07:05 AM
How to best scan for missing channels or new channels with HDHR tuners? taylork Hardware Support 8 03-11-2009 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.