SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #541  
Old 12-04-2020, 05:19 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Thanks @JustFred!

I methodically went through each choice.

JRiver Media Center works!

@wnjj, maybe the OP could be updated to include this option for the BDA fix.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #542  
Old 12-04-2020, 06:11 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Thanks @JustFred!

I methodically went through each choice.

JRiver Media Center works!

@wnjj, maybe the OP could be updated to include this option for the BDA fix.
Thanks for the info. Done.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #543  
Old 12-06-2020, 01:16 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Are codecs also x86 vs x64 dependent?

I'm trying to install an older Cyberpower mpeg-2 codec that was able to display CC directly from mpeg-2 streams.

It looks like this old codec is x86. Does that mean this x64 install won't be able to see it?
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #544  
Old 12-06-2020, 03:26 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
I'm trying to install an older Cyberpower mpeg-2 codec that was able to display CC directly from mpeg-2 streams.

It looks like this old codec is x86. Does that mean this x64 install won't be able to see it?
Correct. The codecs/filters need to match the program “bitness”.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #545  
Old 12-08-2020, 04:23 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Correct. The codecs/filters need to match the program “bitness”.
Thank you. I managed to install a x64 version of the Cyberlink mpeg decoder. Looks like something may have changed since the circa 2009 x86 decoder as embedded CC isn't decoding/displaying as desired. May mess around a bit more, but will probably just run all recordings through ccextractor to make them subtitles.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs

Last edited by waylo; 12-10-2020 at 07:35 PM. Reason: Cyberlink, not Cyberpower
Reply With Quote
  #546  
Old 12-20-2020, 04:26 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Summary of my install experience

Hi everyone,

Just to document, summarize and maybe help others who are willing to undertake the install/upgrade to x64. This was the process for my HDHR Prime on Comcast and OTA ATSC, using OpenDCT. The last time I installed SageTV was at least 7-8 years ago.

I followed this longtime FAQ entry for the recordings transfer:
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30697

1. Installed Silicon Dust HDHR software. Ran hdhomerun_setup and scanned channels for both my HDHR Prime and ancient HDHR Dual OTA ATSC. CHANGE BDA Compatability Mode to "JRiver Media Center" if "SageTV" is not listed and you are only installing Sage x64. (If you have installed x86 Sage, SageTV will be listed as an option). Confirmed tuners work with good video signal using the HDHR Viewing software.

2. Installed SageTV x64 server package on the new computer.
  • This installs LAVfilters
  • This installs a v1.8 x64 Java. I initially removed the 1.8 x64 Java and installed an older 1.7 version, in the hopes of continuing to use some old plugins that require it. Unfortunately Java 1.7 prevents the proper download/install of several plugins for some odd reason. I removed it and installed the latest v1.8 Java.
  • I have a USB-UIRT but haven't used it since the days of analog recording, so I did not install the UIRT drivers.
3. Opened SageTV, installed plugins, and configured properties as I remembered. I believe the devs think simply copying over sage.properties is a very bad idea. Compared old .properties and duplicated certain settings into the new .properties file.

4. Decided what directories would be my recording directories. Created UNC share names to those directories (needed for clients to get comskip data).

5. Added those UNC share directories to the Video Recording Directories. Still nothing inside them at this point.

6. Exited SageTV.

7. Copied over all recordings to the UNC share locations.

8. Added advanced_video_file_recovery=true to the .properties file. Copied over the original wiz.bin file.
  • One interesting thing was even without changing the advanced_video_file_recovery flag and without the copied wiz.bin, if you run SageTV and have some recordings in those directories, it may start going through the files and assigning names. I don't know if this works just as well but I didn't like it.
  • I believe recording favorites are saved within wiz.bin, so I wasted time by making new favorites that were overwritten
9. Ran SageTV. It took a little longer to get to the UI as it was searching through all the new recording directories. Confirmed that all recordings looked right.

10. Exited SageTV. Removed advanced_video_file_recovery=true from the .properties file

11. Installed x64 OpenDCT. Ran "OpenDCT Run as Console". CTRL-C on OpenDCT Following Download of Channel Lineups. Ran "OpenDCT Start Service"

12. Ran SageTV and went to Setup Video Sources. Found the DCT-HDHomeRun Prime Tuner entries (3) and configured them to my Schedules Direct account. I setup my OTA tuner not using the OpenDCT entry but rather the native SageTV listing. Confirmed I could tune into each type of tuner within SageTV. Interestingly, as I still had my old server running, I could see and use the OpenDCT service running on that machine as my tuner source.

13. Confirmed lineup looked correct, removed excess channels.

14. Stopped OpenDCT service. Duplicated some opendct.properties from the old server. Not sure in this case if you could simply copy over the old one or not. Restarted OpenDCT service. Confirmed again all tuner sources worked.

15. For captions/subtitles:
  • Tried to get a x64 mpeg decoder that would display closed captioning. Was able to install x64 version of Cyberlink's codec, but CC still did not display. Oh well.
  • Decided to set a service, using dirmon2, running ccextractor on all new recordings. Closed captioning can then be displayed as subtitles for all recordings.
16. For commercial cutting:
  • I installed the comskip plugins. As a paid donator to comskip, I replaced the plugin comskip with my donator version. Edited a few parameters. Using the "Commercial Detector" plugin, I set it to cleanup leftover files with multiple extensions, including the .srt subtitle files, when the main video file is deleted.

