SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 11-07-2012, 04:59 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
I just noticed you didn't say which Windows 7 64bit (Home, Pro, or Premium) you used, or do you have it set to "select"?

I'm using Pro for all my stuff, as I want remote desktop, and the "Local Group Policy Editor" which home doesn't have.
No real workaround for poledit, but you CAN get RDP working in win7 home premium. I use it constantly. Lots of info over on the green button on the patch to get it enabled.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-07-2012, 05:44 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
I just noticed you didn't say which Windows 7 64bit (Home, Pro, or Premium) you used, or do you have it set to "select"?

I'm using Pro for all my stuff, as I want remote desktop, and the "Local Group Policy Editor" which home doesn't have.
Ultimate is what I use. I use that for everything.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:03 PM
ckewinjones ckewinjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 68
Basic How-To Wanted

Can anybody give a quick sketch how to use True Image to get this image onto the A3700? I'm pretty tech-savvy (SW engineer for almost 30 years), but I have never used True Image before.

My A3700 came with a 64GB SSD. Any advice on how to write the Win7 image onto the SSD?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:51 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckewinjones View Post
Can anybody give a quick sketch how to use True Image to get this image onto the A3700? I'm pretty tech-savvy (SW engineer for almost 30 years), but I have never used True Image before.

My A3700 came with a 64GB SSD. Any advice on how to write the Win7 image onto the SSD?
All you need to do is get a true image recovery cd like I have and write the image to the drive of your choosing. For an SSD you need to make sure TRIM is enabled (which it should be, I tested that before I made the image) and you are good to go. If I have to make an ISO of my acronis CD I'll do it, but I'm fairly certain that Andy will delete that image as soon as I post it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:54 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
All you need to do is get a true image recovery cd like I have and write the image to the drive of your choosing. For an SSD you need to make sure TRIM is enabled (which it should be, I tested that before I made the image) and you are good to go. If I have to make an ISO of my acronis CD I'll do it, but I'm fairly certain that Andy will delete that image as soon as I post it.
Pretty sure you can download the recovery cd for free from acronis..
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-07-2012, 09:12 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
EDIT 2: I've attached the generic image torrent as well. This one has been generalized so it's not tied to one specific machine type. You can use this image on any computer without issue. All you need to do is install drivers for your particular hardware. Sage and everything else in the a3700 image is present so no matter what GPU you have (amd, intel, nvidia) there should be an installed decoder that should work.
Are you sure you have the generic image/torrent setup right? I'm not seeing any data on this one. (the a3700 image worked fine, and I'm hosting it just fine)


BTW, do you think the a3700 image would boot (not blue screen) on a Zotac AD12? "Base" hardware wise they should be close to the same. (AMD graphics and chipset)
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-08-2012, 08:31 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Are you sure you have the generic image/torrent setup right? I'm not seeing any data on this one. (the a3700 image worked fine, and I'm hosting it just fine)


BTW, do you think the a3700 image would boot (not blue screen) on a Zotac AD12? "Base" hardware wise they should be close to the same. (AMD graphics and chipset)
I did it the same way as the first one. Not sure why it wouldn't work. I'm sure it would work, but I'd run sysprep/generalize to remove the drivers and machine ID. That's pretty much all you have to do to get the generic image I made.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11-08-2012, 08:33 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Pretty sure you can download the recovery cd for free from acronis..
That would be handy.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:03 AM
cupp cupp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
I have a question for panteragstk. I downloaded your image and everything worked out good. I noticed that the version of windows 7 was ultimate and I have 3 licenses for home premium. After realizing I can't downgrade I decided to install everything from scratch and use the same install files and configs.

