SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2011, 11:43 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
HDHR3 Available for Pre-order

With everyone focused on the release of the Colossus, did anyone notice that the new form-factor version of the HDHomeRun (HDHR3) is available for pre-order? Must be getting close to general availability. Here's the link: http://www.amazon.com/SiliconDust-HD...7963780&sr=1-1
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2011, 01:48 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
With everyone focused on the release of the Colossus, did anyone notice that the new form-factor version of the HDHomeRun (HDHR3) is available for pre-order? Must be getting close to general availability. Here's the link: http://www.amazon.com/SiliconDust-HD...7963780&sr=1-1
The problem with that is there no telling when it shipping amazon and other have a bad hait of doing per-order mouths ahead not weeks.
According Silicondust, As of today we have not released the HDHomeRun HDHR3 for pre-ordering.
They will send out and post an announcement when 30-day pre-ordering starts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2011, 02:45 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
How is this different from the Regular HDHomeRun?
__________________
Server (Headless): AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz
Mother Board: ASRock A780GMH/128M
Memory: 4gigs
OS: Ubuntu Jaunty 64bit Server - Kernel 2.6.35
Capture Devices: HD Homerun (QAM), Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500 MCE, HVR1800 & HVR 980 (collecting dust)
Clients: 2 x HD200 (beta firmware-latest), 2 Laptops & PC's running Client 7.0.16RC
NAS: Software Raid + LVM
Storage: 2 x 500gigs @ Raid1, 2 x 1TB @ Raid1, 2 x 1.5TB @ Raid1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2011, 02:59 PM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by cenwesi View Post
How is this different from the Regular HDHomeRun?
Looks like it's smaller. But, more importantly, it has an internal splitter.
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2011, 03:09 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by cenwesi View Post
How is this different from the Regular HDHomeRun?
I believe it also has different internal tuner circuitry, which is rumored to be more sensitive than the current model. There was a previous thread that had information around this, if I can find it, I'll update this post.

EDIT: Here's the earlier thread, that talked about the differences in the tuner circuitry between the revision 2 and revision 3 models: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...5&postcount=25
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls

Last edited by KeithAbbott; 02-17-2011 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Added link to earlier thread
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2011, 03:21 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
this is different from the cable card tuner they were working on, right?
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2011, 03:33 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
this is different from the cable card tuner they were working on, right?
Yes. It only does clear QAM and ATSC.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2011, 03:41 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
this is different from the cable card tuner they were working on, right?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Yes. It only does clear QAM and ATSC.
Although the Amazon page seems to be confused on that issue, calling it (incorrectly) "The HD HomeRun Dual CableCard".
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2011, 03:50 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
Yikes...i fogort about the spliter. I wish it had Quad Tunner then i would have considered getting it.
__________________
Server (Headless): AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz
Mother Board: ASRock A780GMH/128M
Memory: 4gigs
OS: Ubuntu Jaunty 64bit Server - Kernel 2.6.35
Capture Devices: HD Homerun (QAM), Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500 MCE, HVR1800 & HVR 980 (collecting dust)
Clients: 2 x HD200 (beta firmware-latest), 2 Laptops & PC's running Client 7.0.16RC
NAS: Software Raid + LVM
Storage: 2 x 500gigs @ Raid1, 2 x 1TB @ Raid1, 2 x 1.5TB @ Raid1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2011, 04:30 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
The problem with that is there no telling when it shipping amazon and other have a bad hait of doing per-order mouths ahead not weeks.
According Silicondust, As of today we have not released the HDHomeRun HDHR3 for pre-ordering.
They will send out and post an announcement when 30-day pre-ordering starts.
I'm not in marketing, advertising, or sales, but it seems strange that a company would remove the current version of their product from their website, and display the new version of their product on their website (with a "BUY NOW" link), months prior to it being available for purchase. Just saying...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-17-2011, 06:40 PM
jasonl jasonl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
HDHR3 is an updated version of the original HDHomeRun with a new smaller form factor, a single input with an internal splitter, and updated tuners and demods. HDHR3 will be shipping next month. HDHomeRun PRIME dates have not been announced yet.

