SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-24-2011, 10:24 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Yeah, I've known about that one, but the forecast is very limited, so I was trying to find something better.

- Andy
do you know if the BBC one is free? If so, I'd be surprised if they had limits
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-24-2011, 02:31 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
That one is free to be used, but there is a 500 request per hour limit & I think all the SageTV installs would go way beyond that, so I'm guessing they would balk.

I'm still looking into alternatives. I may not be able to get weather switched by the end of this month when weather.com shuts off their feed, but we still want to update it to something else at some point.

- Andy
Andy, I am confused , I thought SageTV was gone/not being developed. Would a version be released with upated weather?
__________________
SageTV 7.0.0.23, P5Q-EM Motherboard, 2.5Ghz Quad Core, Windows 7 x64, HVR-2250, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, 2 HD-200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-24-2011, 04:53 PM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 311
There's always weather.gov

http://forecast.weather.gov/MapClick...&FcstType=dwml

although you have to know the lat/long of where you want the forecast for.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-25-2011, 06:23 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by heatvent View Post
Andy, I am confused , I thought SageTV was gone/not being developed. Would a version be released with upated weather?
Andy did release an updated STV to correct the You Tube weirdness, so I would imagine he may do the same with the weather feed. However, I wouldn't expect any new versions of Sage, just "bug" fixes along the lines of You Tube and weather fixes. After all, Andy is limited by Google as to what he can do and I doubt further developing this "legacy" product is part of Google's business plan.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:26 PM
bmac.to bmac.to is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
Not sure this is free but

http://www.wunderground.com/weather/api/
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-30-2011, 05:47 PM
n9cqs n9cqs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 68
WorldWeatheronline

How about switching Sage to pull weather information from a server of our choice?

This way, we could each subscribe to whatever weather API we wanted, set it up in a client/server sort of way similar to what we are going to have to do with EPG data in the near future. That way, those of us who maintain SAGE for a small number of other users in the same weather area could get the weather API account, download and cache the information to our own server and then serve it up so that our sage installations would access THAT.

This is exactly the problem with reliance on FREE information. Eventually when the FREE info is seen to be valuable, there will be a charge. It would be nice if the "fix" actually allows us to specify a server so that we have control over this happening in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:48 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9cqs View Post
How about switching Sage to pull weather information from a server of our choice?
You could do that now -- just create a plugin to pull weather from whatever site you want & display it in the format you want it to be. You don't have to rely on a built-in weather system. After all, the weather display in SageTV started as a customization, not a a built-in feature.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-31-2011, 09:23 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9cqs View Post
This is exactly the problem with reliance on FREE information. Eventually when the FREE info is seen to be valuable, there will be a charge.
Are you suggesting the SageTV should have licensed the weather and transferred cost to the consumers from the beginning? The irony here, is that we bought SageTV products, and they are no longer around, so stuff that is NOT FREE doesn't always work out in our best interest either
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-02-2011, 05:07 AM
n9cqs n9cqs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Are you suggesting the SageTV should have licensed the weather and transferred cost to the consumers from the beginning? The irony here, is that we bought SageTV products, and they are no longer around, so stuff that is NOT FREE doesn't always work out in our best interest either

No, not at all.
I am suggesting that instead of simply finding a "provided" weather source, we are able to use our own. Worldweatheronline looks like a good thing at this point... I have made some early experiments just simply downloading the data to my LAN. However, if Sage just switched to using the data to them, they might eventually also charge, and then we'd be in the same boat.

And you are exactly right about paying for something and have it not be around anyway. My Sage installation is starting to crash again more regularly all the time. About the time that became a problem in the past, Sage would come up with a new update and it would be fixed. I guess I will have to resort to fresh installs. Oh well...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-02-2011, 05:08 AM
n9cqs n9cqs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
You could do that now -- just create a plugin to pull weather from whatever site you want & display it in the format you want it to be. You don't have to rely on a built-in weather system. After all, the weather display in SageTV started as a customization, not a a built-in feature.

- Andy
I can do quite a bit, and even some programming, but I'm not sure I'm up to the level of a "plug-in" developer...

(hint hint... any takers out there?)
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:30 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9cqs View Post
I am suggesting that instead of simply finding a "provided" weather source, we are able to use our own.
The problem with that is that every service is likely to use its own set of metadata, so they can't build a one size fits all...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-02-2011, 01:09 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdippel View Post
Andy did release an updated STV to correct the You Tube weirdness, so I would imagine he may do the same with the weather feed. However, I wouldn't expect any new versions of Sage, just "bug" fixes along the lines of You Tube and weather fixes. After all, Andy is limited by Google as to what he can do and I doubt further developing this "legacy" product is part of Google's business plan.
I was just surprised they were doing anything at all. I thought they effectively pulled the plug on everything.
__________________
SageTV 7.0.0.23, P5Q-EM Motherboard, 2.5Ghz Quad Core, Windows 7 x64, HVR-2250, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, 2 HD-200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:52 AM
n9cqs n9cqs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 68
Weather channel data is still coming in as of the morning of Nov 3. Maybe they aren't being quick with the off switch?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:32 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
I don't know how long the weather.com feed will remain active, but the updated weather solution is now available for testing.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:13 AM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
Weather is now dead, at least for me.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:09 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Turned off in Cananda too...

I thought it was still working but isn't.

J

Last edited by jorton; 11-05-2011 at 07:25 AM. Reason: Change...
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:21 AM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
It is down for me too. The last update for me was yesterday at 6:53am MDT. I tried the link for my location (and other surronding locations) directly and got the below response in my web browser:

Code:
  <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
- <error>
      <err type="100">Invalid Partner Code.</err>
  </error>
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:48 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Same here. Since the forecast went out for 5 days makes sense it stopped providing data yesterday.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-05-2011, 09:07 PM
PhilH's Avatar
PhilH PhilH is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edinburg, TX (Deep South Texas)
Posts: 95
Dead here also since last night.. Really loved that feature..
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 Gemstone WHS + 3 HD200's, 1 Client & 1 Placeshifter
WHS - Dual Xeon 2.8ghz - 3gig ECC Ram - 25 Drives - 30 Terabytes
Blu-ray Titles 498
HD-DVD Titles 166
DVD Titles - Too Many To Count..
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-06-2011, 05:40 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilH View Post
Dead here also since last night.. Really loved that feature..
Have no fear, Opus4 has something coming.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weather location and data null?! chinook SageTV Software 19 01-28-2010 08:39 AM
Music on KSDKDT2 st louis weather channel? bozemeier The SageTV Community 0 06-21-2009 09:23 AM
Using Weather Network as a feed for Canadian Weather Fastrack SageTV Customizations 2 03-22-2009 09:47 PM
Wunderground Weather instead of Weather.com??? Stuntman SageTV Customizations 9 02-03-2009 05:22 PM
weather.com weather extractor for mlbdude2 1.8.7 (v1.0.1 / July 6) nielm SageTV Customizations 105 10-08-2004 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.