SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 12-11-2019, 12:49 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
It's hard for me to say what throttling settings to use...just try not to overload the server.
Thanks - if you have any recommendations Iím all ears. I grabbed a copy last night, and there donít seem to be any bandwidth complaints so far. This kind of thing is new to me, so I may have questions that help to keep things running smoothly
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 12-11-2019, 01:39 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
It's hard for me to say what throttling settings to use...just try not to overload the server.
Jeff,
IF someone were willing to do a migration to another type of bulletin board, would you be able/willing to provide a DB dump of all the public data? Many of the "migration" tools work by extracting directly from the DB or a DB dump.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 12-11-2019, 02:00 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
Jeff,
IF someone were willing to do a migration to another type of bulletin board, would you be able/willing to provide a DB dump of all the public data? Many of the "migration" tools work by extracting directly from the DB or a DB dump.

--John
No, I cannot provide that unfortunately.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 12-11-2019, 02:49 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
No, I cannot provide that unfortunately.
Old contract restrictions?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 12-11-2019, 02:54 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Old contract restrictions?
Yeah, the whole Google thing. 🙂
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 12-11-2019, 03:20 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Yeah, the whole Google thing. 🙂
Bummer. Do take note that many of us would pay a yearly fee for the guaranteed access to this info...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 12-11-2019, 07:54 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Facebook
Never used it, never will
Too many security/privacy issues
Same here. I'd prefer anything other than Facebook; my personal preference is groups.io, but open to other non-FB platforms.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 12-12-2019, 05:56 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Facebook
Never used it, never will
Too many security/privacy issues
2nd this!
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 12-12-2019, 10:47 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Great, now we know what people DONíT want. Please, suggest some good things we DO want, because itís clear a backup plan is in order...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 12-13-2019, 06:40 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Great, now we know what people DONíT want. Please, suggest some good things we DO want, because itís clear a backup plan is in order...
But wait, I have some ideas for the DO NOT WANT section

Seriously though, I'm not sure it's worth moving to a new stite as that has its own challenges and likely will go away as well, and I'm not hearing that Jeff is saying that this site will go away soon (although we all know it will happen eventually).

I would consider the following.
1. What's the life expectancy of this site (let's say 3-5 years optimistically)
2. What's the life expectancy of the "new" site. Likely about the same, if we moving to some other domain startup that is offering "group" support. They all fail, the new one will is likely to fail as well, and you are left no further ahead.

If you can't find a new site that has a much better life expectancy than this one, then there is no reason to move. Now ifonically, moving to Facebook would likely have a HUGE life expectancy. Groups.io, who knows? MyCoolBBForums run by some kid in India... who knows.

What is important is that you identify a lifeline for people when this site is down. eg, If you designate that https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues is that place, then create a sticky with "what to do when sagetv site dies" and people can learn over time to go there. Also, we can ask that the "this site is down for maintenance" include something like "please check https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues for more information of if you need help".

Github is an example for something is likely to be around for some time, we just need to point people there.

Now, if you do decide to just move to another site run by some kid in canada and hope for the best, then you should at least ask the admins to lock this forum down and force people to your new site, otherwise no one is going to go there on their own.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 12-13-2019, 07:54 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
What is important is that you identify a lifeline for people when this site is down. eg, If you designate that https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues is that place, then create a sticky with "what to do when sagetv site dies" and people can learn over time to go there. Also, we can ask that the "this site is down for maintenance" include something like "please check https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues for more information of if you need help".
+1
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 12-13-2019, 09:59 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
But wait, I have some ideas for the DO NOT WANT section

Seriously though, I'm not sure it's worth moving to a new stite as that has its own challenges and likely will go away as well, and I'm not hearing that Jeff is saying that this site will go away soon (although we all know it will happen eventually).

I would consider the following.
1. What's the life expectancy of this site (let's say 3-5 years optimistically)
2. What's the life expectancy of the "new" site. Likely about the same, if we moving to some other domain startup that is offering "group" support. They all fail, the new one will is likely to fail as well, and you are left no further ahead.

If you can't find a new site that has a much better life expectancy than this one, then there is no reason to move. Now ifonically, moving to Facebook would likely have a HUGE life expectancy. Groups.io, who knows? MyCoolBBForums run by some kid in India... who knows.

