SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV Canada

Notices

SageTV Canada SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from Canada - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in Canada.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2008, 08:58 AM
bigmacjc bigmacjc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Rogers HD Digital

Just been looking around and have recently built a HTPC. Want to add Sage TV, but curious if I can get Rogers HD using HDHomerun? Not certain if the signal is uneycrpted, and is it possible to rum HDHomerun after the receiver to get it unecrypted? Will I aslo, have a channel guide within Sage TV.

Does anyone have a set-up like this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2008, 06:02 PM
Berg Berg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmacjc View Post
Just been looking around and have recently built a HTPC. Want to add Sage TV, but curious if I can get Rogers HD using HDHomerun? Not certain if the signal is uneycrpted, and is it possible to rum HDHomerun after the receiver to get it unecrypted? Will I aslo, have a channel guide within Sage TV.

Does anyone have a set-up like this?
I don't have a HDHomerun, so I have not tried it but from my reading on the web, the Rogers signal (SD and HD) is encrypted and therefore can not be received with an HDHomerun. Sad, really !

Rogers will end up loosing a customer in the next couple of weeks because I'll be leaving them for StarChoice and an R5000 mod to receive HD.
__________________
Server: Compaq Pressario, Ahtlon 64 X2 3800, 2 Gig ram, Win XP Pro, 2x R5000 modified StarChoice STB, 2x PVR 250, 2x PVR-USB, running headless
Clients: 3x STX-HD100, 1x Hauppauge MVP rev. 2.5, 2x Hauppauge MVP rev. 1, PlaceShifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2008, 01:42 PM
wylee wylee is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 20
Rogers HD Channels are encrypted, so you won't be able to capture it's output.
- You'll also have the same issue going with any other HD TV Provider unless they have their firewire port active and don't encrypt their signals.

In Canada, you're best bet is to use something that get you OTA HD (if you can get a signal in your area). Right now I'm using a Roger's box (3025HD) going through S-Video and upscaling the video. It's "ok", but not the greatest in terms of picture quality, I am amazed though that some channels have quite good quality through S-Video. For example, the FoodTV almost looks as good as watching it directly on the digital box.
- Hopefully the Hauppauge USB stick that can record off the component video will come soon!

Last edited by wylee; 04-03-2008 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2008, 04:05 PM
000 000 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Does Rogers set top box only output ntsc/analog through coax?

Last edited by 000; 06-13-2008 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:16 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by 000 View Post
Does Rogers set top box only output ntsc/analog through coax?
Yes

The only way to use any HTPC software with Rogers HD channels (other than HD channels) is the HD-PVR.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of issues Sage 6.3.6 with HD extender Spriter SageTV Beta Test Software 5 01-24-2008 09:31 AM
So whats the plan when analog goes away? sfisher General Discussion 39 07-26-2007 11:34 AM
The Beginning of the End? lobosrul General Discussion 76 05-01-2007 06:39 PM
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
HDHomeRun success story jbarr Hardware Support 9 02-22-2007 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.