SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-10-2008, 06:42 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 250
I changed my time zone to Atlantic Standard Time (Canada) as a temp fix. STV did not change.
Then I used TZEDIT to adjust the DST change date. That did it!
BTW, Does anyone know when we go back to standard time?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-10-2008, 07:07 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Fall back first Sunday in Novemeber. Glad you got it worked out.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-10-2008, 07:12 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 250
Thanks, This is NOT how I wanted to spend my day off!
Thanks Washington!! I'll be thinking about you at election time!

Last edited by Paul H; 03-11-2008 at 05:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-10-2008, 08:41 AM
troycheek's Avatar
troycheek troycheek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 148
My system and SageTV both had the proper time when I first checked Sunday morning. In fact, that was what reminded me to set all the non-computer clocks around the house. However, a couple of my overnight recordings were of the wrong shows. They were IRs that I wasn't particularly interested in, so I just deleted them without investigating any further. I think it's possible that for a few hours there my system was at the incorrect time.

I assumed that since I'm running XP SP2 with all the automatic updates and latest SageTV and latest Java and whatever (but not actually having tracked down and installed any specific Microsoft DST-related hotfix) that I was all set up for the wacky new DST rules. (Edit: I have since read that this is not the case. I did have it working last year, but I've re-installed Windows since.) Now, I think it's possible that Windows didn't set the clock ahead all by itself, but rather SageTV did that as I seem to remember a "sync system time with SageTV server" option.

I guess the real test will come in a few weeks when the old DST comes around.

Last edited by troycheek; 03-11-2008 at 08:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:36 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by troycheek View Post
I guess the real test will come in a few weeks when the old DST comes around.
I suggest that you Download TZEDIT (see above) and check the dates that your system will use.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:08 AM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I'm just glad I live in Arizona!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-10-2008, 04:26 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,992
I went through this last October-November. I had no problems last March, and I thought I had everything up to date (Windows, Sage, Java, etc. all at the latest released versions, auto update enabled, etc.), so I didn't expect any problems. But when October rolled around, I had all kinds of problems where Sage and Windows kept getting out of sync with each other and all my recordings were screwed up during the week between the old DST end date and the new DST end date.

In my case, I determined that the problem occurred because I had upgraded my Motherboard during the summer. During the upgrade, I had to do a "repair Installation" of Windows. When I did that, apparently some Windows hotfixes got screwed up. So, even though everything said it was up-to-date, some of the registry entries related to Daylight Savings Time were wrong. Windows would not let me re-install the DST hotfix because it thought it was already installed. My temporary workaround was to edit the Windows Registry manually - this worked. The Microsoft Windows Knowledge Base Article that describes how to edit the registry to fix Daylight Savings Time Issues can be found here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/914387/en-us

Eventually, I did a complete wipe and re-install of Windows because of some other flaky behavior, and had no problems with DST this time around.

Anyway, I just thought I would share my experience in case it helps anyone else. Bottom line - if you think you have all the latest and greatest installed and are still having problems, read this Microsoft Knowledge Base article and check your registry by hand.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-10-2008, 04:29 PM
tvgooroo tvgooroo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Trouble since DST

Well...I have done a bit of searching but I am unable to solve my time issue. First, I am running Windows XP with SP3 RC2. Second, I am running Java Version 6 Update 5. Prior to the Sunday morning Daylight Savings change my system had been running and showing the proper time. Since the change, however, my pc shows the proper time but the SageTV is 1 hour ahead and is thus recording shows at the wrong time (ie. recording a "6PM" show at 5PM thus recording the wrong show). I have rebooted the pc hoping that it would solve the issue to no avail. Any help would be truly appreciated.

* merged; see above *
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-10-2008, 04:42 PM
Fastrack Fastrack is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 268
Send a message via ICQ to Fastrack
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvgooroo View Post
Well...I have done a bit of searching but I am unable to solve my time issue. First, I am running Windows XP with SP3 RC2. Second, I am running Java Version 6 Update 5. Prior to the Sunday morning Daylight Savings change my system had been running and showing the proper time. Since the change, however, my pc shows the proper time but the SageTV is 1 hour ahead and is thus recording shows at the wrong time (ie. recording a "6PM" show at 5PM thus recording the wrong show). I have rebooted the pc hoping that it would solve the issue to no avail. Any help would be truly appreciated.

* merged; see above *
If you open a command prompt Start - Run - cmd . And type "java -version" what is displayed? I wonder if somehow SageTV is running using an older java version.
__________________
Ben
Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4GHz - Win7 64bit
Antenna: Homemade Gray-Hoverman DBGH, Channel Master 7777 pre-amp, Mid-60s CM Rotor
Tuners: HDHomeRun v1, Hauppauge HVR1600
Video: BenQ W5000 1080p, ASUS ATI 6670
Storage (10TB): Seagate 2TB, Hitachi Coolspin 2TB x 4 Data Drives + 2TB x 2 Parity Drives using FlexRaid 2.0 (RAID6 T2+)
SageTV: 7.1.9 Final ?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-10-2008, 04:45 PM
tvgooroo tvgooroo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
well, like a tard i assumed that the dst fix was wrapped into all the service pack patches....I was wrong. I ran the DST patch from Microsoft and all is well. thanks a ton. PS my java version is 1.6.0_05
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:43 PM
jrobins jrobins is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
I had this same problem and it drove me nuts. I had the Hotfix installed, but the dates were not correct. So here goes...

Here is the FIX:

1. Go to the following MS web page and scroll down to find the start and end DST dates for your Time Zone
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/942763

2. Download the MS TZEDIT.EXE application to manually set the start and end DST dates of your time zone.
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...52f/tzedit.exe

3. Rename the TZEDIT.EXE file or expand it into a new folder. The compressed TZEDIT.EXE also contains TZEDIT.EXE so it will error out if you don't rename or expand into a new directory.

