SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2016, 11:27 AM
zappedguy zappedguy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Question How to install Sage into Linux Mint 18

I do not speak Linux! I just finished building a desktop with Linux Mint 64 ver. 18. Not knowing anything about Linux, I found this to be an easy install. It has a built in software app store, where I managed to download and install a couple of extra apps. I want to use SageTV as a standalone on this machine, no extenders etc.. I have used Sage in windows since ver. 6 and currently using the latest ver. 7. Has anyone compiled a complete installer that will work on my Linux machine, that can be downloaded and installed easily? Or can someone give me step by step instructions, remembering that I don't understand the Linux language?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2016, 02:28 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Server or just Client ?
If just after Sever side what TV card do you have now?, and should note that with server it has no GUI so you have install Client to on the same system
I may be wrong but I think deb packages also work that same as Ubuntu through terminal
See Basic Linux V9 Build and Walkthrough - V2

The latest ver SageTV v9 commands for Step 7 will be
Server
# Download the SageTV .deb package
> wget https://bintray.com/artifact/downloa...0.11_amd64.deb

# Install the package to /opt/sagetv/server/
> sudo dpkg -i sagetv-server_9.0.11_amd64.deb

For Client just Install Java and I think you all need the Install Sage Dependancies if you only want just the Client side
# Download the SageTV .deb package
> wget https://bintray.com/artifact/downloa...0.11_amd64.deb

# Install the package to /opt/sagetv/client/
> sudo dpkg -i sagetv-client_9.0.11_amd64.deb

Last edited by SHS; 11-22-2016 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2016, 12:19 PM
zappedguy zappedguy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Thanks for your prompt reply. I installed both server and client. I am using sage on this machine as a stand-alone device with one tuner. There are no extenders or remote clients intended. You stated that the server has no GUI (and I can see no way to launch the server) so I tried connecting through the client app. It puts up a window with no video. Java runtime 8 is currently installed. Again, Linux is all foreign language to me, as I have only recently tried using it, so I haven't learned much of the jargon yet.

Last edited by zappedguy; 11-25-2016 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2016, 01:01 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I'm not really sure if the linux client is even operational in the current build (and if it is, it won't work near as well as the windows client, or any of the extender options). Out of curiosity, why use Linux if you are completely unfamiliar with it? What was the goal?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2016, 06:28 AM
zappedguy zappedguy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Ihave been using windows since ver. 3.0 and it has become more & more bloated with each new release. Now they are pushing everyone to ver. 10, which gives them even more control over your computer. Their next step will probably be an annual subscription, much like the Adobe model. I like to have control over my computer, and I like to keep it simple and easy. I like the freedom to choose. I put Linux Mint on my laptop when XP was taken away, making my perfectly useable laptop obsolete. Mint has been an awesome replacement!! I will eventually and happily learn the language of linux. I am also preparing for the eventual death of windows 7, which I am currently using. What if they changed gasoline every few years, forcing you to modify or even replace your perfectly running and favorite car??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2016, 07:02 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I agree with Fuzzy. I don't think that there is a way to use a linux machine the way we all used to use SageTV with one windows pc attached directly to the TV. Even back in the day I had a separate pc running windows xp and then 7 with SageTV installed which I used mostly as a headless (no monitor attached) server for my SageTV extenders.

The linux install was always meant to replace the headless server. This is the direction that a lot of the users here are going. Me included. I also like the fact that the linux install is more open and straight forward. I ran SageTV on linux mint for a while but recently converted to an unraid server running sage tv in a docker. This is something that you can figure out how to set up from the forums. I'm not super technically savvy but I got it working. There does need to be better documentation of this process eventually.

If you have an android phone or tablet you could download stuckless' SageTV miniclient and see if it can find and connect to your linux install. Just search for SageTV in the play store. I currntly run the sagetv client on an android tv box, the xiaomi mi.

Of course, I have always run a separate server and client. I came to sageTV soon after the first HD100 was available.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2016, 12:34 AM
zappedguy zappedguy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Since the sage extenders are no longer available, do anyone have any recommendations for an extender that operates with a remote like the HD100?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2016, 04:26 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I am using the Android miniclient on both an Nvidia Shield TV and the Xiaomi Mi box. I posted a short screen recording demo on youtube here.

I disconnected my last HD300 about a month ago. I am using the new Phoenix 3 user interface so the menus on the SageTV app won't look familiar. The regular user interface is still the default and works with the shield tv remote. It's not plug and play like the old SageTV extenders, but it works very well. BTW, the old extenders do show up for sale here fairly often. I'll probably sell mine soon since I don't think that I'll ever go back to them.

The xiaomi mi also seems to make a fine client. It also gets you Netflix, Kodi etc all on the same box. I've only been using it a couple weeks on a secondary TV. I actually like the user interface on it a little better.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2016, 06:16 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Also, I agree with you about ditching windows 10. If it weren't for me absolutely needing QuickBooks for my 2 businesses, I would seriously consider dropping windows completely.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2018, 10:21 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 270
once you have the server & client set up how to install plugins?

I am used to the way things were done in windows version. How do I install the server plugins into linux mint server? I have linux mint 18.3 server & win 10 client. when I try to install server plugins through the win 10 client is says i cant install them that way. What is the correct procedure for installing server plugins into linux?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-04-2018, 05:06 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxysurfer View Post
I am used to the way things were done in windows version. How do I install the server plugins into linux mint server? I have linux mint 18.3 server & win 10 client. when I try to install server plugins through the win 10 client is says i cant install them that way. What is the correct procedure for installing server plugins into linux?
YOu need to be running a placeshifter (either on windows or linux).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2018, 11:35 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 270
I did have a placeshifter & server on same computer so could configure settings like I was used to via win 10 but it just wasnt working right. Tried to access via win 10 client & finally after back & forth efforts got base functions working. Part of the issue it turned out was firewall.( thought I had given it right settings but they didnt seem to work so ended up shutting it off for now till I work out the bugs in linux setup) Now I need help getting comskip working. I have installed wine as requested but I donīt know if all the permission issues are resolved. I used the deb version sagetv server & placeshifter for install. Are my permissions at the right setting? I think they are set to 755 if I interpreted my data correctly.
Not happy with the placeshifter on server behaviour. Window keeps wigging in & out & issues with transparency & picture getting discombobulated. Glad I have the Win 10 client as well & working towards freeing myself from Microsoft dependency for important computing. Win 10 client is mainly only a media streamer. Ah the life of a techie dabbler.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing on Linux Mint ranger SageTV Github Development 6 09-24-2015 04:49 PM
Failed dependency error when trying to install Sage Linux client Chriscic SageTV Linux 2 06-15-2011 07:16 AM
Linux install question.... rockinray SageTV Beta Test Software 2 02-23-2011 10:15 AM
Issues with clean install of Sage Linux placeshifter Chriscic SageTV Linux 2 06-04-2010 04:15 PM
Linux Mint as SageTV server? ONLYinHD SageTV Linux 10 05-10-2010 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.