Jason
Silicondust
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-17-2011, 07:15 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
thanks for the update jasonl, it is appreciated.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-17-2011, 07:23 PM
computer33 computer33 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Where can I get one in Canada?
__________________
Server: AMD Barton 2500+, WinXP, 1Gig RAM, HD Homerun

Clients: HP dm1(E350), HD-100
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-17-2011, 07:48 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonl View Post
HDHR3 is an updated version of the original HDHomeRun with a new smaller form factor, a single input with an internal splitter, and updated tuners and demods.
And is less expensive than it's predecessor (at least the retail price), to boot...

Quote:
Originally Posted by computer33 View Post
Where can I get one in Canada?
Maybe one of these places? http://www.silicondust.com/wheretobuy/ca/
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-18-2011, 09:47 AM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
Looking at the Amazon page, one thing crossed my mind. At first I thought that the person looking at the screen is looking at SageTV (the default blue GUI). I was wondering if Sage (or user) could add images to Amazon for Sage supported products to show how they integrate with SageTV. Amazon offers the feature to add related videos and pictures. That might drive interest in both the actual product as well as get the word out about Sage.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-18-2011, 10:34 AM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonl View Post
HDHR3 is an updated version of the original HDHomeRun with a new smaller form factor, a single input with an internal splitter, and updated tuners and demods. HDHR3 will be shipping next month. HDHomeRun PRIME dates have not been announced yet.

Jason
Silicondust
Unfortunately, the tuners/demods seem fairly unique to this product so its hard to estimate tuning performance by looking at a other products using the same hardware. Should we expect better tuning performance from this new version? Do you have any objective measurements? I was never able to achieve anything close to the performance of a $25 no-name USB tuner with the old version, but I'd much, much rather use an HDHR. I love the concept, and you guys have the best consumer electronics support I've ever seen, but I don't want to spend $100 on another doorstop.

Thanks,
Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-18-2011, 07:05 PM
jasonl jasonl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Broadcast reception at any particular location with a certain antenna pointed in a certain direction is pretty much the definition of subjective. Performance is better on the HDHR3, but short of actually testing it with your specific configuration I don't know of a way to predict how well it will work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-2011, 01:40 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by cenwesi View Post
Yikes...i fogort about the spliter. I wish it had Quad Tunner then i would have considered getting it.
Quad tuner would not only up the size, but more importantly, move it to needing Gigabit network connections. Better to have 2 dual's than a single quad, in my mind. The Internal splitter might be nice though, if for nothing else than cleaning up the equipment closet. I'm in the market for a new OTA tuner, since in my equipment move this week, I discovered the the 12V power plug for my router fits perfectly in the 5V receptacle on the HDHomeRun. It seems the extra electrons DON'T fit inside the HDHomeRun's circuitry though. Thankfully, I had an old DVico Fusion5 laying around that will keep me running until I source a replacement.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:23 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
According to Newegg's website, the HDHomeRun version 3 is now in stock. The link is: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815345007
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-05-2011, 09:28 AM
Mailman74 Mailman74 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
According to Newegg's website, the HDHomeRun version 3 is now in stock. The link is: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815345007
I ordered one Friday and I got my UPS tracking number after order. I even called newegg and asked them if they had them in stock and they said yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would like to get some pre-setup help s.bachman Hardware Support 2 01-21-2011 09:19 PM
Hauppauge WinTV HD PVR (H.264) screenshot and pre-order link SHS General Discussion 1083 07-18-2008 08:29 PM
a way to re-order channel order?? zeltak SageTV Software 16 06-05-2006 10:56 PM
SageTV Pre-Order Questions -- Please Help Me! Outvit General Discussion 27 01-14-2005 02:07 PM
Pre-filtering jeffoz1 Hardware Support 3 06-18-2003 07:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.