SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2017, 05:59 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
New Release of Miniclient (1.2.8)

It's been awhile, but I finally found some time this weekend to spend a few minutes on this.

Mostly been about updating the base libraries (ie, the UI libraries and the Player libraries), but there were a couple fixes/enhancements in there as well.

- Upgraded to IJKPlayer 0.8.0
- Upgraded to ExoPlayer r2.4.0
- Upgraded to LibGDX 1.9.6
- Add "Duplicate" connection action
- Each connection have a different client id
- Each connection can set stateful remote on/off (useful for testing Phoenix)
- Aspect Ratio update for larger non 16/9 screens
- Added support for GUIDE and INFO keys
- Added support for F1-F12 keys

The Update has been uploaded to bintray, and it'll take a few hours to get through the play store.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2017, 03:35 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Immediate impressions: this version seems to animate faster (e.g. scrolling thru menus) and seek faster (noticeable with comskip). This is on an up-to-date Shield TV with IJKPlayer selected as the player.

Thanks stuckless!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2017, 07:57 PM
Oatz Oatz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Am I a complete moron?
I have this installed on a Nexus 7 (the newer one), Samsung S7 Edge and a Minix Neo X8 Plus and none of them can play my 1080i TV recordings from my Colossus. I have audio, comskip bar on the bottom, but all video is black. Nearly all movies play fine, except the odd HD mkv.

Same recordings play great on HD300, SageTV client 7 & 9, all android video playing apps.

I finally upgraded my nearly 10 year old Sage server (XP, 2GB, E8400 Core 2 Duo) to Sage 9 (Win10,16GB,i7) and with this mini client, it seals the deal for whole home PVR goodness with android clients everywhere.

Stuckless, this is fantastic, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2017, 08:15 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 157
Oatz,
I use the miniClient on my ASUS Zenfone2 and it plays my Colossus 2 recordings without problems. My current configuration uses Dynamic Streaming, IJK, IJK Software decoders, IJK Disable Hardware decoders.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_201, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2017, 06:55 AM
crawfofd crawfofd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 76
stuckless, is there a way I can go back to the previous version of the miniclient? I have not been able to get it to work properly since the new upgrade (v1.2.8)
I'm using a nvidia shield 16gb. Ive tried all the different combinations of IJK,EXO,
It worked on the previous version
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x Win7 64bit SP1, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T, nVidia GeForce GT 520, 16GB DDR3 Asus m5a97 EVO, (2) HD300, SageTV server and SageTV server as a extender, 1 Sagetv Client on a SYX ion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2017, 09:14 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oatz View Post
Am I a complete moron?
I have this installed on a Nexus 7 (the newer one), Samsung S7 Edge and a Minix Neo X8 Plus and none of them can play my 1080i TV recordings from my Colossus. I have audio, comskip bar on the bottom, but all video is black. Nearly all movies play fine, except the odd HD mkv.

Same recordings play great on HD300, SageTV client 7 & 9, all android video playing apps.

I finally upgraded my nearly 10 year old Sage server (XP, 2GB, E8400 Core 2 Duo) to Sage 9 (Win10,16GB,i7) and with this mini client, it seals the deal for whole home PVR goodness with android clients everywhere.

Stuckless, this is fantastic, thank you!
What are you player settings? @Denali posted his player settings, do they match yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crawfofd View Post
stuckless, is there a way I can go back to the previous version of the miniclient? I have not been able to get it to work properly since the new upgrade (v1.2.8)
I'm using a nvidia shield 16gb. Ive tried all the different combinations of IJK,EXO,
It worked on the previous version
All previous versions can be downloaded from
https://bintray.com/opensagetv/sagetv/AndroidMiniClient

But, if you post actual issues with information about your hardware, player settings, and media file settings, we might be able to help figure out what is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2017, 09:30 AM
rickw rickw is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oatz View Post
Am I a complete moron?
I have this installed on a Nexus 7 (the newer one), Samsung S7 Edge and a Minix Neo X8 Plus and none of them can play my 1080i TV recordings from my Colossus. I have audio, comskip bar on the bottom, but all video is black. Nearly all movies play fine, except the odd HD mkv.

Same recordings play great on HD300, SageTV client 7 & 9, all android video playing apps.

I finally upgraded my nearly 10 year old Sage server (XP, 2GB, E8400 Core 2 Duo) to Sage 9 (Win10,16GB,i7) and with this mini client, it seals the deal for whole home PVR goodness with android clients everywhere.

Stuckless, this is fantastic, thank you!

I have similar issue on my Nexus 7 tablet. Audio and SageTV UI elements are fine, but black video on playback.

Checking the "IJK: Disable Hardware Decoders" option "fixes" the issue.

Rick...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2017, 10:59 AM
fresnoboy fresnoboy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 118
Stuckless, this version makes the SageMC UI work well on my tablet. Thanks much! And I can actually navigate logging in when off net as well, which the prior version seemed to have problems with.

I too get a black screen on playback though on my galaxy tablet accessing Sage remotely. Will try it on my locally attached Shield when I get home tonight.

Thx
mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2017, 12:09 PM
crawfofd crawfofd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 76
thanks for the quick response
I am out but when I get I will send that info
thanks -
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x Win7 64bit SP1, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T, nVidia GeForce GT 520, 16GB DDR3 Asus m5a97 EVO, (2) HD300, SageTV server and SageTV server as a extender, 1 Sagetv Client on a SYX ion.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2017, 12:50 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickw View Post
I have similar issue on my Nexus 7 tablet. Audio and SageTV UI elements are fine, but black video on playback.

