SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2011, 12:58 PM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
Playback Freezes

Imported and natively recorded shows all freeze. Typically, when it freezes, in 20 seconds it unfreezes and runs superfast to allow the video to catch up to the audio. This has been happening to some degree ever since I went to version 7. I am on the current production release of the server.
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2011, 03:10 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
I see this on occasion but not very often. How often do you see these freezes? My impression so far is that it is a recording issue.When I see it I try to skip back and see if the problem repeats, it usuall does and that if why I think the recording was stored that way. I would expect it to be related to the HDHR and/or network traffic. I have not spent a lot of time trying to determine the cause because I do not see the issue that often. Is your network 1 Gbps or 100 Mbps?
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2011, 03:18 PM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 399
I see this on my HD300, on recordings and MKV's. Have only seen it since upgrading my server. have not had time to diagnosis the problem. I believe it is limited to only my HD300, will have the same files on my HD200 to compare.
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2011, 03:19 PM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
The beauty is that if I skip back, I can play through it. It happens a few times a night.
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2011, 03:32 PM
Prestermatt Prestermatt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgourd View Post
The beauty is that if I skip back, I can play through it. It happens a few times a night.
Same thing happens to me all the time on my 200. Sage just hangs for a few seconds, then I rewind and watch what I missed. It's a relatively minor issue, but still irritating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2011, 04:18 PM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prestermatt View Post
Same thing happens to me all the time on my 200. Sage just hangs for a few seconds, then I rewind and watch what I missed. It's a relatively minor issue, but still irritating.
Both my TVs are on 200s.
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2011, 09:40 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 561
I've seen Java garbage collection cause this kind of seemingly random freeze in playback on extenders. If you use Phoenix Fanart, the Diamond UI, or have lots of other plugins installed, you may be maxing out the SageTV Java memory usage which will cause the garbage collection routines to kick in and free up some memory. If you haven't manually changed the Java Heap Size registry setting for SageTV, try increasing that value and see if the freezes go away or become less frequent. Do a search in the forums for Java Heap Size and you should find the info you need to find and change that Windows registry setting.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 3.2GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u201, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2011, 04:44 AM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
You probably right. This got a lot worse after I installed the Batch Metadata plugin.
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2011, 11:01 PM
davenlr davenlr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 149
I use the 100 extender, and it happens about twice a night. I have no plugins, just stock UI, with Malone enabled, as far as I know.

Ill search on the Java thing. BTW, is it safe to upgrade Java. I know at one time, it could trash Sage, so I havent upgraded Java for a long time.
__________________
Sage 7 on Win8.1 i7 6TB server, 1 gig network, HD Homerun
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:24 AM
Spectrum Spectrum is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 720
It's safe to update Java. Just make sure you close Sage and stop the service (if you are using service mode) before applying the Java updates.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-30-2011, 06:10 PM
davenlr davenlr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 149
OK, I upped the Java Heap Size to 756, and installed Phoenix and I am still having the same problem. About once every show I play back, it freezes and then fast forwards until it catches up.

Anyone have any other suggestions? Using a 3GHZ server, win7 32 bit, with 3 GB ram. Other than Sage, only thing running is PlayOn.
__________________
Sage 7 on Win8.1 i7 6TB server, 1 gig network, HD Homerun
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-19-2011, 07:14 PM
bela41 bela41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Sorry to revive an old thread, but did anyone solve this? I have this happen on my HD200s a few times per day. My Java heap is 1GB so that shouldn't be the problem.

Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-19-2011, 07:17 PM
davenlr davenlr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 149
Nope, still does it to me, even upgraded to win7 64 bit, and made sure no other apps were running on the server.
__________________
Sage 7 on Win8.1 i7 6TB server, 1 gig network, HD Homerun
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-22-2011, 09:45 AM
lewispm lewispm is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 73
It happens to me about once every other night as well.

