SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:06 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by robogeek View Post
1. I'll preface this first issue with a side note that my cable internet connection had some issues over the weekend, so this may very well be what caused my problem. Often and randomly, I would lose audio for several minutes at time. After turning on the logging, it appears that vlc is losing the stream from the server and not an issue with the network encoder. I'm guessing the webfeedencoder eventually senses the stream loss and reloads the stream in vlc and it starts back up again. Two questions: I noticed that when it does this, why does vlc change from outputing an .mpg to outputing a .ts file? And, is there a way for the webfeedencoder to use the vlc log or some other means to senses a lost connection and force it to reload the stream sooner or any vlc settings that might help? The .mpg to .ts switch doesn't cause any issues, just thought it was odd. I'll do some more testing when I get issue number two resolved.
New to me - lets deal with this later.

Quote:
2. When I use the XMLTV importer for SageTV, I get the WebRadio guide source in the EPG setup in SageTV. But now my other OTA and cable lineups that were previously configured are now dead. By dead, I mean the channels and existing guide data are still there, but it won't update anymore since configuring the WebRadio XMLTV source. When going into the EPG lineup configuration on my TV tuners, it appears that SageTV is no longer downloading EPG lineup data sources from the Internet for my zip code and the only source that I can see now is WebRadio. Does this mean I have to go with the SageTV EPG sources and live without XMLTV data for radio channels or do I have to switch to XMLTV for all of my EPG sources? Or did I miss a step somewhere that will allow me to use both the SageTV EPG sources for my local zip code and XMLTV for the radio channels? I'm not sure exactly what part of my procedure fixed this, but removing the xmltv.properties from the SageTV directory and removing all lines that start with 'epg' in the sage.properties file (I know, that was probably overkill) allowed me to go back in and redefine my SageTV EPG sources for my TV tuners, but now the WebRadio source is gone. Adding the WebRadio source back in following the instructions with the webfeedencoder download and I lose my SageTV EPG sources again and only WebRadio is listed.
Running a bit short of time as its midnight and I have to be up in six hours but quickly.

In XMLTV channel lineup there is a column for channel number.

These should be the logical channel numbers in sageTV and so probably start with numbers after your TV channels rather than from 1.

Can you confirm this is how it is?

Will pick up on your reply tomorrow.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 04-17-2009 at 07:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 04-16-2009, 05:09 PM
latino latino is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: dominican republic
Posts: 33
thanks i will try tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:36 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 555
I think I've found my configuration problem with the sagetv lineups not updating after installing the xmltv importer and why no other lineups other than the xmltv lienup show up in the epg configuration of sagetv sources: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=647

When using a mix of sagetv and xmltv lineups, there is a property in the sage.properties file that has to be set to disable the xmltv plugin for any sagetv lineups that were previously configured. Friday I'll setup xmltv for sagetv again and make the sage.properties file change for my sagetv lineups and see how things go. Then I'll be able to test the streaming to see if it indeed was my flaky internet connection that caused the constant dropouts.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 3.2GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDPVR, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600
10TB Server Storage: 1xTB (OS), 2x2TB+2x1.5TB (FlexRaid pool), 1x500GB+1x1TB+1x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VM).
Server Software: Win7 x64 OS, SageTV v7.1.9, PlayOn, Comskip, WampServer v2.0, WHS PP3 running in VM.
Clients: HTPC 1.7GHhz P4, 768MB RAM, XP Pro, SageTV Client, hooked to Optoma HD65 and Onkyo 7.1 surround. 2xHD100s+2xHD300s+2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 04-17-2009, 03:53 AM
latino latino is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: dominican republic
Posts: 33
Godmorning michael,

everything is working fine.
nice job

thanks you for all your help

saludos from Dominican Republic.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:00 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by latino View Post
Godmorning michael,

everything is working fine.
nice job

thanks you for all your help

saludos from Dominican Republic.
You are very welcome.

I will put in a bug fix so that a substitute image is used for the video if a nice channel logo cannot be located in the usual way.

Stay in touch. Let me know here if you find further problems or think of any features that would be cool.

Regards

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 04-17-2009 at 07:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:21 AM
latino latino is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: dominican republic
Posts: 33
hi michael,

can i use this webradio encoder, like a web tv encoder?

i know maybe is a stupid questions but maybe is not a bad idea.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:27 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
That is my plan but it needs a little work first.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 04-17-2009 at 07:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 04-17-2009, 05:00 AM
latino latino is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: dominican republic
Posts: 33
i will be waiting.

great job
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 04-17-2009, 05:29 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Do you have a URL for an internet TV station that you would like to watch?