4. Run TZEDIT.EXE and find your timezone name in the list, and change your start and end dates that you found in #2 (Start=2nd Sunday in March, End=1st Sunday in November -- this was for Eastern Time Zone).

5. Most importantly ##### Go into Date and Time Properties and set your time zone to some other time zone and hit apply. Then set it back to the one you want it to be.

6. Make sure Automatically Adjust Clock for Daylight Saving Changes is checked.

7. Go to Internet Time tab and check Automatically synchronize... if it is not already checked.

8. Choose Server -- ie: time.windows.com and hit the Update Now button

All should be back in working order.

Hope this works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:40 AM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,118
I had to also use TZedit on the company laptop. The hotfix isn't compatible w/ SP1 Thanks loads Microsoft. Oh, before anyone says upgrade to SP2... it "breaks" some important software.
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-7164 (OTA); HVR-885 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-11-2008, 08:01 PM
mrwolf mrwolf is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by SprDtyF350 View Post
I had one of my 4 Client computers doing this today.. Turned out that even though the computer clock was right, the server clock was right, only Sage on this client was wrong, the computer needed the DST patch. Fixed..
Same here...biggest problem was I was out of town for a couple days so I kind of forgot about DST. Freaky because the OS on the server and clients were all set to the correct time and one client was just showing the wrong time in SageTV. Had it really fudged up...couldn't change channels and all sorts of whackiness. Installed the DST patch on that one client and all is well.

Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:51 PM
wjrandon wjrandon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Question Time Change Affecting Programing Guide

Hey guys, my experience with the DST change has been very similar, first WindowsXP updated the clock as usual, but SageTV somehow jumped an extra hour ahead. I corrected that by disabling the WindowsXP auto time adjustment and rebooting. Now I noticed that our shows aren't being recorded in their proper time slots. So I checked the programing guild within SageTV and sure enough everything was just back an extra hour. The 11pm newscast where all in the 10pm time slot.

I'm not sure how Sage receives it's programming data but I think that database needs to be corrected as well.

If anyone is wondering I'm using Comcast Extended Basic Cable service in the 30066 area code.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:58 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjrandon View Post
I'm not sure how Sage receives it's programming data but I think that database needs to be corrected as well.
Actually, I believe you need to double check all your DST patches for both Windows and Java. I have no time issue on my PC or with my EPG, which is synced to the SageTV EPG server's time, so the problem seems to be on your PC.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-12-2008, 09:08 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjrandon View Post
Hey guys, my experience with the DST change has been very similar, first WindowsXP updated the clock as usual, but SageTV somehow jumped an extra hour ahead. I corrected that by disabling the WindowsXP auto time adjustment and rebooting. Now I noticed that our shows aren't being recorded in their proper time slots. So I checked the programing guild within SageTV and sure enough everything was just back an extra hour. The 11pm newscast where all in the 10pm time slot.

I'm not sure how Sage receives it's programming data but I think that database needs to be corrected as well.

If anyone is wondering I'm using Comcast Extended Basic Cable service in the 30066 area code.
You probably should not have disabled the time adjustment and given it some time. I would enable it again because being an hour behind would be the exact symptom I would expect with that disabled.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-13-2008, 09:34 PM
jklenk jklenk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Angry

I don't think words can describe the extreme anger I feel toward the SageTV developers.

I rely on SageTV for ONE thing: to record ONE show a week.

Yet every time we have the DST switch, Sage changes my recording schedule by 1 hour, killing my recording for that week.

I already have all of the Windows and Java patches, and Windows is set to handle DST correctly.

How in the hell can this still be going on after years, and why don't the SageTV team AT LEAST EMAIL ALL OF THEIR CUSTOMERS TO TELL THEM TO VERIFY THEIR RECORDINGS AFTER THE DST CHANGE??!! I'm sorry that I do not revolve my life around SageTV, and I extremely stupidly expect it to just work for one recording a week.

Thank you so much, you wonderful SageTV developers.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-13-2008, 09:40 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
It doesn't cause problems for most Sage users. I certainly don't think it is reasonable to expect the developers to e-mail us to check something that works form the vast majority of their customers. Do you expect Microsoft to send a similar e-mail to all Windows users?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-13-2008, 09:51 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by jklenk View Post
I already have all of the Windows and Java patches, and Windows is set to handle DST correctly.
If you had a time problem from this DST change, then no, you don't have all the patches properly applied. Or you have multiple versions of Java installed & should remove the old ones.

As I've posted above: double check your Windows DST patches & settings and make sure Java is updated. SageTV does not set the time itself on your PC -- it relies on Java and Windows to control the time.

And, the SageTV EPG server's time is correct or else my PC's time would be off. The only way SageTV could have the wrong time on a fully patched system would be if it were set to sync its time w/the EPG server & that server had the wrong time... and that server's time is correct.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-13-2008, 11:00 PM
jklenk jklenk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
It doesn't cause problems for most Sage users. I certainly don't think it is reasonable to expect the developers to e-mail us to check something that works form the vast majority of their customers. Do you expect Microsoft to send a similar e-mail to all Windows users?

Of course I would expect Microsoft to contact customers if their data was about to be deleted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm having some time issues....not DST related setherd SageTV Software 16 11-19-2007 02:47 PM
Intermittent channel change problem appelm SageTV Software 4 11-17-2007 08:23 AM
Daylight Saving Time change (2007) jlabrue SageTV Software 168 10-31-2007 07:31 PM
TVTV service one hour off (daylight saving time?) koelec SageTV Beta Test Software 50 04-14-2006 02:20 PM
Daylight Savings Time Karen0302 SageTV Software 9 04-04-2006 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.