SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:46 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,313
Post Important Version 6 Upgrade Information

We've tried to provide generous upgrade policies to our customers in the past and we'll continue to try to provide generous upgrades in the future including a free upgrade for Version 5 customers to Version 6.0. As mentioned in the initial V6 Beta Posting here; we updated our official upgrade policy as of Version 6 for SageTV.

The current upgrade policy provides minor version upgrades for free and a free upgrade for Version 5.0 users to Version 6.0.

The current upgrade policy therefore requires users of Version 6 to have one of the following:

1) A SageTV Media Center license key from Version 5 or higher

or

2) A SageTV Media Center license key from Version 4 or earlier AND a Version 6 upgrade key.

You will NOT need to purchase new licenses for clients, placeshifter connections or media extenders.

Linux users do not need an upgrade key; all Linux license keys purchased are still valid.

Version 6 upgrade keys can be purchased here. (they are currently priced at $39.99 as a $40 discount from the regular full price of SageTV Media Center for $79.99)

We appreciate your support and we'll try to continue to provide generous upgrade offers to loyal customers. We hope you agree we've put a lot of great things in Version 6.0 and in order to support and develop great upgrades we need to charge current customers something fair for upgrades.

Hopefully, everyone will understand we are trying to be more generous than is typical for the software industry by giving free upgrades to Version 6 for Version 5 customers.

Feel free to discuss this on this thread.

PCAlchemy Keys Issued 4/25/2006 to 9/18/2006:

The SageTV 5 Media Center keys issued by PCAlchemy between 4/25/2006 and
9/18/2006 require a special SageTV 5 Upgrade Key to work with SageTV 6 Media Center, please contact sales@pcalchemy.com for a free SageTV 5 Upgrade Key.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:58 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
So wait, If I want ver 6.x (even the beta) and I bought a key back in the version 3 days I need to buy and upgrade key? Is that correct?

I had a dream about this the other night, I just knew I couldn't upgrade forever for free. I don't mind, just want to be clear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:02 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanzee
So wait, If I want ver 6.x (even the beta) and I bought a key back in the version 3 days I need to buy and upgrade key? Is that correct?

I had a dream about this the other night, I just knew I couldn't upgrade forever for free. I don't mind, just want to be clear.
Yes, in this case, you will need to buy an upgrade key to use Version 6.0 past the 15-day trial.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:07 PM
haubrija haubrija is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Yes, in this case, you will need to buy an upgrade key to use Version 6.0 past the 15-day trial.
Ok... now I'm a bit confused.

From the wording of the upgrade policy, it would seem Humanzee would need more than just an upgrade key.

The policy says you need either (1) a Ver 5 Key or a (2) a Ver 4 or higher key plus an upgrade key. Humanzee says he has a Ver 3 Key and therefore doesn't seem to fit into group 2. Wouldn't he have to buy a full licence? I ask as a Ver 2 licence holder. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:07 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
ok, thats cool, and it seems fair to me. I don't mind giving you all a few bucks every year or two. At least its not a subscription. Besides, this way you'll be motivated to keep pumping out the improvements. Though you might also be tempted to jump major versions more quickly than usual.

I'll buy a key when I get home, or within the next couple of days anyway. I just bought another half terrabyte of storage which should be here in a couple of days so maybe then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:08 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by haubrija
Ok... now I'm a bit confused.

From the wording of the upgrade policy, it would seem Humanzee would need more than just an upgrade key.

The policy says you need either (1) a Ver 5 Key or a (2) a Ver 4 or higher key plus an upgrade key. Humanzee says he has a Ver 3 Key and therefore doesn't seem to fit into group 2. Wouldn't he have to buy a full licence? I ask as a Ver 2 licence holder. Thanks.
I think it says ver 4 key or older
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:09 PM
haubrija haubrija is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanzee
I think it says ver 4 key or older
Ah you're right... I misread it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:10 PM
dagar dagar is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 667
Thanks for the very generous support Narflex

We look forward to the 6.x beta process and actually supporting you guys (through purchases).

