SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2015, 09:25 AM
LWM4P LWM4P is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 62
Open Source Sage and (XBMC or Plex)?

I am so excited that Sage will be open source. I have been dreading the day that the HD300s die and I must move to something else. Maybe this something else will be a fully integrated combination of products?

We know that Sage has not advanced lately and maybe that just needs to be accepted. Is there any reason for the future to be some fully integrated version of XBMC and Sage? Use the XBMC front end and truly pull in all the sage functionality as well (not just the plugin style that is out there now).

???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2015, 10:07 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I'd honestly think the sagetv front end is in many ways more versatile than XBMC's.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2015, 10:27 AM
LWM4P LWM4P is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I'd honestly think the sagetv front end is in many ways more versatile than XBMC's.
Hmm.. well you (and others on here) would know much better. But in terms of getting out a new version and creating a larger development base, does it makes sense to couple with XBMC or maybe a fork of it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2015, 10:31 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I don't think so.. I mean, you can already point XBMC at your recording folders - if all you want is to find something and play it, it's already an option. The SageTV UI is far more than that though.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2015, 10:33 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
While I agree the SageTV UI is highly customizable, Kodi is as well and in some ways more due to the heavy third party stuff in Kodi. SageTV and Kodi both have their places and uses and unfortunately for me one does not fully replace the other in terms of function.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2015, 10:37 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I was simply talking about the flexibility. The ability to run just about any code within the UI elements in sage is pretty significant. Last I knew, all you could really do in XBMC was alter the menu structure, and skin a new 'look' to the menu structure.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2015, 11:03 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by LWM4P View Post
Hmm.. well you (and others on here) would know much better. But in terms of getting out a new version and creating a larger development base, does it makes sense to couple with XBMC or maybe a fork of it?
If you Kodi as a front end for Sage, "all you have to do" is create a PVR plugin for Kodi that utilizes the SageTV API (or maybe one of the SageTV Remote API plugins). You don't need to fork Kodi, and you don't need anything from Sage that hasn't been available for years.

Now if you want to fix Kodi's PVR functionality to not suck, well that's a different issue all together.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2015, 12:53 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I was simply talking about the flexibility. The ability to run just about any code within the UI elements in sage is pretty significant. Last I knew, all you could really do in XBMC was alter the menu structure, and skin a new 'look' to the menu structure.
You can run custom code from Kodi Actually with third party addons such as advanced launcher. I run quite a bit of custom code through Kodi with this method also have some that runs at lunch and on schedules.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2015, 04:10 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I don't think so.. I mean, you can already point XBMC at your recording folders - if all you want is to find something and play it, it's already an option. The SageTV UI is far more than that though.
From firsthand experience, I can assure you that isn't even close to being the case*. If you do that, the majority (or most likely all) of your content will fail to be scraped by Kodi because it requires separate folders for every TV show and every movie. That's the whole reason bradvido88 created this tool. Once I set that up to run nightly on all my Sage recordings, THEN I was able to have them accessible by both Sage and Kodi.

* I suppose that, technically, you could do that by browsing the file structure of your recording drives and choosing what to play by filename. But, I sure wouldn't bother setting up Kodi if that's how I was going to browse my media.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2015, 01:27 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
From firsthand experience, I can assure you that isn't even close to being the case*. If you do that, the majority (or most likely all) of your content will fail to be scraped by Kodi because it requires separate folders for every TV show and every movie. That's the whole reason bradvido88 created this tool. Once I set that up to run nightly on all my Sage recordings, THEN I was able to have them accessible by both Sage and Kodi.

* I suppose that, technically, you could do that by browsing the file structure of your recording drives and choosing what to play by filename. But, I sure wouldn't bother setting up Kodi if that's how I was going to browse my media.
I have a very experimental proof of concept program in my profile that creates a virtual folder structure of my tv show recordings, and kodi can be pointed at that. Never really used it though, as I prefer Plex for this type of work, and the existing plugin works very well for it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-01-2015, 08:00 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
While I agree the SageTV UI is highly customizable, Kodi is as well and in some ways more due to the heavy third party stuff in Kodi. SageTV and Kodi both have their places and uses and unfortunately for me one does not fully replace the other in terms of function.
I've looked at XBMC/Kodi multiple times over the years and while you can customize the menus, you can't do what I've got with sage and the Ortus main menu (I wonder if I'm the only one that still uses Ortus).

