SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2018, 07:05 PM
laberet laberet is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
2nd Dish 211K tuner no longer receives IR codes from USB-UIRT

Sometime around the beginning of April my second Dish VIP211K tuner quit receiving IR codes from sagetv via USB-UIRT. So if Dish VIP211K tuner one is tied up abd SageTV goes to use tuner two will just pull up the the Dish "Your receiver is currently off" screen.

Additional info on my setup:
1 USB-UIRT
2 Dish ViP211K HD solo tuners
2 HD-PVRs
1 HD Homerun Duo 2x OTA ATSC tuners

SageTV 9.1.9.778
Java 1.8.0_171
Windows 10 Pro 64, 1803

I cant figure out why it quit working. I did move the computer around that time but all connections were labelled and reconnected exactly as before. VIP211K Tuner one works fine. VIP211k Tuner two and HD-PVR both work fine but the USB-UIRT does not send commands to the tuner to wake it from sleep (select) or to change the channel. It will just start recording with the tuner still sleeping. If I use the VIP211K tuner two remote I can wake it and change channels just fine.

I tried removing the HD-PVR #2 and VIP211K two source and re-adding it.
I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the USB-UIRT (it did act weird triggering a blue screen a couple of times. Windows seemed unhappy with its driver signing)

Anyone have any ideas? I'm stuck. Is there a log file that would give me some clues? I'm curious if the USB-UIRT is sending commands to tuner two. Aside from finding my 20 year old Sony camcorder that can see IR I don't know how to confirm that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the post I put up in 2012 that shows how to setup the USB-UIRT with two Dish VIP211K tuners using different IR codes. Has worked fine for 6+ years across many versions.
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58018
__________________
Server: Win10 Pro 64bit (1903), ASRock 970 Performance, AMD FX-9590 8core 4.7GHz, 24GB, AMD RX480
SageTV: v9.2.1.826, Java 1.8.0_211, Plugins: Gemstone, Web Interface, Mobile Web Interface, Batch Metadata Tools, Java Heap Monitor
Sources: 2x ATSC OTA, HDHR3-US DUAL, 2x Satellite (Dish), HDPVR(1.7.1.30059.1)<-->VIP211K, USB-UIRT(2.12.26.0)
Extenders: 6xHD300, 3xHD200, 2xHD100(New caps)
Other: Shairport4w, Homeseer HS3 w/plguns Zwave, JowiHue, Ecobee, MeiHarmonyHub
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2018, 07:37 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by laberet View Post
Aside from finding my 20 year old Sony camcorder that can see IR I don't know how to confirm that.
A smartphone camera can see IR also.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_201, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2018, 10:27 PM
laberet laberet is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denali View Post
A smartphone camera can see IR also.
Thanks Denali! Was not aware they could. very useful.

I can confirm it sends IR signals but the Dish receiver does not respond to them. The USB-UIRT lights up in the visible spectrum as well. in my attempt to troubleshoot the driver windows got persnickety with it. Ended up having to use someone elses driver hack to get a somewhat current driver installed. Here it is in case someone else has a similar Code 52 driver issues with USB-UIRT and windows
http://usbuirt.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5606

My problem is the same. Tuner one works as it always has. Tuner two does not respond to USB-UIRT commands but works fine with the remote.

I'm totally stumped. I ordered another USB-UIRT but I doubt that is the issue. Also, the unsigned driver issues are a pain and I would expect at some point it will just not work since there have been multiple OS versions since the last driver update. Is their another IR blaster alternative that works with sageTV?

Ideas:
1. Dish updated the IR codes for their VIP211K tuner = highly unlikely. very old product not hardly used anymore. possible only if it conflicted with their new devices
2. Something changed with SageTV = Unlikely. I don't think its common to have multiple IR configs for a singe IR blaster but I would guess others have similar configs and I don't see anyone else with similar issues.
3. Windows updates = Again, don't see others with similar issues.
4. Corrupt file or config = I have so much time in to my config. It would be so much work to try to start over...