I ran into a small problem. I can not get the broadcom card to work in hd netflix. I up the merit level to the top. I also used Win7DSFilterTweaker to choose broadcom or merit. It doesn't seem to be working. In Win7DSFilterTweaker it only shows broadcom in 32bit and not 64 bit. What does codec is netflix using?
__________________
Amd 780g/athlonII x4 635/3 x 1 tb sata/4 gb ddr2 800/win7 32/sage 9/3xmvp/2xclient/2xhd200/
4xhd300/2xhvr2250/2xhdhrprime
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:29 AM
18Scoobz 18Scoobz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 71
You can downgrade by changing registry keys

Do a search for downgrading windows7 ultimate and there are many examples. It is basically tricking the computer into upgrading the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:35 AM
cupp cupp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
I did some researching but wasn't able to downgrade from ultimate sp1 to home premium sp0. I have the 3pk home premium upgrade license. I tried every trick out there.
__________________
Amd 780g/athlonII x4 635/3 x 1 tb sata/4 gb ddr2 800/win7 32/sage 9/3xmvp/2xclient/2xhd200/
4xhd300/2xhvr2250/2xhdhrprime
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-14-2012, 11:53 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Silverlight only supports HW acceleration for h.264 streams. Lots of netflix HD streams are VC-1. Unfortunately it is a common problem. I had to limit mine to under 2.2mb to get it to work without issues.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:06 PM
cupp cupp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
Just curious why when I use Win7DSFilterTweaker it only shows broadcom in 32bit and not 64 bit. Is the broadcom only using 32bit codec.

What codec does hulu use?

Thanks
__________________
Amd 780g/athlonII x4 635/3 x 1 tb sata/4 gb ddr2 800/win7 32/sage 9/3xmvp/2xclient/2xhd200/
4xhd300/2xhvr2250/2xhdhrprime
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:23 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by cupp View Post
Just curious why when I use Win7DSFilterTweaker it only shows broadcom in 32bit and not 64 bit. Is the broadcom only using 32bit codec.

What codec does hulu use?

Thanks
Hulu is flash based. The broadcom chip supports flash acceleration if you use 10.3. Anything higher doesn't work very well. The filter is 32bit, but netflix (silverlight) doesn't care about dshow filters (AFAIK), it all depends on what the driver supports.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:33 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
I don't have an A3700 but downloading this image anyway, just in case my HD300 dies and I need a replacement client. Thanks for sharing this, I will help seed for as long as possible.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 11-14-2012, 04:24 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
I don't have an A3700 but downloading this image anyway, just in case my HD300 dies and I need a replacement client. Thanks for sharing this, I will help seed for as long as possible.
I put a generalized image too. That one will work on any pc. Driver installation is up to you.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 11-14-2012, 05:22 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by cupp View Post
I did some researching but wasn't able to downgrade from ultimate sp1 to home premium sp0. I have the 3pk home premium upgrade license. I tried every trick out there.
I think you need to be on the same SP to do any of the "downgrades".
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 11-15-2012, 10:59 AM
18Scoobz 18Scoobz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 71
Downloading

Been trying to download the images but the general is at 0% and the a3700 is at .02%. I am able to get any other download but this one seems like it just stopped. Are people still seeding. Did something change?
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 11-15-2012, 11:15 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Scoobz View Post
Been trying to download the images but the general is at 0% and the a3700 is at .02%. I am able to get any other download but this one seems like it just stopped. Are people still seeding. Did something change?
As far as I know, I'm still feeding both. I'll double check tonight.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 11-15-2012, 12:01 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
I'm still seeding but I don't think I have had any upload traffic for this in a few days...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MyMovies Image folders DO NOT MATCH SMM Extender Image Folders? emotionnotion Sage My Movies 8 08-27-2010 11:35 AM
Recordings preview image showing the same (wrong) image dinki SageTV v7 Customizations 4 07-12-2010 04:35 PM
Just ordered Foxconn NetBox-nT510 (Atom D510 dual-core) on impulse gtd885a Hardware Support 9 07-08-2010 08:27 AM
Windows XP MCE 2005 and Simple File Sharing to Windows XP problem perfessor101 SageTV Software 1 01-14-2007 10:52 AM
Passing image name from action to image widget jbuszkie SageTV Studio 5 12-09-2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.