Win7 64bit - 8gb - 1024 Java heap size - Diamond UI (just switched back to stock v7 for another issue)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-22-2011, 10:06 AM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
It seems to happen more often with imported MKV files and also on my HD200 rather than the HD300.
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:06 AM
hometheaterfan hometheaterfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
I have also had a problem with this since I upgrade my system from Windows XP to Win 7 x64 in mid August. I now happens at a rate of at least 1 time per hour of TV watched.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:41 AM
firenice firenice is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 139
Not Sage, File Timing Info to blame

I experienced these symptoms with certain recordings and determined it was timing information in the files that was the cause. I could pass these files through VideoRedo QSF and eleviate the problem.

This one channel I record from (CW in Houston area) exhibits these symptoms. Along with freezing every few minutes, these shows would also run at a speed that would cause the show to end 2+ minutes before the actual end of the program. I would have to back up and restart the show to see the last 2+ minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:55 PM
kmp14 kmp14 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by firenice View Post
I experienced these symptoms with certain recordings and determined it was timing information in the files that was the cause. I could pass these files through VideoRedo QSF and eleviate the problem.

This one channel I record from (CW in Houston area) exhibits these symptoms. Along with freezing every few minutes, these shows would also run at a speed that would cause the show to end 2+ minutes before the actual end of the program. I would have to back up and restart the show to see the last 2+ minutes.
Thanks for the info, every bit helps for us to troubleshoot....however....for many people who have this issue, it is not repeatable, i.e. backing up and playing the section again works fine, so it is not likely the file that is the problem in those cases.
__________________
HP m9040n Quad Core 2.4Ghz, Windows7 Ultimate, Ceton 4 tuner CableCard with SageDCT, 2 HDHomeRun QAM, Netgear 24 Port GiGE Switch, Linksys WRT600N Router, 3 HD200 Extenders, 2 SageTV Clients

Server: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-03-2011, 03:02 PM
hometheaterfan hometheaterfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
That's right, my problem is not repeatable. It happens on playback ones, but cannot be observed again when playing back that section.

That being said, I have noticed recently that I have had some videos with messed up time codes since I moved from Windows XP to Windows 7, so I maybe if the time codes are messed up, sometimes SageTV can recover from the problem, and sometimes it cannot.

The thing is, that the pauses happen even on videos that I recorded on SageTV back when I was using Windows XP, so I don't understand how with the same videos, I could not have a problem at all with Windows XP, but now have the problems on Windows 7 if it's a timecode issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmp14 View Post
Thanks for the info, every bit helps for us to troubleshoot....however....for many people who have this issue, it is not repeatable, i.e. backing up and playing the section again works fine, so it is not likely the file that is the problem in those cases.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-05-2011, 07:35 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheaterfan View Post
That's right, my problem is not repeatable. It happens on playback ones, but cannot be observed again when playing back that section.

That being said, I have noticed recently that I have had some videos with messed up time codes since I moved from Windows XP to Windows 7, so I maybe if the time codes are messed up, sometimes SageTV can recover from the problem, and sometimes it cannot.

The thing is, that the pauses happen even on videos that I recorded on SageTV back when I was using Windows XP, so I don't understand how with the same videos, I could not have a problem at all with Windows XP, but now have the problems on Windows 7 if it's a timecode issue.
Because it could be a decoder issue, network driver (if it is a client or extender) video card driver. When you switch to a new os, you usually switch driver versions. Sometimes that is not a good thing.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback freezes with SageTV 6.5.9 SkierHiker SageTV Software 1 04-06-2009 03:02 PM
Video freezes during playback - need help Rupp SageTV Media Extender 7 03-31-2008 12:36 PM
Ripped DVD Playback Freezes jsonnabend SageTV Software 10 02-25-2008 02:44 AM
MVP Playback freezes after about 10 seconds in 6.2.10 ssbkt SageTV Media Extender 10 11-09-2007 07:49 AM
Freezes at end of recording playback will_fish SageTV Software 7 10-09-2003 07:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.