Checking the "IJK: Disable Hardware Decoders" option "fixes" the issue.

Rick...
Quote:
Originally Posted by fresnoboy View Post
Stuckless, this version makes the SageMC UI work well on my tablet. Thanks much! And I can actually navigate logging in when off net as well, which the prior version seemed to have problems with.

I too get a black screen on playback though on my galaxy tablet accessing Sage remotely. Will try it on my locally attached Shield when I get home tonight.

Thx
mike
Sadly, some of the hardware codecs on Android is very "flaky". I try to NOT to disable the hardware codecs, but all of my content is h264, and so far I've been lucky. But, I there are times on some phones, where I get the black screen, and if your phone can handle it (and you don't mind the battery drain), then disabling hardware helps.

As much as I try to like ExoPlayer, it's a hardware only player, and it's very strict. If I were creating a closed system it would be a no brainer to use ExoPlayer. I use IJKPlayer because it tends to play everything, even it does have to drop to software decoding from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-31-2017, 08:04 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
I don't know if anybody else is seeing this. I am running 1.2.8 on the MiBox, and everything I play is at about 90% playback speed. It's really obvious because all of the voices are a little bit lower for everybody. I tried Defaults, ExpoPlayer, IJK.
Mike
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-2017, 06:57 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
I don't know if anybody else is seeing this. I am running 1.2.8 on the MiBox, and everything I play is at about 90% playback speed. It's really obvious because all of the voices are a little bit lower for everybody. I tried Defaults, ExpoPlayer, IJK.
Mike
I run the latest on the MiBox, every day, and I haven't seen this. There is an annoying issue with the MiniClient (all versions) that most shows will start in slo-motion video (it's a timing/buffer thing). If you press skip back, the video audio catches up and plays normally. Not sure if that is your issue here.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-2017, 07:03 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
There is an annoying issue with the MiniClient (all versions) that most shows will start in slo-motion video (it's a timing/buffer thing). If you press skip back, the video audio catches up and plays normally. Not sure if that is your issue here.
I don't see this on HD200 or HD300 extenders or Placeshifter. Or do you just mean Android Miniclients?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-01-2017, 10:06 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I don't see this on HD200 or HD300 extenders or Placeshifter. Or do you just mean Android Miniclients?
Just the Android MiniClient.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-01-2017, 06:31 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I run the latest on the MiBox, every day, and I haven't seen this. There is an annoying issue with the MiniClient (all versions) that most shows will start in slo-motion video (it's a timing/buffer thing). If you press skip back, the video audio catches up and plays normally. Not sure if that is your issue here.
Weird, I powered it off, took it upstairs and plugged it into the Xbox One upstairs, and it works fine. I was messing with WiFi vs. copper via a dongle last week. Maybe something got screwy with networking or something. Anyways, looks good now
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-01-2017, 06:43 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Weird, I powered it off, took it upstairs and plugged it into the Xbox One upstairs, and it works fine. I was messing with WiFi vs. copper via a dongle last week. Maybe something got screwy with networking or something. Anyways, looks good now
I find the "when in doubt, just reboot" quit an effective problem solving technique. I use it quite often In fact, it's the first thing I ask my kids when the come to me with "the computer isn't working"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-02-2017, 03:56 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Yeah, I should have known better, being such a fan of "the IT crowd "
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-02-2017, 05:55 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Yeah, I should have known better, being such a fan of "the IT crowd "
Reminds me of the bomb squad episode.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-03-2017, 01:54 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 257
I finally got this working after updating to 7.19 and then 9. It is working on my LG G3 phone and my Galaxy A tablet. Both are running Android 6.0. I even got them to cast shows to my Roku stick (via screen mirroring). So now if my extender kicks the bucket (and it gave me a scare tonight), I have alternatives.

I'm having various other issues with the update from 6 to 9 in prep for the SD EPG, but this one difference is an enormous step forward in functionality. I can take my phone or tablet anywhere in my house and watch recordings just as I can on my computer with Placeshifter or my extender, plus casting to Roku in rooms without an extender or as an extender-replacement. Way, Way cool!
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-03-2017, 04:03 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I finally got this working after updating to 7.19 and then 9. It is working on my LG G3 phone and my Galaxy A tablet. Both are running Android 6.0. I even got them to cast shows to my Roku stick (via screen mirroring). So now if my extender kicks the bucket (and it gave me a scare tonight), I have alternatives.

I'm having various other issues with the update from 6 to 9 in prep for the SD EPG, but this one difference is an enormous step forward in functionality. I can take my phone or tablet anywhere in my house and watch recordings just as I can on my computer with Placeshifter or my extender, plus casting to Roku in rooms without an extender or as an extender-replacement. Way, Way cool!
Glad it's working. I had no idea you could actually cast to the Roku. That is cool as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MiniClient on Roku NetworkGuy SageTV Clients Development 2 04-18-2017 11:55 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
MiniClient Information Taddeusz SageTV Github Development 5 09-10-2015 11:11 AM
Miniclient? BobbyDing General Discussion 3 09-08-2015 11:53 AM
SageTV Release Candidate V6.5.8 is Here! (& v6.5.9 release) Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 02-03-2009 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.