SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2016, 10:23 AM
brandypuff brandypuff is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin, MA
Posts: 339
Aspect Ratio > 4x3 on all shows now? - HD200

For awhile now, I've noticed almost all my recorded ATSC shows aspect ratios are wider than my 4x3 TV supports. Clicking the zoom button on the remote doesn't help. It's very disconcerting when you have two people talking and one is off the screen. It's especially noticeable during sports where you can't often see the scores or all the information they like to show down the left side of the screen. Is it just the fact the 4x3 isn't being broadcast anymore?
__________________
- James M -
Server: Asus P5B Deluxe, 8GB, Core2 E6600 @2.4GHz, Windows 10 X64 Pro
Storage Internal: (1) 250GB, (2) 2TB, (1) 4TB
Storage External: Sans Digital 4-Bay eSATA Port Multiplier RAID Enclosure with (4) 4TB Drives
Capture Devices: HDHomerunXTEND, HDHomerunPrime
Clients: (1) STX-HD100 HD Media Extender, (3) HD200 HD Theatre, (1) HD300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2016, 11:49 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Could be. I get my signal from Cable (not ATSC), all my TV's are now HD-capable, and I generally only watch HD channels. However, my wife will sometimes watch one of the older SD channels and I've noticed that some of them do as you describe. For example, ABC seems to chop the sides off the HD 16x9 broadcast to get a 4:3 aspect ratio and scales down to 480i for their SD broadcast. Then when you view on an HDTV, you end up with black bars on the sides (or a stretched out picture) and it looks especially bad after being de-interlaced and scaled back up to 1080p.

In my case, I know it's the broadcast (or the cable company) that's doing it and not Sage. I can verify this (and have) by connecting a cable box directly to a TV and watching live, so Sage isn't involved all.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200, SageMC, Edit Aspect Ratio kelcher789 SageMC Custom Interface 0 12-30-2009 05:25 PM
HD200 Aspect Ratio Mode antplugger SageTV Media Extender 6 08-04-2009 04:34 PM
HD200 "Source" Aspect Ratio srothwell SageTV Beta Test Software 36 06-02-2009 08:59 AM
6.5.13 Bug - Playback of HDTV Recordings Has Bad Aspect Ratio - HD200 & HDMI FreshOne SageTV Beta Test Software 12 04-29-2009 03:57 PM
What Aspect Ratio do you use for SD shows to fit HD TV? mayamaniac General Discussion 16 11-02-2005 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.