Besides you guys have mouths to feed too Progress report looks good ... downloading as we speak...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:11 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
$29.99?

No brainer.

Just got my upgrade key via e-mail.

I'm such a junkie.
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:42 PM
teknubic's Avatar
teknubic teknubic is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanzee
I'll buy a key when I get home, or within the next couple of days anyway. I just bought another half terrabyte of storage which should be here in a couple of days so maybe then.
Don't wait too long...
Quote:
Originally Posted by website
** This is a limited time special offer till to November 1, 2006. Normal upgrade pricing is $39.99.
http://store.sagetv.com/Merchant2/me...t_Code=STV6UPG (at the bottom)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:43 PM
dadams dadams is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 194
I currently have 2 SageTV Servers: One primarily for HD, the other for SD. I would need 2 upgrade keys?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:57 PM
spike5884's Avatar
spike5884 spike5884 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 118
What do we do if we don't remember if we bought under v3, v4, or v5???
__________________
Thanks,
Scott
aka Spike5884

Last edited by spike5884; 10-02-2006 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:16 PM
Endymion's Avatar
Endymion Endymion is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 95
What do I do now??

Ordered my upgrade key and got:


Your Email could not be sent at this time. The following error was encountered: Error connecting to 'mail.freytechnologies.com': (209.216.213.122:25): Connection refused


No e-mail with the key in my inbox....

Guess I'll e-mail support....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:39 PM
geogecko geogecko is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Oklahoma
Posts: 2,273
Not bad...I'm a 2.x version owner too, and I was wondering when the upgrades were going to cost me...$30 is very fair, thank you.
__________________
-Jason
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:42 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadams
I currently have 2 SageTV Servers: One primarily for HD, the other for SD. I would need 2 upgrade keys?
Yes, the full installations of SageTV (server) for Windows would need an upgrade key, depending on which version you purchased, as outlined in the first post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike5884
What do we do if we don't remember if we bought under v4 or v5???
If you plan to use the v6 beta right now, you could simply try the beta & see what it says. If you need a license, it should fall back to trial mode. If you want to make sure beforehand & you don't have your purchase email, I suppose you should contact support.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:44 PM
jbarr's Avatar
jbarr jbarr is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 419
Though I purchased v5 and will get the v6 upgrade for free, I thing the upgrade price is fair. It's great to see SageTV settling on a balanced upgrade path that's affordable, yet potentially profitable. I'm a SageTV newbie, but it's things like this that really make me glad I chose it! Thanks!
__________________
-Jim Barr
SageTVTips.com


HTPC: AMD ASUS M2N-E Socket AM2 Motherboard; Athlon 64 3200+ Orleans 2.0GHz; 2GB RAM; eVGA 256MB Geforce 7300LE; 1x40GB IDE HDD (OS), 2xSeagate Barracuda 320GB SATA HDD (Recordings); Antec Overture II Case; Windows XP Pro SP2; SageTV v6.5
STV: SageMC
Video sources: Currently, none. I'm using SageTV for Music, Photos, and Video playback.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:45 PM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
I think I purchased my server license on v4, but given what has been added, I purchased the upgrade anyway. So if I purchased on v5, then you guys just got a little more extra support from me!
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:56 PM
jominor's Avatar
jominor jominor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
We've tried to provide generous upgrade policies to our customers in the past and we'll continue to try to provide generous upgrades in the future including a free upgrade for Version 5 customers to Version 6.0. As mentioned in the initial V6 Beta Posting here; we updated our official upgrade policy as of Version 6 for SageTV.



Feel free to discuss this on this thread.
Okay. I have a version 1.4 server, 2 version 2 clients, a version 3(?), and a placeshifter. I would have to upgrade the 1.4 and which clients? All?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:59 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by jominor
I would have to upgrade the 1.4 and which clients? All?
None.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
You will NOT need to purchase new licenses for clients, placeshifter connections or media extenders.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:07 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick
None.
Well, the 1.4 server, but nothing else.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.