SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:23 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Fast Forward / Rewind HDTV Problems

Is anyone else having problems with fast forwarding and rewinding HDTV?

I record HDTV via firewire (2 x motorola DCT6416) and some time in the spring my fast forward and rewinding started to jump all over the place. I have FF set to 30 seconds but it may jump and if I RW it goes to some random place.

I have been using the latest betas as soon as they are released on my server and my clients but still no fix.

I had to stop using the Comskip plugin for skipping comercials since it was jumping too far ahead or back.

I don't have any problems with SD content (2 x PVR500 Hauppauge) just HD from my firewire captures. FF and RW work fine with SD as well as the comskip stvi.

Any ideas? Could my cable company have changed something in the TS stream?

Thanks,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:56 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
FF/RW issues are usually caused by
1. bad recordings (bad frames)
2. bad interface driver
2. codec or video driver issues

#1 could be checked with any software that looks for bad frames, live Video Redo
#2 & #3 might be solved by reinstalling or downloading current versions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2008, 05:16 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
I did a little test and I added a second harddrive to my SageTV client PC and installed XP with everything exactly the same as my Vista install.

I am using PowerDVD 8 is the decoder for video and AC3 codec for passthrough of AC3 Dobly Digital and decoding of non Dolby Digital.

I have no skipping/timeline problems on my XP Sagetv Server or on the XP Sagetv Client.

Comskip works perfectly in XP and skips/advances to the correct spots marked using Showanalyzer.

Only in Vista do I get the random skipping/timeline problem.

Any other ideas? I really like the playback performance in Vista (VRM9 with the eye candy), I have to us Overlay in XP to get decent HD 1080i/P playback.

Thanks,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2008, 06:44 PM
srothwell's Avatar
srothwell srothwell is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,064
I have exactly the same problem, although it seems much less.

My wife biggest complaint is she will go back 10 seconds (REW) and it will jump back WAY more than 10 seconds.

It only seems to happen going back.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2008, 06:56 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorton View Post
I have no skipping/timeline problems on my XP Sagetv Server or on the XP Sagetv Client. Only in Vista do I get the random skipping/timeline problem.
Ok. This would tell me that it's the Vista interaction with the codec or renderer.

Users have noted problems/conflicts with VISTA and the EVR (Enhanced Video Renderer) main driver

EVR Support Lagging Behind Competitors
Videos Won't Play w/ VMR9 Vista
Porblem with HD playback with Intel graphics under Vista

I'm not a Vista user, so I'll leave any questions to other forum members.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2008, 08:36 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
I also tried playing the files on my Vista machine in PowerDVD8 and had no problems using the mouse to navigate the timeline or FF/RW.

I only have the problem using the Sagetv Client installed on Vista so it looks a little like Sagetv and the Vista/Directshow problem I read about in this thread,

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...=HD+FF+problem

They talk about a Vista HD Directshow problem in the thread and that it was supposed to be fixed in 6.4.x

I am using Beta 6.4.6 on my server and my vista client so doesn't look like it has been fixed.

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:09 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
We're now at 6.4.7rc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2008, 08:47 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Just tried 6.4.7RC and I get the same problem on Vista using Sagetv as 6.4.6.

No luck.

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2008, 09:20 AM
bmac.to bmac.to is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
I have the same symptoms - I am using Vista Ultimate 64-bit. I find the skip function to be fairly predictable but the ctrl-f ctrl-a (the 10 second ones) to be completely unpredictable.

I have only figured out how to make it even worse - try changing the 10 seconds to 5 seconds.
________
FREE XXX TUBES

Last edited by bmac.to; 03-21-2011 at 05:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2008, 11:48 AM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Is this with windows and not with the extender? if so, this likely the old windows timeline bug that has never been fixed.
__________________
Server: Sage 6.5.9 - X2 3800+, DFI NF4 MB, 1 GB, 300 GB HD (system disk), NV 7600GS, - Windows XP SP2
Client 1: Sage 6.5.9 - E7200, Abit IP35 Pro, ATI 4850 with HDMI connect to Denon 3808CI and Sony A3000 SXRD TV
Client 2: HD200 connected to Denon 3808CI and A3000 SXRD TV
Client 3: Media MVP to 15" Toshiba LCD
Client 4: HD100 connected to Samsung 23" 720P LCD
Client 5: HD100 connected to Vizio VX37L
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:07 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
This is on a Windows Vista 32 Home Premium machine running the latest Sagetv Client. No problems on XP clients.

I also submitted a bug report last night.

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:48 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Response to my Bug Submission,

"We're aware of this issue and will be releasing an updated demux component
in the near future that resolves it."

Thanks,


SageTV Support Team
SageTV, LLC
betatest@sagetv.com
http://www.sagetv.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-13-2008, 09:39 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorton View Post
Response to my Bug Submission,

"We're aware of this issue and will be releasing an updated demux component
in the near future that resolves it."

