SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2019, 04:56 PM
mgpaulus mgpaulus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 156
wiz.bin corruption??

I have some wierdnesses happening, and I'm thinking I have a problem with my wiz.bin.

I have a cr@pload of recordings (I'm at work and I don't have specifics at hand. If needed, I can provide). I also have a much smaller set of Videos that are mainly rips or other sources (playon, etc).

The issue I see is, every once in a while, if I "move" a media file from Videos to Recordings, it screwed up my listings.

E.g., recently I moved Mission: Impossible, Rogue Nation from Videos to Recordings. When I went to look for it in Recordings, I see Rogue Nation is now has 112 "copies" or instances. However, when I look at the actual details of one of the instances, I see that the entry is actually for another file.
If I go into BMT and try to update details for that 2nd instance that isn't the correct file, then it seems to also change details for some (I haven't looked to see how many instances it affects) of the other duplicate shows.

My conclusion is that I have some linked entries in wiz.bin that shouldn't be linked. And I'm not sure how to correct this. I don't want to delete the duplicates, because I'm afraid it'll delete the underlying file, which I don't want to happen.

Just wondered if anyone else had seen anything like this, or if they have any ideas on how to correct the issue?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2019, 01:17 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 787
I get the occasional Wiz.bin corruption and my workaround has been to back it up nightly, so I have a large number of backup copies.

When things go South, I fall back to the previous night's backup and, if that doesn't work, rinse and repeat until it does.

Two things I discovered long ago:
  • It's bad practice to use Windows' FileManager to delete movies and TV recordings. Creates response problems navigating lists... Pointers to nowhere in Wiz.bin is my guess.
    .
  • Booting up Sage with a props file devoid of any
    movie or TV import refs, letting it run for a few min, and then shutting it down and re-booting with the regular props file seems to have a "Compact-and-Repair" effect on Wiz,bin.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2019, 06:25 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Forum must be slow responding to threads 3 months old .. Joking
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2019, 08:41 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 197
Just noticed mine is like 2 GB! What are the correct steps to fix this now?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh No! Wiz.bin corruption reggie14 SageTV Software 4 10-09-2013 09:42 AM
Corruption SageGk SageMC Custom Interface 0 04-27-2008 10:47 AM
Anyone seen this corruption before? beautye350 SageTV Software 9 07-01-2004 11:06 AM
Corruption? mlbdude SageTV Software 0 01-23-2004 09:13 PM
wiz.bin corruption? PaulModz SageTV Software 7 08-05-2003 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.