SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2018, 09:32 AM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Help with ffmpeg

I am using ffmpeg in my client for IOS. All media for IOS has to sent using HLS. I am creating this using ffmpeg like this:
""c:\SageRemote\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -ss 00:00:00 -i "H:\hdvpr1video\60006_292_1214_1753-0.ts" -profile:v high -level 4.2 -b:v 1500K -preset superfast -c:v libx264 -strict -2 -ac: 2 -codec:a aac -b:a 128k -f hls -hls_list_size 0 -hls_time 10 "c:\SageRemote\EncodedMedia\5055417\5055417.m3u8""

I have been using this format for over 2 years now and it works fine this way. The problem is Apple has a requirement that I must also provide a 192 kbs or lower stream when used over cellular. For my app this is an absurd requirement as you can't provide video at such a low rate. I can do an audio only stream to meet this data rate. I know how to make a audio only stream but don't know how to generate both at the same time. In real use you wouldn't use the app if you can't view video! But I must do it to get it on the app store! I actually have hired two different people on the web site freelancer but haven't got a solution yet. I know ffmpeg can do it I just don't know how to ask it to do it! Anybody used ffmpeg that might know how?

Last edited by davidb; 04-25-2018 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2018, 01:42 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
FFmpeg novice here... perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question but is this what you're looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2018, 01:45 PM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Yes I have seen that and tried to get it to work. I am able to use that to generate an audio only rendition in addition to the video/audio rendition but can't get ffmpeg to generate the master playlist for both streams. I know it can do it though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
FFmpeg novice here... perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question but is this what you're looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2018, 06:57 AM
davidb's Avatar
davidb davidb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
In case anyone is lurking and needs the same thing I think I figured it out. I think this does it:
""c:\SageRemote\ffmpeg1\ffmpeg.exe" -ss 00:00:00 -i "H:\hdvpr1video\60006_292_1214_1753-0.ts" -i "H:\hdvpr1video\60006_292_1214_1753-0.ts" -map 0:v -map 0:a -map 1:a -var_stream_map "v:0,a:0,agroup:audio_video_high a:1,agroup:aud_medium" -profile:v high -level 4.2 -b:v 1500K -preset ultrafast -c:v libx264 -strict -2 -ac: 2 -codec:a aac -b:a 128k -y -fflags +genpts+discardcorrupt -f hls -g 10 -master_pl_name 5055417.m3u8 -hls_time 10 -hls_list_size 0 -hls_wrap 10 "c:\SageRemote\EncodedMedia\5055417\5055417%%v.m3u8""
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb View Post
I am using ffmpeg in my client for IOS. All media for IOS has to sent using HLS. I am creating this using ffmpeg like this:
""c:\SageRemote\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -ss 00:00:00 -i "H:\hdvpr1video\60006_292_1214_1753-0.ts" -profile:v high -level 4.2 -b:v 1500K -preset superfast -c:v libx264 -strict -2 -ac: 2 -codec:a aac -b:a 128k -f hls -hls_list_size 0 -hls_time 10 "c:\SageRemote\EncodedMedia\5055417\5055417.m3u8""

I have been using this format for over 2 years now and it works fine this way. The problem is Apple has a requirement that I must also provide a 192 kbs or lower stream when used over cellular. For my app this is an absurd requirement as you can't provide video at such a low rate. I can do an audio only stream to meet this data rate. I know how to make a audio only stream but don't know how to generate both at the same time. In real use you wouldn't use the app if you can't view video! But I must do it to get it on the app store! I actually have hired two different people on the web site freelancer but haven't got a solution yet. I know ffmpeg can do it I just don't know how to ask it to do it! Anybody used ffmpeg that might know how?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FFMPEG update log SageWizdom SageTV Github Development 27 02-22-2019 09:55 PM
SageDTC 2.7.0.2 with ffmpeg mtenboer Hardware Support 1 11-13-2013 02:47 PM
Mencoder instead of FFmpeg TechBill SageTV Beta Test Software 1 02-10-2008 11:23 PM
ffmpeg help ChePazzo SageTV Linux 4 12-04-2006 09:52 AM
ffmpeg v0.4.9 pre for Windows? jsturtevant SageTV Customizations 14 06-06-2006 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.