SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2019, 04:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
What unRAID version are people using?

I started using unRAID about 2.5 years ago but for the last couple of years I haven't spent too much time maintaining my system. Consequently I am somewhat behind as I am running version 6.4.1 while the current version is 6.7.2 which came out in June.

Is anyone running 6.7.2 with the DVB version to faclitate the HD-PVR?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2019, 05:25 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I started using unRAID about 2.5 years ago but for the last couple of years I haven't spent too much time maintaining my system. Consequently I am somewhat behind as I am running version 6.4.1 while the current version is 6.7.2 which came out in June.

Is anyone running 6.7.2 with the DVB version to faclitate the HD-PVR?
I'm using 6.7.2 with 2 HDPVRs. I generally wait 1-4 weeks after a release and then upgrade, but, I do try to keep fairly current. The good thing is that upgrading is pretty quick and simple.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2019, 05:39 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
I'm on 6.7.2. as well - I was running HD-PVR's but a move in July has me no longer able to use them.
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2019, 07:58 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
I'm on 6.7.2. as well - I was running HD-PVR's but a move in July has me no longer able to use them.
Why is that? New boxes don't have component outputs? What are you using now?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2019, 02:47 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why is that? New boxes don't have component outputs? What are you using now?
I found that the TV provider here in Nova Scotia charges amounts over that of Rogers in Ontario - They also use a different type of delivery service so their set-top boxes are more of an ip driven type.

So I am using a low rate ($18) streaming service from my current IP Cable Reseller (Eyesurf). They use an app called ATOP on Roku or AndroidTV to watch their channels.

So my shows and movies are coming from Usenet now with Sonarr and Radarr and I don't record livetv anymore. Anyone need five HD-PVR's - ha!
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2019, 02:48 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Interesting - I though you were still in Paris, ON as you haven't updated your location.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2019, 07:49 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Interesting - I though you were still in Paris, ON as you haven't updated your location.
Oops! - So much has happened - moved to Nova Scotia in July - good cable internet speeds here so that is great!
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2019, 07:51 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
Oops! - So much has happened - moved to Nova Scotia in July - good cable internet speeds here so that is great!
I'm going to be moving to northern ontario in a couple years. I think that will be the end of sagetv for me I assume you have moved from sagetv as well... using Plex likely for TV/Movies?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2019, 08:45 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I'm using 6.7.2 with 2 HDPVRs. I generally wait 1-4 weeks after a release and then upgrade, but, I do try to keep fairly current. The good thing is that upgrading is pretty quick and simple.
For the benefit of those of us who have not upgraded yet, would you mind listing the steps involved in upgrading unRAID? Also, in case things donít go well, is it possible to revert back to the installed version prior to the upgrade?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2019, 09:10 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I'm going to be moving to northern ontario in a couple years. I think that will be the end of sagetv for me I assume you have moved from sagetv as well... using Plex likely for TV/Movies?
Yes - mostly using Plex for everything now - BUT there is nothing that rewinds or fast forwards like SageTV and I REALLY miss that.

I also miss the fact that SageTV can play my dvd and blu-ray ISO's and 'ripped to folders' files - why oh why can't there be ONE platform that does it all
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-05-2019, 04:48 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
For the benefit of those of us who have not upgraded yet, would you mind listing the steps involved in upgrading unRAID? Also, in case things donít go well, is it possible to revert back to the installed version prior to the upgrade?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
For the benefit of those of us who have not upgraded yet, would you mind listing the steps involved in upgrading unRAID? Also, in case things donít go well, is it possible to revert back to the installed version prior to the upgrade?
For me, I do the following...

1. upgrade unRaid using the unRaid link (mine shows an upgrade link at the bottom of the screen when there is an update). (then reboot)
2. Then from the Plugins tab I click on unRAID DVB and I choose the LibreElec image that match the unRAID that I just upgraded to. (then reboot)

That's pretty much all I do to upgrade, and I could probably just step 2... ie, I don't even think that I need to upgrade unRAID first, but I do anyways.

If something bad happens, you can revert by using the unRAID DVB plugin and just selecting the previous version that you had.

Upgrading unRAID is about simple as it gets.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-06-2019, 05:58 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
For me, I do the following...

