SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2016, 12:59 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Media Extender ebay flood - why?

Any idea why the price of media extenders has dropped and the supply gone up on eBay recently? Is it Plex, or the Android app? Opinions are welcome.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2016, 04:44 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I know that for me the android app has proved a good enough replacement for my HD300s. it's funny timing that you mention this because I was just yesterday thinking that I should box up my old SageTV hardware and sell it. I'm sure now that I won't have occasion to need any of it again.

So, of course, about the time I enter the market the prices plummet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2016, 06:40 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
The Android MiniClient has replaced all 3 of HD300s... I have 3 HD300s, 1 HD200, 1 HD200, and MVP alll sitting in storage.... I should just give them away the Android miniclient is not perfect... but it's certainly perfectly usable for the H264 content that I record.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2016, 09:10 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
The Android MiniClient has replaced all 3 of HD300s... I have 3 HD300s, 1 HD200, 1 HD200, and MVP alll sitting in storage.... I should just give them away the Android miniclient is not perfect... but it's certainly perfectly usable for the H264 content that I record.
which hardware boxes did you install the miniclient on?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2016, 09:53 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
which hardware boxes did you install the miniclient on?
NVidia Shield TV and the Mi Box
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2016, 09:59 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
NVidia Shield TV and the Mi Box
would these work in remote locations as well, aka on the road in a hotel? Mi Box looks cool - where did you buy it, as there aren't many distributors in the U.S. at least
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 11-30-2016 at 10:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2016, 10:12 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
would these work in remote locations as well, aka on the road in a hotel? Mi Box looks cool - where did you buy it, as there aren't many distributors in the U.S. at least
It's sold exclusively at Walmart for now, as far as I'm aware. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mi-Box-Android-TV/54827138
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2016, 10:44 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
I've also got the Mini Client running on my nexus player with Android TV v7 and it works just fine. Even mpeg2.

The mini client rarely has any issues at all. I had quite a bit more issues when I ran PC clients, but that is another story.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2016, 02:43 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
NVidia Shield TV and the Mi Box
mine crashes on the Mi Box quite a bit. The 300 is rock solid, so it's a high bar to surpass, but I can't even get through one or two shows without it freezing and then rebooting the Mi Box.

Wonder if I missed something someplace?

(I had just been assuming that the Android client wasn't ready for prime time yet.)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2016, 06:15 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
mine crashes on the Mi Box quite a bit. The 300 is rock solid, so it's a high bar to surpass, but I can't even get through one or two shows without it freezing and then rebooting the Mi Box.

Wonder if I missed something someplace?

(I had just been assuming that the Android client wasn't ready for prime time yet.)
I've been using it for months... I can't remember the last time it rebooted... in fact, for my use, the HD300 would require a restart from time to time... I have about the same success as the Android MiniClient. Sorry it's not working out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-01-2016, 06:48 PM
uberpixel uberpixel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
My guess is that people are unloading their emergency spares.

I have a Mi Box and HD300 sitting side by side in my system and I continue to use the HD300.

The fact that the Android Client won't play my ripped DVD library is one issue (too lazy to convert to mkv I guess).

Also, I feel like the video quality is better on the HD300 for recorded TV. I can't quantify what the difference is exactly but I just prefer watching on the HD300.

Finally, I'm still struggling to get my FLIRC working the way I want with my Harmony remote. I had it working for a while but now it's completely unresponsive. I don't have the time to fiddle at the moment so I keep going back the rock solid HD300...

These all sound like user generated issues/preferences so take my comments with a grain of salt. I don't mean this to be critical of the Android Client work (which is fantastic). It's a huge relief to know there is a functional replacement option out there and I'm enthusiastic about any progress made to modernize SageTV but at this point I still believe that the HD300 provides the best client experience available.

Unless you insist on only using one set top box I can't see why you would replace an HD300 with any of the other options.

All that being said, faced with the choice of buying a used HD300 for $140 on eBay vs. a new Mi Box for $69 I would probably go with the Mi Box to leverage the AndroidTV ecosystem and expect that the Android Client is only going to get better with time.

-uberpixel
__________________
{Server} | i5-3330S | Z77X-UD5H | 8gb DDR3 | Windows 10 Pro |
{Tuners} | (1) HDHomerun (OTA) | (1) HDHomerun Prime + OpenDCT on Comcast |
{Client} | (2) HD300 Extenders | (1) PC Client | Mi Box Android Client | FireTV Stick |
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2016, 07:04 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,157
It's possible that some folks recognize that the HD300, as great a device as it is, will be helpless in the event any cable system decides to move to h.265 video (we've already had the conversation in other threads that the HD300 will never handle h.265). The advantage with the miniclient is that it's not totally device specific, so you'd just have to have a device that could handle h.265 ... when the time comes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2016, 07:53 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
It's possible that some folks recognize that the HD300, as great a device as it is, will be helpless in the event any cable system decides to move to h.265 video (we've already had the conversation in other threads that the HD300 will never handle h.265). The advantage with the miniclient is that it's not totally device specific, so you'd just have to have a device that could handle h.265 ... when the time comes.
is that the same for the HD100 and HD200?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-2016, 05:51 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
I like that there are choices now I have more HD300's than I care to admit and they are rock solid for what I do. The Android mini client works really well for most people and opens things up for a wide array of devices to be used. And now _Demo_ is talking about an HD400.

Use whatever works for you.

Choices make the world go around, and the Sage user base go up
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-02-2016, 06:54 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
is that the same for the HD100 and HD200?
Definitely.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-02-2016, 08:47 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Definitely.
well then, we'd better hope h265 stays away from cable and satellite for a while
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-02-2016, 06:07 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,133
Or use something like an HD-PVR and cable box to encode to a format it DOES work with. Not the idea situation if you use Cable Card but could be done.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-02-2016, 07:43 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Or use something like an HD-PVR and cable box to encode to a format it DOES work with. Not the idea situation if you use Cable Card but could be done.
True - IF there is an analog component output on the cable box or you can break the HDCP, neither of which is a given.

But this will likely take years since it would require the cable companies to replace all of their cable boxes.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage HD250 extender for sale on eBay wayner SageTV Media Extender 16 09-20-2012 02:18 PM
Does the New Sagetv Media extender works with a Wireless extender? lfilomeno SageTV Media Extender 4 01-21-2009 03:13 PM
Media Extender HD Media Center Problems dfizer68 SageTV Media Extender 0 01-15-2009 10:36 PM
Wii as a media extender kibbee SageTV Media Extender 15 07-31-2008 06:18 PM
Imported Media Folders and Media Extender AtomicPenguin SageTV Media Extender 1 06-15-2008 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.