SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2008, 11:49 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,680
Does the HD-200 not play WMV files?

I was playing some shows for my daughter on the HD-200 extender when I noticed that a few files won't play. The play fine on Placeshifter and on my server - they are in wmv format. Does this mean that wmv playback is not supported on the HD-200?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:25 PM
RedCoat999's Avatar
RedCoat999 RedCoat999 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Avon (Cleveland) OH, USA (Originally Shepperton, London, England)
Posts: 371
I'm not having much luck with wmv either. Those are my words of wisdom....
__________________
Happy Sage customer since 2003

Proud owner of a HD200 connected to a 47" LCD. Loving Sage 7 and Phoenix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2008, 01:41 AM
agover agover is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Count me as 3 - all I get is a black screen...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2008, 11:33 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,680
For supported files it lists the following: Video formats supported: MPEG1, MPEG2, MPEG4, XVID, H.264 up to 1080p, WMV9/VC-1 up to 1080p

I don't know if that means it doesn't support WMV variants earlier than 9.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:47 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
For supported files it lists the following: Video formats supported: MPEG1, MPEG2, MPEG4, XVID, H.264 up to 1080p, WMV9/VC-1 up to 1080p

I don't know if that means it doesn't support WMV variants earlier than 9.
You are correct. Only WMV9 video is supported on the HD200. It doesn't support earlier versions of WMV video (hardware limitation....but if you use it as an extender, the server will transcode non-WMV9 video)
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:52 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,680
I only use my HD-200 as an extender, not in standalone mode, but it still won't play WMV files that play fine on my Sage PC. Is there a setting I have to select to get Sage to transcode these files?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2008, 01:08 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I only use my HD-200 as an extender, not in standalone mode, but it still won't play WMV files that play fine on my Sage PC. Is there a setting I have to select to get Sage to transcode these files?
It should be automatic. We don't support DRM protected WMV files and we also don't support WMA Lossless or WMAPro audio. But if that's not the problem; then please submit a bug report (also make sure you're on the latest server version; there were some bugs related to this in the earlier 6.5 betas).
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2008, 04:50 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,680
WMV files now appear to play okay using the new firmware.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:52 PM
comet48 comet48 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
It should be automatic. We don't support DRM protected WMV files and we also don't support WMA Lossless or WMAPro audio. But if that's not the problem; then please submit a bug report (also make sure you're on the latest server version; there were some bugs related to this in the earlier 6.5 betas).
It doesn't say anything about not supporting WMAPro on your web site when you are promoting your product. I received my HD200 today and pretty much everything I have won't play because it's WMAPro.
Also, it plays on the PC OK in Sage.
Do you plan on supporting all variations of wma, or do I have to return this.
Also, suggest you update your web page to reflect the real situation, including shortcomings in other codecs as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:55 PM
alfi33 alfi33 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by comet48 View Post
It doesn't say anything about not supporting WMAPro on your web site when you are promoting your product. I received my HD200 today and pretty much everything I have won't play because it's WMAPro.
Also, it plays on the PC OK in Sage.
Do you plan on supporting all variations of wma, or do I have to return this.
Also, suggest you update your web page to reflect the real situation, including shortcomings in other codecs as well.
The website is pretty clear about what IS supported by the HD200. It's a little silly to expect it to list all that ARE NOT supported as well.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:59 PM
comet48 comet48 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfi33 View Post
The website is pretty clear about what IS supported by the HD200. It's a little silly to expect it to list all that ARE NOT supported as well.
Perhaps I missed something - it says wmv and wma. Obviously not all variants of WMA.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:05 AM
comet48 comet48 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Here is what is says in case you haven't seen it lately!

Also enjoy music, photos and your home video library with your SageTV HD Theater on your HDTV. With the SageTV HD Theater you get playback support for MPEG1/2/4, H.264, WMV9, VC1, MKV, MOV, AVI, FLV, AAC, MP3, WMA, FLAC, JPEG, PNG and GIF files. Setup is simple and easy; just connect the SageTV HD Theater to your TV, plug it into your home network connected to the internet and you are good to go.

No caveats there.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:59 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by comet48 View Post
Perhaps I missed something - it says wmv and wma. Obviously not all variants of WMA.
WMA is NOT WMAPro. That's why Microsft gave it a different name. Your mistake. If it's not listed it's NOT supported.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:06 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,680
Here's what it says for video and audio:
Quote:
Video formats supported: MPEG1, MPEG2, MPEG4, XVID, H.264 up to 1080p, WMV9/VC-1 up to 1080p

Audio formats suppported: MP2, MP3, AAC, WMA, PCM, Vorbis (stereo only), AC3 (stereo down-mix/pass-through), FLAC, DTS (pass-through)
In my opinion the WMV line is much more ambiguous - does it play WMV9 files that are not VC-1? How would I even know if a WMV file on my PC is VC-1?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:16 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
From wikipedia:
VC-1 is the informal name of the SMPTE 421M video codec standard initially developed by Microsoft. It was released on April 3, 2006 by SMPTE. It is now a supported standard for HD DVDs, Blu-ray Discs, and Windows Media Video 9.

