SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2018, 05:28 PM
chairmanmao's Avatar
chairmanmao chairmanmao is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 80
Windows 10: Wake Timers "Important" not "Enabled"

Periodically I run into a problem with Sage v9 running under Windows 10 where Sage will not wake up to handle a scheduled recording.

In rooting around through various Windows settings, I noticed that under advanced power options, wake timers was set to "Important Wake Timers Only". Prior to Windows 10, the only choices were Enable or Disable. The "Important Wake Timers Only" is a recent addition.

What's confusing me is I ran into this problem, on the same machine, once before...and at that time set the option back to Enable. Yet something reset the option at some point.

I suspect some Windows patch or upgrade (I have installed the Fall 2018 update) changed the setting...which, if true, would really piss me off at Microsoft .

Has anyone else run into this problem? If you have, have you found a way to make Enable sticky?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2018, 08:50 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by chairmanmao View Post
Periodically I run into a problem with Sage v9 running under Windows 10 where Sage will not wake up to handle a scheduled recording.

In rooting around through various Windows settings, I noticed that under advanced power options, wake timers was set to "Important Wake Timers Only". Prior to Windows 10, the only choices were Enable or Disable. The "Important Wake Timers Only" is a recent addition.

What's confusing me is I ran into this problem, on the same machine, once before...and at that time set the option back to Enable. Yet something reset the option at some point.

I suspect some Windows patch or upgrade (I have installed the Fall 2018 update) changed the setting...which, if true, would really piss me off at Microsoft .

Has anyone else run into this problem? If you have, have you found a way to make Enable sticky?
I personally haven't had this problem, but I can empathize with Windows 10 arbitrarily deciding to drop your preference. I am responsible for OS deployment for over 8000 workstations and the nicest thing I can say about the in-place upgrades are they are very poorly thought out for enterprises. Based on my experience as a customer that is supposed to be able to control the OS to a very high degree, I can only imagine what home users deal with.

At home, when Windows 7 runs out of support, I'm moving my remaining computers to a Linux distro for not only this reason, but mainly because of how they still develop Windows. They really need to get their act together.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2018, 08:50 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by chairmanmao View Post
Periodically I run into a problem with Sage v9 running under Windows 10 where Sage will not wake up to handle a scheduled recording.

In rooting around through various Windows settings, I noticed that under advanced power options, wake timers was set to "Important Wake Timers Only". Prior to Windows 10, the only choices were Enable or Disable. The "Important Wake Timers Only" is a recent addition.

What's confusing me is I ran into this problem, on the same machine, once before...and at that time set the option back to Enable. Yet something reset the option at some point.

I suspect some Windows patch or upgrade (I have installed the Fall 2018 update) changed the setting...which, if true, would really piss me off at Microsoft .

Has anyone else run into this problem? If you have, have you found a way to make Enable sticky?
Usually causes by windows update
Usually causes by power management

Now, open Settings >System > Power & sleep > Addtional Power Settings.
Under Choose to customize a power plan, expand the option which says “Unhide Additional plans.”
If you do not see Ultimate Performance Mode, then follow the next steps.
Open a Command Prompt as administrator.
In the command prompt, copy the following command, and hit Enter.
powercfg -duplicatescheme e9a42b02-d5df-448d-aa00-03f14749eb61

May sure the system auto login to desktop

Last edited by SHS; 12-01-2018 at 10:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2018, 10:44 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 607
I ran into another problem with Windows 10 wake timers and SageTV earlier this year: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65426

Sometimes when the computer would come out of sleep, SageTV would think the system was deadlocked when it was sleeping and nothing would get recorded.

I could never figure out how to fix it, and just stopped using sleep mode because of it. Coming home to have my SageTV server missing a bunch of recordings was more than a bit annoying.

Before that, I couldn't use sleep mode because my R5000 tuner wouldn't work after the computer came back from sleeping. When I got rid of the R5000, I figured I could finally use sleep mode. No such luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2018, 09:04 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I personally haven't had this problem, but I can empathize with Windows 10 arbitrarily deciding to drop your preference. I am responsible for OS deployment for over 8000 workstations and the nicest thing I can say about the in-place upgrades are they are very poorly thought out for enterprises. Based on my experience as a customer that is supposed to be able to control the OS to a very high degree, I can only imagine what home users deal with.

At home, when Windows 7 runs out of support, I'm moving my remaining computers to a Linux distro for not only this reason, but mainly because of how they still develop Windows. They really need to get their act together.
Our office machines are static IP for a smaller peer-to-peer network for various reasons, and every time they get a NIC driver update, they are off the network. The best part is when the update comes for 25% of the machines over a period of 4 to 6 nights - even after the static IP is reinstated, the older version machines won't communicate with the newer version machines.

