SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2003, 12:42 AM
edmc edmc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 325
Multi-tuner oddity: 2 tuners not able to tune the same station?

I know it doesn't make much sense - and I'm sure there is a rather convoluted yet interesting explanation for this, but I just thought it odd.

I have 2 PVR-250s. I set up SageTV to record a program. Then, while that program was recording on one of the tuners, I used the other tuner to watch "live tv". I was channel surfing around and noticed that I was unable to PgUp/PgDn to the station the other tuner was currently recording. Not only that, if I manually typed in the channel number being recorded by one of the tuners, rather than tune the inactive tuner to that channel, SageTV startied playing back the program being recorded - from the beginning that is.

Needless to say, this is not what I expected. I do, however, grant that it's probably a side-effect of some of the heuristics SageTV uses to decide what to do.

Q1: Is this behavior expected?
Q2: Is this behavior desireable/intended?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2003, 09:18 AM
Mark Lamutt's Avatar
Mark Lamutt Mark Lamutt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HDTV Wastland known as Denver, CO
Posts: 769
Don't know if this is what's supposed to happen or not, but I suspect that it can't tune to the same channel because of file naming issues with what's being recorded. File names are based on the program ID information, so 2 tuners tuned to the same program would produce 2 files recording in the same place, with the same name. Which of course would be a problem...

Just a guess on my part here...
__________________
Mark
mark@freytechnologies.com
The picture is of my kitty, Myko at 9 months old.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2003, 11:15 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
One of the core rules is that it never records the same thing on more than one tuner at a time. It'd be sort of redundant otherwise. Not sure why it didn't tune correctly with pgup/pgdn. I'll take a look at that.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.