SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:14 PM
ecojam ecojam is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 13
Java errors - Address already in use

This post probably belongs in the Ubuntu forum (Ubuntu 9.04 64bit), but think I should start here first since I'm new to SageTV and to also eliminate my SageTV as the source of my trouble. How do I find what is using the socket and subsequently change it or possibly remove it?

Thu 7/9 23:39:22.404 Error (will retry) in MediaServer:java.net.BindException: Address already in use
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.405 java.net.BindException: Address already in use
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.405 at sun.nio.ch.Net.bind(Native Method)
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.405 at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketChannelImpl.bind(ServerSocketChannelImpl.java:119)
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.405 at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketAdaptor.bind(ServerSocketAdaptor.java:59)
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.406 at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketAdaptor.bind(ServerSocketAdaptor.java:52)
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.406 at sage.MediaServer.run(Unknown Source)
Thu 7/9 23:39:22.406 at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)
Thu 7/9 23:39:23.529 Error creating server socket:java.net.BindException: Address already in use
Thu 7/9 23:39:23.533 Error creating discovery socket:java.net.BindException: Address already in use
Thu 7/9 23:39:23.536 Error creating discovery socket:java.net.BindException: Address already in use
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:12 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
I don't know how to tell which program is holding a soket open, but I would check to see if sagetv is already started, before starting it again.

Since you did mention that you are in Ubuntu, you can check if sagetv is running by using the following command...
Code:
# ps aux | grep sage
and you can then kill the process using,
Code:
# sudo kill -9 PID
(where PID is the sagetv PID from the first command)
You can also try,
Code:
# sudo /etc/init.d/sagetv stop
But i've has a few cases where sage could not shut itself down, and I've had to use the "kill" command on it. In most cases, I try the sagetv stop command, then check to see if there process is still running, and then I restart.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2009, 05:23 PM
ecojam ecojam is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 13
Thank you Stuckless. Somehow I had setup SageTV to launch twice in my OS. Things are good now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tons of JAVA errors craigdthom SageTV Placeshifter 7 12-10-2008 12:25 PM
Java errors Hardy 8.04 install marcusjohn SageTV Linux 4 11-01-2008 02:42 PM
Java errors BBCritical SageTV Software 3 03-28-2007 12:01 PM
Java Errors (I think) Risasi SageTV Linux 6 08-11-2006 11:46 AM
Java errors for client xyxrt SageTV Software 1 03-06-2006 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.