SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2014, 12:09 PM
i0zjh02 i0zjh02 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
SageTV Client quits if Paused too long

Hi does anybody else have a problem were if SageTV is paused for too long (approx 5 or 10 mins) on TV or video playback the GUI crashes (the service carries on in background so GUI can just be relaunched)
This only seems to happen on the Server/Main Client PC (not headless server) haven't seen it on any of my clients
Have re-installed SageTV and have the same issue (although I run Gemstone and stupidly I didn't try it before installing all my normal plugins)
Would be interested if anybody else has this annoying "feature"
__________________
Server: HP XW4600, 8GB DDR, 4TB SATA, TBS 6284 PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad TV Tuner Card, XMLTV, SageTV 7 Beta
Clients: 1x Dell GX745 4GB DDR, 2 x Dell GX740 6GB DDR
Display: 46" Samsung Professional LCD monitor (using DVI)

Last edited by i0zjh02; 09-02-2014 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2014, 07:07 PM
Ted@TNT's Avatar
Ted@TNT Ted@TNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Ted@TNT
I've had this problem for about a year, but I had a fairly messed-up Sage installation, so I thought it was just due to that.

Today, I started from a clean SageTV7 build with no additional plugins, added Phoenix, then selected Phoenix 2. I set up web/streaming also. I just paused a show and SageTv crashed again.

Does anyone know what this is??
__________________
W7 64-bit, SageTV V7, Phoenix2 Asus P5W DH-Deluxe Motherboard, Core 2 Quad, 12 GB DDR2, 250 GB OS, 2 TB Recordings, 6 TB Movies (holding DVD library), nVidia 285, HD PVR 1212 x2, HDHR x2, Zalmann HD160XT case, Harmony 890pro Remote. Pioneer 50" KURO Plasma, Pioneer Elite 7.1 surround A/V receiver, Energy & Paradigm speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2014, 08:24 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted@TNT View Post
I've had this problem for about a year, but I had a fairly messed-up Sage installation, so I thought it was just due to that.

Today, I started from a clean SageTV7 build with no additional plugins, added Phoenix, then selected Phoenix 2. I set up web/streaming also. I just paused a show and SageTv crashed again.

Does anyone know what this is??
You say you did a clean Install but Installed plugins then tried it. maybe you should try it with no plugins first to see if it crashes. Then Install plugins one at a time and try it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2014, 05:07 PM
OneOfMany OneOfMany is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 374
I know that mine is setup to put on a slideshow after set amount of pausing. Maybe it is defaulting to that and there is an invalid picture directory setup?

Grant
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2014, 10:41 PM
Ted@TNT's Avatar
Ted@TNT Ted@TNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Ted@TNT
Thank you both for your suggestions.

I do have a screensaver that kicks in -- and leave the TV on with it playing for at least a couple of hours each day. I don't think a bad image is an issue, as it never crashes unless it is paused.

I suppose I can look into removing plugins and testing, but it is an intermittent problem.

Or, I could train myself to just stop the playback and later resume instead of pausing if I'm going to interrupt watching for anything longer than a minute or two.
__________________
W7 64-bit, SageTV V7, Phoenix2 Asus P5W DH-Deluxe Motherboard, Core 2 Quad, 12 GB DDR2, 250 GB OS, 2 TB Recordings, 6 TB Movies (holding DVD library), nVidia 285, HD PVR 1212 x2, HDHR x2, Zalmann HD160XT case, Harmony 890pro Remote. Pioneer 50" KURO Plasma, Pioneer Elite 7.1 surround A/V receiver, Energy & Paradigm speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2014, 11:58 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Any chance your server might be going into hibernation, sleep or a power down mode?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:13 AM
mike015pgh mike015pgh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pgh
Posts: 8
Me too

I am having the same issue. I also did a full uninstall reboot and re install. My issue remains. my system does not hibernate or sleep. I just uninstalled all plugins I will post back if any improvement in performance, and which plugin was the culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2015, 02:37 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
Hard drive going to sleep? This will mess up extenders if the server hard drive goes to sleep while the video is paused.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2015, 12:10 PM
Jackass Jackass is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
Mine crashes as well when paused for an extended amount of time. I know my drives/system are not going to sleep....all of that stuff is disabled and has been for several years.

My Sage Oddities:

--- Pause on recorded content - GUI crash after a period of time
** no idea on how long this really is since I don't pause that often
** I do have a slide show screensaver, but it runs all the time no matter what state Sage is in

--- Watching LiveTV for long periods of time - GUI crash after several hours
** think turning on morning news and turning off TV only never hitting stop...come back in evening and Sage has bombed out

--- FF/RW oddites where screen image freezes, audio continues, and if left alone will crash GUI out in a minute or two. If caught within 30 seconds or so, just hitting FF/RW again fixes it.

--- slow-motion video. Random playback of recorded TV that plays back videos in very slow motion. Usually have to reboot system to recover. Restart of just Sage does not always correct issue.

I have not tried disabling plugins yet since most issues are so intermittent.

Still love my SageTV, but not sure what I am going to do when this system finally dies. I haven't found anything else that is as simple to use.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2015, 08:24 PM
Ted@TNT's Avatar
Ted@TNT Ted@TNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Ted@TNT
I've completely rebuilt SageTV AGAIN. New OS with barely anything on it. I don't use a server/client setup, mostly. My main TV is connected to the "server", and occasionally a client connects to it.

However, even before loading STVi's on top of SageTV 7.0, I found it closing when paused too long. Has nobody found a solution for this yet?
__________________
W7 64-bit, SageTV V7, Phoenix2 Asus P5W DH-Deluxe Motherboard, Core 2 Quad, 12 GB DDR2, 250 GB OS, 2 TB Recordings, 6 TB Movies (holding DVD library), nVidia 285, HD PVR 1212 x2, HDHR x2, Zalmann HD160XT case, Harmony 890pro Remote. Pioneer 50" KURO Plasma, Pioneer Elite 7.1 surround A/V receiver, Energy & Paradigm speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-16-2015, 06:17 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Have you checked the Sage log file to see if there are any error messages when it shuts down?

I leave mine paused for long periods all the time and have never seen this issue.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV.exe 7 (viewer) suddenly quits; MS Visual C++ related? GoAWest SageTV Software 13 01-12-2016 07:59 PM
Ubuntu 10.4 Sage Client hangs if video is paused for 30 minutes barqman SageTV Linux 1 09-06-2010 11:02 AM
Server HD200 recovery - how long is long?? Folkboat SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 4 03-30-2010 05:48 PM
suddenly, playback client quits if trying to play HDPVR recordings?!? ryanroat SageTV Software 5 03-27-2009 12:13 PM
SageTV 2.2 quits recording topry SageTV Software 0 06-09-2005 06:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.