Thanks,


SageTV Support Team
SageTV, LLC
betatest@sagetv.com
http://www.sagetv.com/
That's great news...
__________________
Server: Sage 6.5.9 - X2 3800+, DFI NF4 MB, 1 GB, 300 GB HD (system disk), NV 7600GS, - Windows XP SP2
Client 1: Sage 6.5.9 - E7200, Abit IP35 Pro, ATI 4850 with HDMI connect to Denon 3808CI and Sony A3000 SXRD TV
Client 2: HD200 connected to Denon 3808CI and A3000 SXRD TV
Client 3: Media MVP to 15" Toshiba LCD
Client 4: HD100 connected to Samsung 23" 720P LCD
Client 5: HD100 connected to Vizio VX37L
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:54 PM
agover agover is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Just as a heads up - Im also seeing this problem under XP using cyberlink8 too.

It seems to be code related as the problem seems to have appeared in the 6.4 series of sage - in 6.3 I barely ever saw it.(ie once or twice total)

Im hoping this fix is in 6.4 release/stable though otherwise im going to have to pick up an extender...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:20 AM
ben_95sl1 ben_95sl1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 290
I also got that email a few weeks ago, hopefully soon the demux update will come out...please, please.
__________________
Server: XP SP3, X2 BE 5000+, WD 1.5TB x 2, PVR150 & HD-PVR, USB-UIRT
Clients: HD300, HD100 x 2, Media MVP in a box somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:35 AM
bryanzim bryanzim is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 32
I just want to make sure that this issue doesn't get dropped. This has been an issue with Sage since I started using it back at V5.X.

The random skipping during rewind/fast forward has always happened for both SDTV and HDTV recordings. THe same files play fine in WMP and do not skip when moving around in the file.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-22-2008, 10:40 AM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanzim View Post
I just want to make sure that this issue doesn't get dropped. This has been an issue with Sage since I started using it back at V5.X.
The FF/RW issue in this thread was limited to SageTV running on the VISTA OS. The OP didn't have the issue under XP.

Are you running on Vista?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-22-2008, 05:31 PM
bryanzim bryanzim is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 32
Yes, running Vista x64 SP1.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:32 PM
bstowers bstowers is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 40
I have the same problem os the OP on my main system using the latest version as of this time (6.4.8). I run on Vista Home Premium 32 bit.

On my Sage Client system that runs on XP, I never see the issue.

I record using the Hauppage HD-PVR.

Has anyone ever found a fix for this?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-26-2009, 05:16 PM
defilm defilm is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Garden City, New York
Posts: 24
Question Has this issue been resolved???

I have noticed this problem. I can play back an Mpeg2 program in entirety
with no issues, however if U try to skip commercials, it appears as if the
decoder loses sync, and it just continues to forward through the file.

Even if I rewind the file to the beginning, exit the front end, bring it back up
and play the selection again, it plays fine up until the point where I started to fast forward, then the playback just loses sync and moves to the end as if it were playing at 16x mode, even though I did not touch the FF key on the remote on playback this time.

I am using a HVR-1950 on a Dual core 2 1.8Ghz ITX MB, 2GB Ram, Vista Home. I am set to encode by : Hauppauge HVR USB2 Video Capture,
Format: Mpeg2-ps [Mpeg2-video 16:9 1080i29.97fps, AC3/384Kbs @48KHz 5.1]. Video Render: Overlay (even though VMR9 and EVR are available),
Mpeg2 Decode filter: Interviewo NonCSS Video Decoder for Hauppauge (Other options are MS Mpeg2 decoder, and SageTV Mpeg Video Decoder).
Audio Decoder: Sage TV Mpeg Audio Decoder. In advanced: 3D Acceleration is enabled as the video chipset on this ITX PC was designed for the purpose of being a DVR. SageTV SW: 6.5.9.204 , Java 1.6.0_13.

I am hoping this problem was resolved, or someone can help me out if it is a setting issue.

Thanks
__________________
Sage PVR: "Pandora MP945-DR ITX System" Intel core Duo 2 x 1.8Ghz, 4GB 667Mhz DDram, SATA 500GB 7200RPM Drive, DVD+-RW, DVI-HDMI HD out, Component RGB Video out/S-Video out, TOS Optical 5.1 Audo out, USB2.0 external Hauppauge WIN-TV HVR-1950

Last edited by defilm; 07-26-2009 at 05:32 PM. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Forward like TiVo ? 73cuda SageTV Software 6 02-08-2017 10:02 AM
Fast forward and rewind hangs or freezes menace SageTV Software 3 02-23-2008 03:37 PM
Really odd HDTV behavior lovingHDTV SageTV Beta Test Software 3 02-23-2007 12:53 PM
Divco HDTV using componet input problems itbmils Hardware Support 0 01-15-2007 12:34 AM
Problems with Fast Forward ldavis SageTV Beta Test Software 0 04-14-2004 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.