With the amount of additional IT dollars spent in just one day trying to fix whatever a Windows 10 update has done to cripple the computers the previous night, it seems like there would be some kind of class action lawsuit so that the consumers would at least have the option to opt out of updates. This claim of forced updates for security reasons just seems like an excuse to grab full control of machines across the planet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2018, 10:54 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
I have found Win 10's "hybrid sleep" and "fast startup" features to cause issues. Once I disabled those features and made sure the server was sleeping to an S3 state, my wake and stability issues went away.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2018, 12:10 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I have found Win 10's "hybrid sleep" and "fast startup" features to cause issues. Once I disabled those features and made sure the server was sleeping to an S3 state, my wake and stability issues went away.
Thanks for the idea. I just disabled both of those, and I'm going to try sleep mode again on my server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2018, 09:42 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Our office machines are static IP for a smaller peer-to-peer network for various reasons, and every time they get a NIC driver update, they are off the network. The best part is when the update comes for 25% of the machines over a period of 4 to 6 nights - even after the static IP is reinstated, the older version machines won't communicate with the newer version machines.

With the amount of additional IT dollars spent in just one day trying to fix whatever a Windows 10 update has done to cripple the computers the previous night, it seems like there would be some kind of class action lawsuit so that the consumers would at least have the option to opt out of updates. This claim of forced updates for security reasons just seems like an excuse to grab full control of machines across the planet.
Yuck, I don't care how small the network. Static IP's are a PITA to maintain. I would rather manually assign addresses through DHCP and keep the workstation configuration simpler.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2018, 05:48 PM
chairmanmao's Avatar
chairmanmao chairmanmao is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 80
Thanx for all the helpful info!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2018, 06:20 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Yuck, I don't care how small the network. Static IP's are a PITA to maintain. I would rather manually assign addresses through DHCP and keep the workstation configuration simpler.
Apparently there is a reason why we don't do that having something to do with some legacy engineering stuff that we can't ditch. I will check on it, though.

Static IP obviously isn't the only thing that Microsoft screws up these days, there is a long list of computers that come my way that can't boot up any longer after a Win 10 update (friends and family) and so far the Win 10 repair has not been capable of fixing a single one. I finally figured out that one of the updates was to a desktop machine's wireless network card - although Microsoft claimed that I needed to clean install Win 10. After finding the convoluted method of safe booting Win 10 on a machine that won't boot, I disabled the wireless adapter and all of a sudden everything was fine.

Windows 10 is turning into a multi-trillion dollar joke.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-03-2018, 06:27 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Windows 10 is turning into a multi-trillion dollar joke.
LoL you got that right 19 October update is a major joke
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-03-2018, 07:08 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Apparently there is a reason why we don't do that having something to do with some legacy engineering stuff that we can't ditch. I will check on it, though.

Static IP obviously isn't the only thing that Microsoft screws up these days, there is a long list of computers that come my way that can't boot up any longer after a Win 10 update (friends and family) and so far the Win 10 repair has not been capable of fixing a single one. I finally figured out that one of the updates was to a desktop machine's wireless network card - although Microsoft claimed that I needed to clean install Win 10. After finding the convoluted method of safe booting Win 10 on a machine that won't boot, I disabled the wireless adapter and all of a sudden everything was fine.

Windows 10 is turning into a multi-trillion dollar joke.
Conversely Iíve not personally had any trouble with Windows 10. Of course I donít have exposure to as many systems as I once did. I switched from network admin/support to development. Systems is someone elseís problem now and have never been happier.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-05-2018, 06:19 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
For "everyday" web browsing I use a Chromebook and for anything else I use Ubuntu. I use Windows 10 occasionally but never really miss it. Ubuntu has come a long way and while the UI is still not quite as polished as Windows or Apple, it's very usable and stable.

Other than inertia, I see no reason to use Windows at home. Work is of course another issue. My workstation was recently upgraded to Win 10 due to MS dropping support for Win 7. That upgrade cost the company millions of dollars
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
timer, wake


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
"Not Manual Recording" filtering doesn't work in SageTV's "Upcoming Movies" menu vince100 SageTV Customizations 3 11-23-2009 03:56 PM
"Set defaults" for Series forgets "Keep"/"Auto-delete" setting maxpower SageMC Custom Interface 9 05-14-2008 09:44 PM
Stutter/Jitter using A180/Vbox and OTA? Check signal "Strength" not "quality" svemuri Hardware Support 0 12-13-2005 10:51 AM
Installing/Uninstalling "Got All Media" caused Sage to report "No capture device" VorpalBlade Hardware Support 3 10-15-2005 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.