SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2012, 08:57 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Where does one get old HD200 firmware?

tried to anonymous login to ftp://downloads.sagetv.com

Asks for creds.

Only links in FAQ are for last release. 0909 I believe. I want to try older releases for DTS dropouts.

Anyone have a repository?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2012, 09:41 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack View Post
tried to anonymous login to ftp://downloads.sagetv.com

Asks for creds.

Only links in FAQ are for last release. 0909 I believe. I want to try older releases for DTS dropouts.

Anyone have a repository?
Try this thread: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56956
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2012, 09:54 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Thanks but - dead end to links for 0909 only.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2012, 09:55 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack View Post
tried to anonymous login to ftp://downloads.sagetv.com

Asks for creds.

Only links in FAQ are for last release. 0909 I believe. I want to try older releases for DTS dropouts.

Anyone have a repository?
I'm assuming you're talking about an HD300 as the HD200 doesn't support DTS without "transcoding" from server, also if you intended DTS as well as DTS-HD, before attempting to change firmware, please read THIS as there is the possibility that your problem can be fixed that way.

EDIT: However if your issue is with the HD200 that means that you are transcoding from the server and the dropouts can be the server that hasn't got the "man" to do it, or possibly network issues.
EDIT2: What I meant by HD200 doesn't support DTS is that DTS is only pass-though on HD200, no down conversion to stereo, so the need to "transcode" from the server

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 05-20-2012 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2012, 10:25 AM
Slack's Avatar
Slack Slack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I'm assuming you're talking about an HD300 as the HD200 doesn't support DTS without "transcoding" from server, also if you intended DTS as well as DTS-HD, before attempting to change firmware, please read THIS as there is the possibility that your problem can be fixed that way.

EDIT: However if your issue is with the HD200 that means that you are transcoding from the server and the dropouts can be the server that hasn't got the "man" to do it, or possibly network issues.
EDIT2: What I meant by HD200 doesn't support DTS is that DTS is only pass-though on HD200, no down conversion to stereo, so the need to "transcode" from the server

Eddy
Talking about the HD200. NOT the HD300.
As you EDIT2'd: HD200 is simply passing the DTS bit stream to my amp. On some, not all, mkvs the HD200 with 0909 firmware exhibits DTS dropouts. Yes I have read many threads regarding this, and, I MAY choose to demux, process, and remux the DTS tracks.
But would like to downgrade firmware and check with a problematic file, as this is easier.

It is not the amp / chipset in the amp. Some SD content I can play through old XBOX / XBMC and the passthrough bitstream is handled just fine. Likewise on HD content I can fire up an ION based XBMC and amp handles the same DTS stream just fine. The latter is big PITA ATM as I do not wish to leave confines of SageTV (two HD200s and headless 2 tuner server) as it meets 99% of my needs in spades. 1% being this annoying DTS droput issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2012, 10:51 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack View Post
Yes I have read many threads regarding this, and, I MAY choose to demux, process, and remux the DTS tracks.
But would like to downgrade firmware and check with a problematic file, as this is easier.
Yes, I understand your point and in other circumstances I would do exactly the same as you, but now with extenders so ridiculously expensive, I would personally try the conversion route first as I would be worried to brick my extender...

In fact, you already established that the issue is within the extender not being able to handle the media correctly as you can play the same media on a XBOX without problem, hence downgrading the firmware is not necessary IMHO.

EDIT: Also, please bear in mind that most of the time the issue is within the containers (MKV, AVI, etc..) and not within the audio/video format itself. The containers most of the times "lies" to you, I'm in the video broadcast business myself and we see this all the time.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 05-20-2012 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2012, 06:39 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slack View Post
Thanks but - dead end to links for 0909 only.
I'm not sure why you are having troubles downloading these. I just downloaded 36 older versions of the HD200 binaries, dating all the way back to 2009. Seems to work just fine...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2019, 10:20 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I'm not sure why you are having troubles downloading these. I just downloaded 36 older versions of the HD200 binaries, dating all the way back to 2009. Seems to work just fine...
How do you DOWNGRADE the firmware to an older version? I have a couple of older versions and would like to try this as my HD200 is flaking out, but even by selecting 872 and UPDATE BY USB, when it sees the 2009 version, that's all it wants to use...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2019, 11:22 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
How do you DOWNGRADE the firmware to an older version? I have a couple of older versions and would like to try this as my HD200 is flaking out, but even by selecting 872 and UPDATE BY USB, when it sees the 2009 version, that's all it wants to use...
anyone? anyone know how to do this?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next firmware upgrade for HD200? mike_ac SageTV Media Extender 25 08-20-2009 11:34 AM
STP-HD200 Beta firmware mcaron1234 SageTV Media Extender 9 04-27-2009 01:34 PM
HD200 - different firmware different problems DrP SageTV Media Extender 1 02-26-2009 10:04 AM
STP-HD200 Firmware Brick? Wirenut SageTV Media Extender 3 01-17-2009 05:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.