EDIT: For comparing the .properties files, which can be quite onerous, I recommend using Notepad++ and the compare plugin. So very useful and saves a lot of time.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs

Last edited by waylo; 12-20-2020 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #547  
Old 12-20-2020, 04:48 PM
JustFred JustFred is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Ran hdhomerun_setup and scanned channels for both my HDHR Prime and ancient HDHR Dual OTA ATSC. MUST CHANGE BDA Compatability Mode to "JRiver Media Center."
For the future benefit of others who find this thread, I'd like to clarify that the preferred selection for "Application" (or BDA Compatibility Mode) is still "SageTv". But if SageTv doesn't appear in the drop-down menu, then go ahead and choose "JRiver Media Center."
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #548  
Old 12-20-2020, 05:33 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
For the future benefit of others who find this thread, I'd like to clarify that the preferred selection for "Application" (or BDA Compatibility Mode) is still "SageTv". But if SageTv doesn't appear in the drop-down menu, then go ahead and choose "JRiver Media Center."
Yes, for sure! I don't think it shows up on the x64 install though? There's some info on the original post about this particular issue.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #549  
Old 12-20-2020, 05:55 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
For the future benefit of others who find this thread, I'd like to clarify that the preferred selection for "Application" (or BDA Compatibility Mode) is still "SageTv". But if SageTv doesn't appear in the drop-down menu, then go ahead and choose "JRiver Media Center."
What exactly is the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #550  
Old 12-20-2020, 06:50 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
What exactly is the difference?
In broad terms, for some reason, if the BDA compatability is not set properly, Sage x64 doesn't detect and isn't able to display video coming off the tuners. I don't know what happens behind the scenes with these selections.

Sage x86 is less picky about what setting is chosen here, I think.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #551  
Old 12-20-2020, 07:39 PM
JustFred JustFred is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
What exactly is the difference?
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
In broad terms, for some reason, if the BDA compatability is not set properly, Sage x64 doesn't detect and isn't able to display video coming off the tuners.
Correct.

Quote:
I don't know what happens behind the scenes with these selections.
Sage x86 is less picky about what setting is chosen here, I think.
It's not a matter of being "picky". Both Sage-x86 and Sage-x64 expect to talk to the HDHR in exactly the same way. HDHR's BDA compatibility mode must be set correctly to present itself to Sage (both x86 and x64) for accessing the HDHR tuners & the video stream.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
Yes, for sure! I don't think it shows up on the x64 install though? There's some info on the original post about this particular issue.
The HDHR Setup app simply looks for the presence of the Sage-x86 Service installation, and if found, offers the opportunity to select "SageTv" in the dropdown box. This means that:

a) On a computer that has the Sage-x86 Service installed, HDHR Setup will offer "SageTv", and that's what should be chosen.

b) On a computer that has both Sage-x86 and Sage-x64 Services installed, HDHR Setup will offer "SageTv", and that's what should be chosen.

c) On a computer that ONLY has the Sage-x64 Service installed, HDHR Setup will NOT offer "SageTv". In this case, choose "JRiver Media Center".
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #552  
Old 12-20-2020, 08:39 PM
waylo waylo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Correct.



It's not a matter of being "picky". Both Sage-x86 and Sage-x64 expect to talk to the HDHR in exactly the same way. HDHR's BDA compatibility mode must be set correctly to present itself to Sage (both x86 and x64) for accessing the HDHR tuners & the video stream.



The HDHR Setup app simply looks for the presence of the Sage-x86 Service installation, and if found, offers the opportunity to select "SageTv" in the dropdown box. This means that:

a) On a computer that has the Sage-x86 Service installed, HDHR Setup will offer "SageTv", and that's what should be chosen.

b) On a computer that has both Sage-x86 and Sage-x64 Services installed, HDHR Setup will offer "SageTv", and that's what should be chosen.

c) On a computer that ONLY has the Sage-x64 Service installed, HDHR Setup will NOT offer "SageTv". In this case, choose "JRiver Media Center".
Thanks for that clarification. Edited my long post with more clear info re: this.
__________________

Server: SageTV 9.2.2x64 on Win10 x64 Home, i7-2600, 8gb RAM, OpenDCT, Java 1.8, 20TB storage
Display: EVGA 1030 GT to Sony LED TV via DVI-HDMI
Capture Devices: HDHR Prime for Comcast, HDHR Dual for OTA
Clients: Nvidia Shield Android miniclient, 2 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #553  
Old 12-21-2020, 04:42 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,057
my version seems to be stuck on "9.2.1.919" is there any reason for that?

(even after doing a 9.2.2 "repair")
Reply With Quote
  #554  
Old 12-21-2020, 06:06 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo View Post
In broad terms, for some reason, if the BDA compatability is not set properly, Sage x64 doesn't detect and isn't able to display video coming off the tuners. I don't know what happens behind the scenes with these selections.

Sage x86 is less picky about what setting is chosen here, I think.
What's the difference between selecting "SageTV" or "Jriver ... "?
Reply With Quote
  #555  
Old 12-21-2020, 07:15 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
What's the difference between selecting "SageTV" or "Jriver ... "?
SageTV is what you should pick but is only presented if HDHR detects an install of 32-bit SageTV. Jriver has been reported to work fine if you only install 64-bit. Functionally there likely isn’t any difference.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #556  
Old 12-23-2020, 05:52 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
SageTV is what you should pick but is only presented if HDHR detects an install of 32-bit SageTV. Jriver has been reported to work fine if you only install 64-bit. Functionally there likely isn’t any difference.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Windows Installer jusjoken SageTV Github Development 461 07-17-2019 01:54 PM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.