If you want to get more confused read it from there. 3 codec implementations, 3 profiles, 10 different resolutions by framerate. And thought of as a Microsoft product there are actually 15 different companies in the patent pool.

Usually the "/" represents and/or so I would say yes-it plays WMV9 and WMV9 that are VC-1.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:00 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,263
Well I have to agree that it is a little misleading. That isn't necessarily Sage's fault, it's just the way people have named these formats.

Isn't WMA lossless a sub section of WMA? It's just in a lossless resolution instead of a lossy resolution. I would expect a device state states WMA support to also support the WMA in a lossless format.

I'm sure Sage doesn't want to print what their device does not support at this time. Not because they are trying to mislead consumers, but because it would cause them to have to set up a new print run if something is eventually supported in the future. This can cost a lot of money. If they don't have it printed on the box, then at least people don't disregard the product because it says it doesn't support a feature on the box when infact it has a firmware update than causes the device to now support it.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 01-09-2009 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:51 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
Well I have to agree that it is a little misleading. That isn't necessarily Sage's fault, it's just the way people have named these formats.

Isn't WMA lossless a sub section of WMA? It's just in a lossless resolution instead of a lossy resolution. I would expect a device state states WMA support to also support the WMA in a lossless format.
So if a device supports MP3 do you assume it supports MP3 Pro? It's just a subset, right?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-09-2009, 04:46 PM
comet48 comet48 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Personally I think the whole list on their web page is really misleading. As well as wmv, all my mkv files have the same issue - great video, no audio. Video without audio isn't much use.
MKV, AVI etc are just containers. Sage needs to come clean with clearly spell out what video and audio codecs work inside these containers. I haven't seen that - if they have, then my apologies - but put it up front where everyone can see it. WMA is not descriptive enough.
Pretty much everything that comes out of the standard HD presets in Adobe Premiere won't work with Sage Extenders because they don't support the audio.
It's the HD-200, so how about supporting the codecs prevelant in HD multimedia today.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-09-2009, 05:53 PM
comet48 comet48 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
WMA is NOT WMAPro. That's why Microsft gave it a different name. Your mistake. If it's not listed it's NOT supported.

Gerry
If you fo to the microsoft site http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...ecs/audio.aspx
you will see that there four flavours of WMA, and none of them are called WMA.
1. Windows Media Audio 9
2. Windows Media Audio 10 Professional
3. Windows Media Audio 9 Lossless
4. Windows Media Audio 9 Voice

Now, the sage web site refers to which one?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:56 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by comet48 View Post
If you fo to the microsoft site http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...ecs/audio.aspx
you will see that there four flavours of WMA, and none of them are called WMA.
1. Windows Media Audio 9
2. Windows Media Audio 10 Professional
3. Windows Media Audio 9 Lossless
4. Windows Media Audio 9 Voice

Now, the sage web site refers to which one?
From wikipedia:
Windows Media Audio (WMA) is an audio data compression technology developed by Microsoft. The name can be used to refer to its audio file format or its audio codecs.

Also: It is a proprietary technology that forms part of the Windows Media framework. WMA consists of four distinct codecs. The original WMA codec, known simply as WMA, was conceived as a competitor to the popular MP3 and RealAudio codecs. WMA Pro, a newer and more advanced codec, supports multichannel and high resolution audio.A lossless codec, WMA Lossless, compresses audio data without loss of audio fidelity. And WMA Voice, targeted at voice content, applies compression using a range of low bit rates.

So when referring to WMA it would be considered WMA 9. Anything else would be followed by Pro, Lossless or Voice. Also in this case Sage is referring to the audio file format it supports. Not the codec being used.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Client playback of HD PVR files zaphodgjd SageTV Mac Edition 17 01-02-2009 12:11 PM
If STX-HD100 can play dvr-mx files why dvr-ms is not listed in specification? logmaster SageTV Media Extender 4 10-30-2008 05:24 PM
can't captured play files on ps3 tvconfuse Hardware Support 4 10-16-2008 10:39 PM
HD Homerun Recording High CPU Usage smarty Hardware Support 6 10-18-2007 05:31 AM
Codec help for viewing HD content on MVP waynedunham SageTV Media Extender 17 04-30-2007 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.