Been hunting around for one to try out on.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 04-17-2009 at 07:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 04-17-2009, 07:20 AM
latino latino is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: dominican republic
Posts: 33
this one will be great.

mms://a1928.l3284834797.c32848.e.lm.akamaistream.net/D/1928/32848/v0001/reflector:34797
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:48 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,584
Michael,

My cable provider has many "DMX" Digital Music channels that I can listen to using VLC but can't "watch" in Sage because of the "no video" problem. Can your approach be used to tune a station from a HDHomeRun rather than from a web radio station?

Thanks,

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 04-18-2009, 03:44 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Michael,

My cable provider has many "DMX" Digital Music channels that I can listen to using VLC but can't "watch" in Sage because of the "no video" problem. Can your approach be used to tune a station from a HDHomeRun rather than from a web radio station?

Thanks,

Tom
If you can play it in VLC I'd say there is an excellent chance.

Just make the web radio encoder url property whatever it is you tell VlC to play normally.

The url property in the web radio encoder doesn't have to be a url - it can be any media source that vlc can play.

The other key thing is to find a URL for an icon image for the channel.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 04-18-2009, 03:52 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Next release - update

Change of plan on next release - I'm still experimenting with the faster tuning so that will come later.

So next release will be a bug fix release :

- latinos missing channel images for radiotime stations are not missing just named differently - fix for that
- substitute image for video if none is cached
- hopefully linux support
- auto now playing text from stream for ICY streams

Looking more like wednesday now

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 04-18-2009, 06:06 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
linux

linux

all sorts of problems related to my portable ubuntu interacting with SageTV installed on host windows plus cannot get a new enough version of vlc for ubuntu you need at least 0.9.6.

But all that is speciific to me using a particular linux running as an app on windows

I did enough I think to check the vlc command lines have the right syntax so...

Try replacing this bit..

cmd /c start \"streamAsVideoCommand\" \"_VLCDIR_\\vlc.exe\"

of streamAsVideoCommand and saveToMp3Command in encoder.props with

vlc

as well has having the jar posted earlier

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...6&postcount=57

Really good chance of working.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 04-19-2009 at 12:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 04-19-2009, 03:58 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
Just make the web radio encoder url property whatever it is you tell VlC to play normally.

The url property in the web radio encoder doesn't have to be a url - it can be any media source that vlc can play.
I would need to issue some commands to the HDHR before the capture can start and I would also need to issue some cleanup commands when the capture ends. Any way to add a "hooks" in your code to do that?
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 04-19-2009, 04:24 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I would need to issue some commands to the HDHR before the capture can start and I would also need to issue some cleanup commands when the capture ends. Any way to add a "hooks" in your code to do that?
Yeah - that fits in with the TV thing too.

I'll make it so a channel has a sequence of OS commands associated with it.

watch this space.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 04-19-2009, 12:39 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
Yeah - that fits in with the TV thing too.

I'll make it so a channel has a sequence of OS commands associated with it.

watch this space.

Michael
Cool.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 04-19-2009, 01:01 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I would need to issue some commands to the HDHR before the capture can start and I would also need to issue some cleanup commands when the capture ends. Any way to add a "hooks" in your code to do that?
What information do you think you might need to pass to the your tuning command from the web radio encoder so that the right channel is chosen.

Going to need to store this in the channel database somewhere.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:11 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,584
Off the top of my head:

- The tuner identifier
- The tuner number
- The channel (specified as a Frequency I believe)
- The subchannel number

I'll have to go look at the SiliconDust forums for the details. No time right now, been away from work for a week and there is a mountain of paper and emails to deal with

If you want to take a look go to the SiliconDust forums and search for "VLCLauncher". That thread shows what is needed.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:20 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Off the top of my head:

- The tuner identifier
- The tuner number
- The channel (specified as a Frequency I believe)
- The subchannel number

I'll have to go look at the SiliconDust forums for the details. No time right now, been away from work for a week and there is a mountain of paper and emails to deal with

If you want to take a look go to the SiliconDust forums and search for "VLCLauncher". That thread shows what is needed.
I have a cunning plan. I'm going to make it so you can add any parameter you like to the channel config and then refer to it by name when calling out to external scripts.

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
extender, internet video streaming, mvp, online videos, radio


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV and web radio michaeldjcox SageTV Customizations 3 12-01-2008 11:09 AM
STV Import: Simple Web Radio V1.2 koelec SageTV Customizations 294 02-29-2008 12:53 PM
Recording Volume vs. Web Radio / Music FidgetyRat SageTV Software 0 11-29-2006 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.