What else can I try?
__________________
Server: Win10 Pro 64bit (1903), ASRock 970 Performance, AMD FX-9590 8core 4.7GHz, 24GB, AMD RX480
SageTV: v9.2.1.826, Java 1.8.0_211, Plugins: Gemstone, Web Interface, Mobile Web Interface, Batch Metadata Tools, Java Heap Monitor
Sources: 2x ATSC OTA, HDHR3-US DUAL, 2x Satellite (Dish), HDPVR(1.7.1.30059.1)<-->VIP211K, USB-UIRT(2.12.26.0)
Extenders: 6xHD300, 3xHD200, 2xHD100(New caps)
Other: Shairport4w, Homeseer HS3 w/plguns Zwave, JowiHue, Ecobee, MeiHarmonyHub
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2018, 07:21 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Doesn’t Dish support multiple sets of remote codes by flipping a switch on the back of the remote or something? Is it possible that STB #2 is configured for a different remote than the USBUIRT?
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2018, 10:47 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,415
Are you using USB-UIRT zone support or Dishnetwork remote assign address ?.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2018, 09:51 AM
laberet laberet is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Resolved

Thank you both for the ideas. I used the the LrnHelper.exe application that you can use to record or send IR remote codes on the USB-UIRT to re-record the #2 tuner for the alternate IR codes again in case they changed or the file had been corrupted or something. Made no difference... So I tried pointing the USB-UIRT more directly at tuner #2 and that did the trick. Little embarrassed. When things got set back up it got mounted maybe 1 or 2 inches higher than before which was just enough to push it completely out of range.

I appreciate the help very much.
__________________
Server: Win10 Pro 64bit (1903), ASRock 970 Performance, AMD FX-9590 8core 4.7GHz, 24GB, AMD RX480
SageTV: v9.2.1.826, Java 1.8.0_211, Plugins: Gemstone, Web Interface, Mobile Web Interface, Batch Metadata Tools, Java Heap Monitor
Sources: 2x ATSC OTA, HDHR3-US DUAL, 2x Satellite (Dish), HDPVR(1.7.1.30059.1)<-->VIP211K, USB-UIRT(2.12.26.0)
Extenders: 6xHD300, 3xHD200, 2xHD100(New caps)
Other: Shairport4w, Homeseer HS3 w/plguns Zwave, JowiHue, Ecobee, MeiHarmonyHub

Last edited by laberet; 07-01-2018 at 10:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2018, 10:03 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by laberet View Post
Thank you both for the ideas. I used the us the LrnHelper.exe application that you can use to record or send IR remote codes on the USB-UIRT to re-record the #2 tuner for the alternate IR codes again in case they changed or the file had been corrupted or something. Made no difference... So I tried pointing the USB-UIRT more directly at tuner #2 and that did the trick. Little embarrassed. When things got set back up it got mounted maybe 1 or 2 inches higher than before which was just enough to push it completely out of range.

I appreciate the help very much.
That help get it in right spot helps any way good hear that you back to work
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2018, 10:32 AM
laberet laberet is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
HD PVR2

SHS, quick question. Would upgrading my two HD-PVR to HD-PVR2(or other versions) provide any benefits picture quality wise? Stability with my HD-PVRs is good but after a couple months of operation one will lock up. Family has grown use to it but would be great if it was 100%
__________________
Server: Win10 Pro 64bit (1903), ASRock 970 Performance, AMD FX-9590 8core 4.7GHz, 24GB, AMD RX480
SageTV: v9.2.1.826, Java 1.8.0_211, Plugins: Gemstone, Web Interface, Mobile Web Interface, Batch Metadata Tools, Java Heap Monitor
Sources: 2x ATSC OTA, HDHR3-US DUAL, 2x Satellite (Dish), HDPVR(1.7.1.30059.1)<-->VIP211K, USB-UIRT(2.12.26.0)
Extenders: 6xHD300, 3xHD200, 2xHD100(New caps)
Other: Shairport4w, Homeseer HS3 w/plguns Zwave, JowiHue, Ecobee, MeiHarmonyHub
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2018, 11:13 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by laberet View Post
SHS, quick question. Would upgrading my two HD-PVR to HD-PVR2(or other versions) provide any benefits picture quality wise? Stability with my HD-PVRs is good but after a couple months of operation one will lock up. Family has grown use to it but would be great if it was 100%
Due to your Extenders I keep what you all have but as alternative the HD-PVR 60 is next best option as it has far better compatible with your Extenders and I think it the same HDMI IP Encoder but I don't know for sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish USB-UIRT IR codes for controlling multiple tuners laberet Hardware Support 0 02-11-2012 03:08 PM
Still having trouble getting USB-UIRT with Dish 211k rantonow Hardware Support 4 01-23-2011 03:09 PM
Problems setting up and using USB-UIRT with toggle codes (Dish VIP211) popechild Hardware Support 2 12-14-2008 02:54 PM
USB-UIRT Dish 211 - extended IR codes tedson Hardware Support 0 08-26-2008 01:35 PM
PVR500 Tuner 2 Receives static - help? nurowolf Hardware Support 9 01-18-2006 10:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.