SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-13-2008, 11:35 PM
spooky760 spooky760 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobins View Post
I had this same problem and it drove me nuts. I had the Hotfix installed, but the dates were not correct. So here goes...

Here is the FIX:
.....

jrobins, I just wanted to say your fix worked like a charm and I registered just to say thank you to you and everyone else who helped. Much obliged.

Spook
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-14-2008, 03:24 PM
Mary H Mary H is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by spooky760 View Post
.....

jrobins, I just wanted to say your fix worked like a charm and I registered just to say thank you to you and everyone else who helped. Much obliged.

Spook
I followed jrobins' fix instructions religiously, and it didn't work for me. My Windows time is still behind by an hour, and the SageTV time is behind by 2 hours! I agree with jdlenk that this situation is absolutely ridiculous. I allow my Windows XP installation, and Java, to update whenever they need to. After being a paying Sage customer for years, I shouldn't have to jump through all these hoops just to get my Sage installation functioning properly after a countrywide time change!

How does one go about updating the Java version? I searched all over the Sun website and couldn't figure out what I needed to download. Please help!

Last edited by Mary H; 03-14-2008 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:06 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Go to http://www.java.com/en/. Select the do I have Java link. It will check if you have the most current version or not.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:46 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary H View Post
I followed jrobins' fix instructions religiously, and it didn't work for me. My Windows time is still behind by an hour, and the SageTV time is behind by 2 hours! I agree with jdlenk that this situation is absolutely ridiculous. I allow my Windows XP installation, and Java, to update whenever they need to. After being a paying Sage customer for years, I shouldn't have to jump through all these hoops just to get my Sage installation functioning properly after a countrywide time change!

How does one go about updating the Java version? I searched all over the Sun website and couldn't figure out what I needed to download. Please help!
If your Windows time is wrong, then you first need to focus on getting Windows working correctly. If you say what version of Windows you have, maybe someone will know what else to check.

Edit: BTW, when DST was supposed to change, did you manually change the time in Windows, or let Windows try to handle it?

Once Windows has the correct time, if the time is still wrong in SageTV, check your Java installation. Look in Add/Remove Programs to see if you have multiple versions of Java installed. Remove all the old ones and install the latest , which I believe is version 1.6 update 5.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:33 PM
Mary H Mary H is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlgar View Post
Go to http://www.java.com/en/. Select the do I have Java link. It will check if you have the most current version or not.
Thank you! That solved the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
If your Windows time is wrong, then you first need to focus on getting Windows working correctly. If you say what version of Windows you have, maybe someone will know what else to check.
Right after the time change, my Windows time was correct, Sage was wrong. It wasn't until I tried some of the patches and fixes in this thread that it turned up wrong also. Each time I would get it fixed, Sage would set it back to an incorrect time that was even different from its own incorrect time!

I still maintain that nobody should have to struggle through all these patches/fixes/adjustments searching for one that works. I had never stopped my system from updating either Windows or Java, and if so many of us had problems, then perhaps Sage could have sent out a simple email alert, with one-time instructions or even a patch file.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:56 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by jklenk View Post
Of course I would expect Microsoft to contact customers if their data was about to be deleted.
What data is being deleted. This is an absolute non-sequitor.

With that said, Microsoft wouldn't send out a notice either and you know it.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:43 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary H View Post
Thank you! That solved the problem.



Right after the time change, my Windows time was correct, Sage was wrong. It wasn't until I tried some of the patches and fixes in this thread that it turned up wrong also. Each time I would get it fixed, Sage would set it back to an incorrect time that was even different from its own incorrect time!

I still maintain that nobody should have to struggle through all these patches/fixes/adjustments searching for one that works. I had never stopped my system from updating either Windows or Java, and if so many of us had problems, then perhaps Sage could have sent out a simple email alert, with one-time instructions or even a patch file.
You would have to struggle with this with or without SageTV. It's just that the Sage program makes the problem so obvious. It's not a Sage issue no matter how you slice it for DST. This problem doesn't exist in Vista or Windows server 2003. Java updates don't uninstall the previous version so you could still have the issue.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:50 AM
Mary H Mary H is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
You would have to struggle with this with or without SageTV. It's just that the Sage program makes the problem so obvious. It's not a Sage issue no matter how you slice it for DST. This problem doesn't exist in Vista or Windows server 2003. Java updates don't uninstall the previous version so you could still have the issue.