What is important is that you identify a lifeline for people when this site is down. eg, If you designate that https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues is that place, then create a sticky with "what to do when sagetv site dies" and people can learn over time to go there. Also, we can ask that the "this site is down for maintenance" include something like "please check https://github.com/google/sagetv/issues for more information of if you need help".

Github is an example for something is likely to be around for some time, we just need to point people there.

Now, if you do decide to just move to another site run by some kid in canada and hope for the best, then you should at least ask the admins to lock this forum down and force people to your new site, otherwise no one is going to go there on their own.
Good to see youíre still around - thought you were toast. Github was the place I went to look for others when the site went down recently. I do know a kid in India, but heís an accountant from the London School of Economics. As far as Canadians go, well, where should I start?

The real mystery is decoding what Jeff has recently commented on. Will this site remain? He canít give out the database, so a merger with a new product isnít likely. My hope is he keeps this one going, and if itís a nuisance for him, makes it a paid service to at least make it worth his while.

Why doesnít Hamilton have a NHL team?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 12-13-2019, 10:03 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Yeah, the whole Google thing. ��
So I assumes you can't even update the forum to one of free forums and still keep here ?.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 12-19-2019, 06:47 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 513
probably depends on if someone could provide a migration path for him to follow that was viable and not a gigantic time sink.

Which has an additional challenge because testing for that without the actual database adds its own complications.

Alternate option: Looks like vBulletin is still in development and has an upgrade path from 3.6+ to their current version(updated just over a month ago).

Downside is the license is $250. (Upgrade is $209)

https://www.vbulletin.com/en/upgrade/

Last edited by Monedeath; 12-19-2019 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 12-20-2019, 08:46 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 875
I would throw some money at that if it will preserve what we have and buy us time for the future. I dont have any intention of leaving, but I pay attention, and it still seems like there's nothing out there that comes close to Sagetv. Channels DVR seems closest and might be interesting to play with. That said, I subscribe to their weekly digest of emails, and its full of people complaining about broken stuff, like where we all were 10 years ago trying to get premium channels into Sage. I'm sure it will improve over time and unless DRM breaks the streaming, I can see it being very attractive, but I dont want to go through the Beta stage again. I haven't said the words "Wife Acceptance Factor" in years and don't care to go back there.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 12-20-2019, 09:03 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
The thing is - there is far less reason to need SageTV these days as TV is moving away from the broadcast model to the streaming model. Many (most/all?) of the interesting shows are now available via Netflix, HBO Go, Amazon Prime, etc and you don't need SageTV for that.

SageTV excels at recording TV shows from OTA, cable or satellite. It is not leading edge for playing back pre-recorded content, and it has very little to no capabilities for playing streaming content.

If I wasn't a sports junkie I would also likely be ditching SageTV.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 12-20-2019, 04:56 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The thing is - there is far less reason to need SageTV these days as TV is moving away from the broadcast model to the streaming model. Many (most/all?) of the interesting shows are now available via Netflix, HBO Go, Amazon Prime, etc and you don't need SageTV for that.

SageTV excels at recording TV shows from OTA, cable or satellite. It is not leading edge for playing back pre-recorded content, and it has very little to no capabilities for playing streaming content.

If I wasn't a sports junkie I would also likely be ditching SageTV.
My biggest complaint about the streaming model is lack of control. Shows come and go from the streaming services all the time. With Sage, I can save thing for as long as I want and watch when it suits me. Also, Sage has much better transport controls than most streaming players - I can easily jump forward and back in specific increments that I can set to my liking. And I can always choose to skip commercials with Sage (either manually or with the Comskip plugin). Streaming services are mixed when it comes to commercials, but most have at least some (Amazon Prime doesnít have ads in the middle of their shows, they do usually have an ad at the beginning).

I have started using a Roku for some streaming content, but still use Sage for most of my TV watching (personally I think there is still lots of stuff worth watching on Cable between local channels, basic cable, and premium channels).

