SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:33 AM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Question DVD Cover art not showing for some movies

Hi All,

I have ripped all my original DVD's to HDD (vob), and, using the IMDB search in SageMC, have grabbed all movie details.

This has worked perfectly for 99% of my movies, but some of them just won't show the folder.jpg correctly.

When I do a IMDB search, it finds the details, shows the DVD cover on the right hand of the video details screen (see attached).. but if I save (both or just image), the .jpg does not display in the video info screen.

I have checked the folder.jpg in the video_ts folder, it is the same size and resolution as other movies.
I have tried rescan import folders (suggested in another thread)
I have tried to delete the folder.jpg, and re-import it.

Nothing seems to work.. the image never shows (Via HD200's or on the PC)

As you can see in my screenshots, the covers work for most of my films (300+), I have maybe 5 films which just won't work!

Any ideas anyone?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MissingArt.jpg (42.0 KB, 325 views)
File Type: jpg Cover.jpg (84.4 KB, 312 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:50 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Refresh your media directories or restart Sage. They should show up.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:38 AM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Hi Gerry,

Thanks for the response,
Restart of Sage does not help (I even tried restarting my WHS box which hosts Sage).
When you say "refresh media directories", is this different than Rescan import folders?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:43 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Sorry-same difference. Make sure you have the latest nielm_imdb.jar file. It should be in this post. Don't forget to stop Sage before you copy it in.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:03 AM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Hi Again Gerry,

Ok, I did that (after getting very confused with Nielm's download links, the link you pointed to is the most recent one..)

Exactly the same behaviour.. I have fanart backgrounds which load perfectly.. but the thumbnail does not show.

Some more experimentation:
I tried replacing the folder.jpg with a known working image (from a different movie).
The thumbnail still did not show.
So, I guess this means the file is stored in a cache somewhere (or is it in wiz.bin?)

When I try re-getting the data from IMDB, it refreshes the folder.jpg with the file from imdb.

I attach the image which is not showing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg folder.jpg (4.0 KB, 274 views)
__________________
My Setup: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q8300) on an Asus P5Q premium Mb (10 sata ports!), WHS with MyMovies & Squeezecenter, 4gb Ram, SSD System Disk & 12 Tb of Pool, 3 HD200's, Running Beta v7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:36 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Where are you putting the image file? It needs to go into the VIDEO_TS folder. (Also make sure you have extensions enabled in the folder options so you can see the file extensions. If not you end up with folder.jpg.jpg.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:59 AM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Where am I putting the folder.jpg?
\\Core\DVDs Films\V for Vendetta\VIDEO_TS\folder.jpg

This is also the same location Nielm's IMDB plugin updates if I click "save" from SageMC.

I am sure the file extension is correct (Hide extension for known filetypes is _not_ checked on server.. and I am RDP'ing into the server direct.)

The interesting point for me is that SageMC does not seem to use this file at all.. even if I replace the file with another one.. I still see nothing.

Where is this getting cached.. and how can I reset it?

Cheers
Will
__________________
My Setup: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q8300) on an Asus P5Q premium Mb (10 sata ports!), WHS with MyMovies & Squeezecenter, 4gb Ram, SSD System Disk & 12 Tb of Pool, 3 HD200's, Running Beta v7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:34 PM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
Hey, got the same problem. Of 194 movies, this one does not work. Can not figure it out. The cover shows up in the list (highlighted in Cover.jpg), but not on the info screen. I've worked on it many times but never could get it to work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cover.jpg (73.2 KB, 257 views)
File Type: jpg No Cover.jpg (91.0 KB, 269 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2009, 02:14 PM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Hi Voorhees,

Well, at least I know i'm not alone!..
I can understand this is not a major issue.. and it seems that we are in a minority!

I even tried re-formatting my server and re-installing.. nothing helped!

Does anyone know the answer to my question? where are these files cached? and how can I clear that cache?

Thanks
Will
__________________
My Setup: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q8300) on an Asus P5Q premium Mb (10 sata ports!), WHS with MyMovies & Squeezecenter, 4gb Ram, SSD System Disk & 12 Tb of Pool, 3 HD200's, Running Beta v7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:29 AM
wjones wjones is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 45
Hi All,

I have found a solution & possible cause of this.

Cause: Renaming the folder containing the vob files.
I have been renaming my folders to get them to match the actual film name - which means that the IMDB search works better.

Solution: The only way I have managed to get these to refresh was to remove the folder from the media import directories, perform a rescan (which gets rid of everything).. then re-add and rescan. This seems to splat the cache and allows the new correct dvd folder icon.

Cheers
__________________
My Setup: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q8300) on an Asus P5Q premium Mb (10 sata ports!), WHS with MyMovies & Squeezecenter, 4gb Ram, SSD System Disk & 12 Tb of Pool, 3 HD200's, Running Beta v7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cover art, folder.jpg, imdb


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Album cover art not showing up Skarr11 SageTV Software 5 10-07-2006 01:20 PM
Not showing music cover art (it is in the tags) jimbruskalski SageTV Software 5 04-25-2006 01:48 AM
DVD Cover Art Not Showing Up? gaspower SageTV Customizations 8 03-02-2006 02:24 AM
DVD Cover Art not Showing Up? Steve52 SageTV Software 13 02-27-2006 04:19 PM
Showing Video/CD Cover Art? theMixxMaster SageTV Beta Test Software 1 01-24-2004 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.