Not only that, nobody has created anything close to what you were able to accomplish with SageMyMovies. Still use it every day, but with MM5 they don't allow access to the database like they did when you started that project.

I have custom menus that will change the input on my receiver to my PS3, Roku, PC, launch my emulator software, etc. I don't know how easy it would be to do that within Kodi, and I'd personally rather not have to learn a totally new system (WAF and such). Two kids under 2 has stolen what little free time I used to have to dedicate to this stuff.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-01-2015, 08:43 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Not only that, nobody has created anything close to what you were able to accomplish with SageMyMovies. Still use it every day, but with MM5 they don't allow access to the database like they did when you started that project.
Out of curiosity, what can't Kodi do?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-01-2015, 08:49 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
You need to try KODI with Amber skin... and Plex Plugin.+Raspberry PI
Attached Images
File Type: jpg kodi.jpg (194.7 KB, 518 views)
File Type: jpg kodi2.jpg (174.1 KB, 436 views)

Last edited by nyplayer; 05-01-2015 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-01-2015, 08:53 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Not only that, nobody has created anything close to what you were able to accomplish with SageMyMovies. Still use it every day, but with MM5 they don't allow access to the database like they did when you started that project. I saw they killed the db access in 5 that;s a shame honestly. Maybe with sage going OS it will get only better on mymovies can be put to the pasture for you

.
Glad you still use it I remember the time that project took . But Kodi can do all that custom launching and stuff just takes tinkering like Sage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Out of curiosity, what can't Kodi do?
He is probably referring to the collection management itself it's not for everyone but people who use it love it. It's more disc based vs video based.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-02-2015, 09:39 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Out of curiosity, what can't Kodi do?
The views that are built into the SMM plugin are unique to it (for the most part).

If I played around with Kodi enough I could get it to do what I want, but I've got that now with sage (with a few exceptions relating to video playback), but I feel that sage could be much better than Kodi depending on how things go.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-03-2015, 03:51 AM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Does SageTV support richer metadata features, like fetching artwork and the number of series from Schedules Direct, TVDB and TMDB? Kodi doesn't allow any of these features, which is a major let down.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-03-2015, 09:28 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I think you're a little confused about this. Sage absolutely does support fanart and series information, but some of it requires plugins such as BMT to download the information and a UI modification such as Gemstone to make full use (i.e. display) of the additional info. With Kodi, it's very similar in all aspects, so I can assure you that it also does all of this.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-04-2015, 12:29 AM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I think you're a little confused about this. Sage absolutely does support fanart and series information, but some of it requires plugins such as BMT to download the information and a UI modification such as Gemstone to make full use (i.e. display) of the additional info. With Kodi, it's very similar in all aspects, so I can assure you that it also does all of this.
I am talking about Live TV metadata. Kodi doesn't support any metadata or artwork with Live TV.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-06-2015, 12:56 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I think you're a little confused about this. Sage absolutely does support fanart and series information, but some of it requires plugins such as BMT to download the information and a UI modification such as Gemstone to make full use (i.e. display) of the additional info. With Kodi, it's very similar in all aspects, so I can assure you that it also does all of this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damstas View Post
I am talking about Live TV metadata. Kodi doesn't support any metadata or artwork with Live TV.
Short answer-yes.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-06-2015, 01:32 PM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Short answer-yes.

Gerry
I would like to see how you enable Live TV Artwork with Kodi PVR plugin.
In my knowledge there is no way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Source Project tmiranda SageTV Github Development 211 08-27-2015 09:46 AM
Welcome to the new Open Source subforum Opus4 SageTV Github Development 0 03-16-2015 04:01 PM
BBC Iplayer goes open source Oddity SageTV United Kingdom 0 03-30-2013 02:30 AM
What about an Open Source frontend for Sage on top of XBMC? wayner General Discussion 6 06-24-2011 07:26 AM
Open Source Movie mikejaner The SageTV Community 1 10-14-2008 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.