1. upgrade unRaid using the unRaid link (mine shows an upgrade link at the bottom of the screen when there is an update). (then reboot)
2. Then from the Plugins tab I click on unRAID DVB and I choose the LibreElec image that match the unRAID that I just upgraded to. (then reboot)

That's pretty much all I do to upgrade, and I could probably just step 2... ie, I don't even think that I need to upgrade unRAID first, but I do anyways.

If something bad happens, you can revert by using the unRAID DVB plugin and just selecting the previous version that you had.

Upgrading unRAID is about simple as it gets.
Thanks for the info. I think I might add a step 0.5, which would be a backup of the unRAID thumb drive.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-06-2019, 07:11 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Thanks for the info. I think I might add a step 0.5, which would be a backup of the unRAID thumb drive.
You should probably run the TOOLS - UPDATE ASSISTANT which will look at your system and recommend changes before the upgrade.

An additional step that I like to take is to disable the docker and vm manager in the settings BEFORE I do the update.

Then I do the steps of upgrading - rebooting - install DVB edition - reboot - and the turn back on docker and vm manager (if you use that).

Probably not necessary but nice to get away from all the dockers trying to start on the reboots. Seems to work very well for me ...
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-06-2019, 09:06 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Thanks for the info. I think I might add a step 0.5, which would be a backup of the unRAID thumb drive.
How do you do this? I use to run a backup routine that backed up the thumb drive and dockers but the one that I was using was deprecated and I never replaced it.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:30 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
How do you do this? I use to run a backup routine that backed up the thumb drive and dockers but the one that I was using was deprecated and I never replaced it.
I have used USB Image Tool in the past. I shut down unRAID, remove the USB drive, insert the drive into a Windows computer, and back it up to a .img file. Haven't had to restore yet, so I can't speak to how well that works.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:39 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
You should probably run the TOOLS - UPDATE ASSISTANT which will look at your system and recommend changes before the upgrade.

An additional step that I like to take is to disable the docker and vm manager in the settings BEFORE I do the update.

Then I do the steps of upgrading - rebooting - install DVB edition - reboot - and the turn back on docker and vm manager (if you use that).

Probably not necessary but nice to get away from all the dockers trying to start on the reboots. Seems to work very well for me ...
Hmmm, looking under Tools, but I don't see any sort of Update Assistant. I'm currently on 6.3.2, maybe I'm not looking in the right spot???
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-07-2019, 07:03 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hmmm, looking under Tools, but I don't see any sort of Update Assistant. I'm currently on 6.3.2, maybe I'm not looking in the right spot???
Oh - this was added in 6.4 branch - sorry ... just check that your Plugins and Dockers are up to date before your OS upgrade.
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-07-2019, 07:34 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am currently running unRAID 6.3.2. When I click on the "Check for Updates" button, unRAID gives me the option to upgrade to version 6.5.3. Do I need to upgrade to 6.5.3 before I can upgrade to a more current version, like 6.7.2?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-09-2019, 10:05 AM
c5davey c5davey is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am currently running unRAID 6.3.2. When I click on the "Check for Updates" button, unRAID gives me the option to upgrade to version 6.5.3. Do I need to upgrade to 6.5.3 before I can upgrade to a more current version, like 6.7.2?
I just did the upgrade yesterday. Went from 6.3.5 to 6.5.3 and then to 6.7.2. The only issue I had was that the plugin 'Dev Tools' was not compatible with 6.5.3 so be sure to remove it if you have it installed.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-09-2019, 03:25 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5davey View Post
I just did the upgrade yesterday. Went from 6.3.5 to 6.5.3 and then to 6.7.2. The only issue I had was that the plugin 'Dev Tools' was not compatible with 6.5.3 so be sure to remove it if you have it installed.
Thanks. I may try my upgrade this weekend, before the fall schedule begins...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
People can't use Computers panteragstk General Discussion 7 07-22-2017 03:51 PM
What are people doing for ... pat_smith1969 General Discussion 54 01-23-2009 03:48 PM
To people using multiple HD-PVR's... Shield Hardware Support 14 08-23-2008 01:31 AM
For all the Cat Avatar people mike_15 The SageTV Community 2 12-20-2007 05:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.