SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #321  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:27 AM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
Thanks for the clarifications. I've figures out most of it. One thing left and I'll start a different thread in the Phoenix forum foe that.
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:59 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
First of all, congrats to Team Phoenix on finally getting to this point. It's been a long time coming (2008, if I saw correctly elsewhere?).

I do have a question and I apologize that it might be something obvious - I'm at work and haven't had a chance to load Phoenix up at home. But I thought I'd ask beforehand...

Throughout the "build up" and this thread, there were mentions about the ability to do customizable menus. It was said that they would be possible but would require XML work, then it was later said that some would be included, then there are mentions in the stickies (in the subforum) that there is some customizing ability already included. I'm curious where that stands.

Also, I am one who, by virtue of how my file system is arranged on my server, would like to have customizable views "by folder". Within your views/filters system, is this possible? For example, I would like to have a menu item on the main menu called "Home Videos", which would take me to a folder structure on a separate hard drive. Within that drive I have folders organized by month, and the files named by date. With nielm's old DCM, I could set up the menu item to point to that top directory, and I would see each subfolder (labeled by month). Can Phoenix do this, or do I need to use metadata, tag all those files somehow, etc.? I don't want one big massive list of all the home videos, I would like to see them in their folders. Is that possible?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:05 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
First of all, congrats to Team Phoenix on finally getting to this point. It's been a long time coming (2008, if I saw correctly elsewhere?).

I do have a question and I apologize that it might be something obvious - I'm at work and haven't had a chance to load Phoenix up at home. But I thought I'd ask beforehand...

Throughout the "build up" and this thread, there were mentions about the ability to do customizable menus. It was said that they would be possible but would require XML work, then it was later said that some would be included, then there are mentions in the stickies (in the subforum) that there is some customizing ability already included. I'm curious where that stands.

Also, I am one who, by virtue of how my file system is arranged on my server, would like to have customizable views "by folder". Within your views/filters system, is this possible? For example, I would like to have a menu item on the main menu called "Home Videos", which would take me to a folder structure on a separate hard drive. Within that drive I have folders organized by month, and the files named by date. With nielm's old DCM, I could set up the menu item to point to that top directory, and I would see each subfolder (labeled by month). Can Phoenix do this, or do I need to use metadata, tag all those files somehow, etc.? I don't want one big massive list of all the home videos, I would like to see them in their folders. Is that possible?
I certainly don't want to speak for team Phoenix. At the same time, I can say yes you can do exactly what you want. It will take a small amount of effort on your part since creating custom VFS (views) is still a manual process. I have created views like you're requesting and would be willing to share, some are in the Phoenix thread too. Regardless, you'll still want to spend some time familiarizing yourself to vfs. It's not hard, it's just getting used to it. I can certainly help as much as I can. I'm sure the devs will be available to help with custom views too.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:35 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
One of the cool things about the VFS in phoenix (for me) is that it really free's you to not have to manage to closely how your media is stored, or care much about where it comes from.

In the movie views, for instance, you see all the movies that BMT thinks are movies - doesn't matter if they are recorded from TV or ripped from DVD/BD or online (once we support online). Same thing for TV shows.

But yes, you can point a view at a particular spot in a well defined folder structure and you'll see that reflected in the Media Browser.
btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:54 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
First of all, congrats to Team Phoenix on finally getting to this point. It's been a long time coming (2008, if I saw correctly elsewhere?).

I do have a question and I apologize that it might be something obvious - I'm at work and haven't had a chance to load Phoenix up at home. But I thought I'd ask beforehand...

Throughout the "build up" and this thread, there were mentions about the ability to do customizable menus. It was said that they would be possible but would require XML work, then it was later said that some would be included, then there are mentions in the stickies (in the subforum) that there is some customizing ability already included. I'm curious where that stands.

