SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2008, 12:02 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
R5000 External enclosure

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/down...do=file&id=272

Discussions...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:53 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 607
I tried to download the file, but I get this error from Rapidshare:

Quote:
This file is neither allocated to a Premium Account, or a Collector's Account, and can therefore only be downloaded 10 times.

This limit is reached.

To download this file, the uploader either needs to transfer this file into his/her Collector's Account, or upload the file again. The file can later be moved to a Collector's Account. The uploader just needs to click the delete link of the file to get further information.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:12 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
I tried to download the file, but I get this error from Rapidshare:
Try again, I uploaded to a different site.

Here is a direct link;
h**p://www.filefactory.com/file/bf7600/n/External_Box_How_To_rar
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2008, 10:03 AM
perfessor101 perfessor101 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 243
Thank you for the file and the pics

This looks like a really cool way of doing it ...

My next question would be how does it connect up to the STB box?

Very new to the R5000 thing ...

Do I have to do any internal soldering in the STB?

How much time will I have to spend practicing soldering before I attempt this?
(I got a Bernzomatic PS-135 a while ago)
Guess I may need a grounding wrist strap ...

I'd be looking at the Starchoice (motorola dsr505 hd) models probably ...

Thanks for your time ...
Bobby
__________________
SageTV Server: Windows 7 64Bit, Phenom II X6 1090T, Asus M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3), ATI Radeon HD 4290, 2 x KHX1600C9D3/4GX, 4 x HD-PVR2 Gaming, , 4 x 320GB recording drives, 2 x USB-UIRT, SageTV Server Beta
SageTV Client & 2 x HD-300 Extender.
40.8TB unRaid 6.6.5 media server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2008, 11:09 AM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by perfessor101 View Post
This looks like a really cool way of doing it ...

My next question would be how does it connect up to the STB box?

Very new to the R5000 thing ...

Do I have to do any internal soldering in the STB?

How much time will I have to spend practicing soldering before I attempt this?
(I got a Bernzomatic PS-135 a while ago)
Guess I may need a grounding wrist strap ...

I'd be looking at the Starchoice (motorola dsr505 hd) models probably ...

Thanks for your time ...
Bobby
It connects to the STB by a DB9 modem cable. You cut the cable in half. Solder up to eight wires to the STB circuit board and route the cable out the back of the STB.

The "Wiring Diagram" shows the pin outs for a dishnet VIP211 receiver.

Yes, you have to be able to do surface mount component soldering. A starchoice will use different reference points for connections on the satchoice STB circuit board.

This is how I did the connections. Apply solder to the wire ends and then place the wire on the reference point on the STB circuit board and touch the soldering iron very quickly to the wire and pull away. These soldering points are very small and if you hold the soldering iron on the board, the board with be damaged. Just gently pull on the wire after soldering if it pulls off repeat. The trick is to get the wire soldered in place very quickly. Good eye sight helps.

Last edited by jerryt; 11-17-2008 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2008, 11:57 AM
viperdiablo viperdiablo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
peternm22 just wanted to let you know if you are thinking about getting starchoice, the DSR505 hd model is on sale at bestbuy this week for 99 bucks. Pretty sweet deal add that to the sale for the r5000 and your looking good.:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2008, 04:32 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperdiablo View Post
peternm22 just wanted to let you know if you are thinking about getting starchoice, the DSR505 hd model is on sale at bestbuy this week for 99 bucks. Pretty sweet deal add that to the sale for the r5000 and your looking good.:
I assume you mean Best Buy stores in Canada. I don't think US BB stores sell the DSR505!
__________________
Server: Sage 6.5.9 - X2 3800+, DFI NF4 MB, 1 GB, 300 GB HD (system disk), NV 7600GS, - Windows XP SP2
Client 1: Sage 6.5.9 - E7200, Abit IP35 Pro, ATI 4850 with HDMI connect to Denon 3808CI and Sony A3000 SXRD TV
Client 2: HD200 connected to Denon 3808CI and A3000 SXRD TV
Client 3: Media MVP to 15" Toshiba LCD
Client 4: HD100 connected to Samsung 23" 720P LCD
Client 5: HD100 connected to Vizio VX37L
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:33 PM
viperdiablo viperdiablo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
Yes sorry, they are the Best Buy stores in Canada
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:13 PM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
Just wanted to see if anyone has given this a try for the Motorola DCP-501? If so, what are your thoughts about going the external vs. internal route?

Thanks.
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:19 PM
greg25 greg25 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
Try again, I uploaded to a different site.

Here is a direct link;
h**p://www.filefactory.com/file/bf7600/n/External_Box_How_To_rar
Hi, i have been looking for a solution like that. Could you please reload the images?

thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R5000 mod or Hauppauge HD PVR viperdiablo Hardware Support 27 01-11-2009 10:41 AM
2-Sata Raid 1 USB External enclosure. Folkboat Hardware Support 6 11-13-2008 04:53 PM
r5000 and DISH: Problem with music channels cejota3 SageTV Software 5 10-07-2008 05:33 PM
New setup - WHS R5000 HD100 - No Video mediahome SageTV Software 2 12-15-2007 03:00 AM
My problems with R5000 system vorius SageTV Software 8 10-01-2007 12:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.