Roku does have an api, so I think it may be possible to develop a plugin that ďtunesĒ the Roku to a particular program via an http request, then records it using an HD-PVR, Colossus, or similar capture device. I think the hard part would be developing the interface to figure out whatís available to record.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 12-21-2019, 02:28 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 273
Although not nearly as effortless as Sage, I can record Roku content when I have too many tuner conflicts, tuner failure, or just don't know in advance about a particular show I'd want to record. If the show is also available on demand through an available Roku channel, I play it, with the output going to a Hauppauge USB2 Live device, essentially a device that accepts composite output, and then records to disk through USB. I only use this when I can't get the show via easier means (Sage, PlayOn) and it's worth the effort. The main drawbacks:
1. You need a Roku that outputs composite; a few do. Alternatively, I've heard of hdmi-to-composite converters that might work.
2. You need to set up each recording manually.
3. The files run larger then they really should be, so I run them through Handbrake afterward.
4. I also have to manually copy them to an appropriate folder on my Sage server and if I want them to be treated as "shows" rather than "videos" I have to fiddle with that as well.
So it works, but I wouldn't want to have to do it too often, so long as I have Sage & Playon.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 12-21-2019, 05:37 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 875
I also need sports, esp baseball and until mlb lifts the local blackout for their streaming app there are 0 better options. Commercials will be more and more of a thing on the traditional streaming apps. Remember way back when when cable TV's big selling point was no commercials? Not willing to give that up and it drives me nuts when we are watching Hulu and can't control (and are occasionally asked to "choose" a commercial experience). PSvue going away was interesting. big deal when it launched because they had things like regional sports, but obviously they couldn't make it work. Makes me suspect these other ones will go too once the content providers start raising fees on them like they do the cable cos.

If I wasn't a baseball fan it would be a lot easier
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 12-21-2019, 06:20 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
I think the dream of relaibly recording a roku (or any box) like a set top box is more a pipe dream. In essence you want to create a "play on" and that's much harder to do on a closed box like Android and Roku. It's why playon only exists on windows.

To reliably record something, you need to know 3 things.
1. How do I start it
2. When do I start it
3. When is it done

If you look at traditional TV, the "guide" provided that information, and even on traditional TV it's not trvial, but at least they all agreed that things would have unique "channels" and have start and end times and that information could be collated and once you have that information you can then "tune" pretty much any device. Even for tradiional tv this process is quite complex but, at least there were technologies in place to allow the transmission of the "guide" in the stream and then it just took some processing to collate the information. Companies then formed tha ttook that information and provided it to anyone with a fee.

There are some sites out there that try to do this for streaming services, but, it's much harder. There is no real way to "know" what is on netflix for any given region, except to "scrape" that information, and it's hard, and time consuming, and unreliable. Netflix, Hulu, Amazom, Apple, Disney, CBS, etc are not going to "give out" this information like they do with cable/sat.

Once you "know" what to record, the "how" to record it is different for every service AND it's different for every platform. ie, if I figured out to record netflix on roku, it doesn't help me understand how to record netflix on Android, or AppleTV. If I figured out Neflix it doesn't help me at all in trying to figure out Hulu or Disney.

I think if you are looking for a Play-On like solution, then I suggest you just pay for Play-On, since they are a dedicated company that is trying to solve the problem, and it's not easy. It was, we'd see 10 of these services/apps out there.

Ironically the video industry is moving to a realm where pirating is becoming easier than actually using the service. And this is ironic because, they gradually moved to a place where piracy was harder. ie, it's not that hard to setup a tuner and record, or just go into netflix and watch something. Or just the DVR that a cable provider supplied. But now that we have so many "streaming" services each with a different interface, video controls and different behaviours across different platforms, it's actually quite a bit easier to just pirate content.

At some point, we might see a subscription TV app that basically licenses content from Netflix, Apple, Disney, etc, and charges 150/month and you get everything in one app, and at that point, we've emulated the cable pattern all over again, and we are back to HUGE monthly costs where you pick your "bundles" and you get everythign in 1 interface. But we are a long way from that. In fact I think netflix was best positioned to be that, but, it changed from being a content aggregator to a content producer that that changes the landscape entirely. We just waiting for the next Netflix that is ok being the aggregator and not the producer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting (scary?) article in Wall Street Journal pjpjpjpj General Discussion 20 02-13-2009 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.