Gerry
The only one of my 4 networked computers that had a problem with the time change was the one with Sage installed. There were no struggles with the other three. (All 4 have XP Pro on them, btw...) Sage is the only application I own that uses Java. Therefore, it is a Sage issue as far as I'm concerned, and Sage should own up to some accountability for it. I didn't force them to use Java.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:40 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mary,

Let us know when/how you fixed your problem.

Thx,

P
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:59 AM
Mary H Mary H is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
Mary,

Let us know when/how you fixed your problem.

Thx,

P
It was Carlgar's information on how to update Java that did the trick for me: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...2&postcount=43
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:24 PM
bjterry62's Avatar
bjterry62 bjterry62 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 99
Just to let you know that this stuff happens to other things. I have one of those atomic World Time watches that updates daily from the Atomic Clock in Colorado and it has been goofed up since DST Sunday. I live in EST zone and it actually had the correct time on it when I woke up that Sunday morning, in other words, it adjusted for DST. However, the following week, when I traveled to a destination in CST, it was 1hr off!! It's okay in Mountain time and PST, just not CST. No one can explain why.

Wierd

BT

BTW, Sage worked fine for me this year!!
__________________
Main HTPC: Antec NSK2400, Biostar TA790GX-XE, Athlon X2 7750, OCZ Raptor DDR2 800 2gb x2, WD Black 2.5", WD Green 1tb, Asus BD DVD, XFX 8500GT, Avermedia A180, HDHR, Win 7 64, SageTV v7.

Client 1: Custom Wood Case, Asus E35M1-M Pro, Kingston HyperX 2gb 1333, WD Black 2.5", Samsung SM DVD, Win 7 64, SageTV Client v7.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-05-2008, 08:30 PM
phersotty phersotty is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
I still think don't think it has anything to do with Windows

I downloaded the demo of SageTv to see how it works with my HD tuner card.
After it was setup I ran into the same 1 hr time issue everyone here having trouble with. I do not think it has anything to do with Windows or even SageTv. I think it has to do with the Electronic Program Lineup. I can recreate this issue every time without fail by going to Setup>Setup Video Sources>Add New Source> and when I get to "Use U.S., Canada, or XMLTV With This Source" to download the program information the time in SageTV and the System Time in the Windows task bar both change back an hour.

I can do this over and over again removing the source and adding it again in SageTV. Every time I download the program guide it changes the time on the System Clock and in SageTV. So where ever that program guide comes from is where the time is set wrong. If there is an error in SageTV it is the fact that it allows the program guide XML, or whatever it is, to change the time in the software as well as the System Clock.

This is really not good if you have other scheduled tasks on your computer which will be out of sync because SageTV has access to the system clock. Until this issue is resolved I don't think I will continue to use this software on my system since I do have other scheduled tasks that take priority over the EPG in Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-05-2008, 08:38 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Go to setup->help->system information and see what Jave Version you are using. If is is not 1.6.0_05 then goto http://www.java.com/en/ and click on do I have java to get the current version.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:23 AM
ColumbusGEEK's Avatar
ColumbusGEEK ColumbusGEEK is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
this was a nice easy fix. thanks for the info guys.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-15-2008, 09:52 PM
jklenk jklenk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
I have Java 1.6.0_07-b06 and the problem STILL happened when DST ended earlier this month. My Windows clock is set correctly, yet all of my scheduled recordings were off by an hour.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-16-2008, 06:31 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
But did your Windows OS have all the DST patches and updates installed? The SP's don't take care of all of them.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11-16-2008, 11:28 AM
jklenk jklenk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Yes, I have the KB942763 patch (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/942763).

And Windows itself has no problem settings its own clock automatically; it is just Sage that inexplicably changes its program schedule to have recordings be set for 1 hour off.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:10 PM
hansemann hansemann is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjaffray View Post
Windows was definitely acting funny as I know it had the right time for part of Sunday but now it has the wrong time.
Well, same thing here on my System.
All fine until the point of time changing (2:00 in the morning at Sunday, 26. of October - i live in Austria). From then until midnight, time on Sage was 1 hour behind. From Monday, 27th, 0:00 on everything was fine again.
Anybody seen this too?
Greets
Hansemann
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm having some time issues....not DST related setherd SageTV Software 16 11-19-2007 02:47 PM
Intermittent channel change problem appelm SageTV Software 4 11-17-2007 08:23 AM
Daylight Saving Time change (2007) jlabrue SageTV Software 168 10-31-2007 07:31 PM
TVTV service one hour off (daylight saving time?) koelec SageTV Beta Test Software 50 04-14-2006 02:20 PM
Daylight Savings Time Karen0302 SageTV Software 9 04-04-2006 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.