Also, I am one who, by virtue of how my file system is arranged on my server, would like to have customizable views "by folder". Within your views/filters system, is this possible? For example, I would like to have a menu item on the main menu called "Home Videos", which would take me to a folder structure on a separate hard drive. Within that drive I have folders organized by month, and the files named by date. With nielm's old DCM, I could set up the menu item to point to that top directory, and I would see each subfolder (labeled by month). Can Phoenix do this, or do I need to use metadata, tag all those files somehow, etc.? I don't want one big massive list of all the home videos, I would like to see them in their folders. Is that possible?

pj - if you need some help setting these views up or understanding how they work, please feel free to pm me or wrems...wrems and I went back and forth for several posts on how to get this just right and fully understand what VFS is capable of...its pretty awesome lemme tell ya. With wrems help i was able to setup several Baby categories Baby DVDs Kids TV and Kids Movies. then i was able to add them via menu fragements directly to the Phoneix UI. its pretty dang sweet lemme tell ya.

thanks again Wrems.
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 06-21-2011, 10:28 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
I'm uploading a VFS crash course video to BMT's youtube channel now. It should be available later today. While I'm no expert here I thought it might be helpful to give some exposure to VFS and some simple things to get started with.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 06-21-2011, 10:47 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
I'm uploading a VFS crash course video to BMT's youtube channel now. It should be available later today. While I'm no expert here I thought it might be helpful to give some exposure to VFS and some simple things to get started with.
And where is BMT youtube channel?
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 06-21-2011, 10:53 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
And where is BMT youtube channel?
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55849
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:02 AM
iolaus iolaus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 83
An enormous THANK YOU to the entire Phoenix team! I can't wait to try it out. Just what the doctor ordered after the disturbing Google purchase news.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:29 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
You mean this one?

This has to be the coolest thing I've seen in Sage for a very long time.... very clever.

__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #331  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:35 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
What's even cooler (Ice cold?) is how fast it is - I was shocked at the performance the first time I saw it on my HD300.

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:38 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
What's even cooler (Ice cold?)
Funny

Its definitely something I'll have to see if I can copy.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:16 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
A couple of things just came to mind. Does PlayOn work in Phoenix (is it integrated now)? What about the Stock Market plugin? Or the "Recipe/text file viewer"? These all add a menu or submenu item - does Phoenix make them go away, and if so, can one easily bring them back (re-add the menu item)?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:27 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Playon isn't supported yet - it is on the short list of things to add support for.

You can get to the playon sources in the default STV from Phoenix very easily, but you basically are loading up the default UI for the duration of your online video usage.

All the other plugin's you list are not available in Phoenix - they are for the default UI and hence incompatible with Phoenix. Like trying to run a Mac program on a Windows machine.

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:47 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
This has to be the coolest thing I've seen in Sage for a very long time.... very clever.

What? How?
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:41 PM
gacevich gacevich is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 81
Ok, I feel really silly asking this but after watching this thread for a while I decided to install Phoenix in my v7 sagetv. Went thru the install process of downloading Phoenix v2.3.400 and letting the installer do its job. Says it went fine. Restarted sage and the server and my interface didn't change...still the stock sage v7 gui. Restarted a few more times and same result. Cruised thru the menu options and a I could not find a "Start Phoenix" option.

What am I missing? How do I get the UI?
__________________
System Setup:
Win 10, i5, ASUS Z97-A mb, 8Gb RAM, HDPVR, USB-UIRT, Girder, TWC STB
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:43 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
You need to go through detailed setup>advanced and then change the stv to Phoenix.
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:08 PM
mike015pgh mike015pgh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pgh
Posts: 8
not compatible?

i had phoenix installed, mostly for plugins. accidentally removed core services. now i cant install it. it is listed as not compatible.

how can i get it back?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 01-25-2013, 10:59 PM
mike015pgh mike015pgh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pgh
Posts: 8
found my issue was that i re-installed sage with an older version.

when i updated to the current version all was good again.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 07-28-2017, 07:46 AM
jwilson56 jwilson56 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Scanning Media Center Import Directories

Is there a way to have a button on the remote that would scan for new files in the Media Center Import Directories?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Request: one-shot favorite robind SageTV Software 20 05-24-2011 08:30 AM
First shot of hd-pvr no dice PLUCKYHD Hardware Support 19 02-23-2009 11:16 AM
CPU Peak Demand Steve52 Hardware Support 1 09-11-2008 10:00 AM
Shot Myself in the Foot! rmbu SageTV Software 4 12-27-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.