SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-09-2011, 04:37 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
See cost is my main disadvantage and why i can't convince myself. I can buy two or more extenders for the price of a client build with windows license. I keep trying to convince myself but the extra money just doesn't seem worth it.
If you cared about saving money, you wouldn't be using Sage... just saying. If anything, I evangelize the PC clients, because I feel it's a complete shame that the great UI developers have all shifted focus to 'extender-compliant' UI's, making all of sage's great work on the 3D acceleration in v7 unused. Personally, I still feel that the extenders are great for secondary viewing locations (bedroom, garage, kitchen, etc), where it's usually just watching a single show and turning it off. My primary location, where there is a lot more movies and menu navigation, will probably always be PC based.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-09-2011, 04:46 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Personally, I still feel that the extenders are great for secondary viewing locations (bedroom, garage, kitchen, etc), where it's usually just watching a single show and turning it off. My primary location, where there is a lot more movies and menu navigation, will probably always be PC based.
Interesting... for Sage duties *only*, I see no benefit to a PC over the HD300.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-09-2011, 04:58 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
If you cared about saving money, you wouldn't be using Sage... just saying. If anything, I evangelize the PC clients, because I feel it's a complete shame that the great UI developers have all shifted focus to 'extender-compliant' UI's, making all of sage's great work on the 3D acceleration in v7 unused. Personally, I still feel that the extenders are great for secondary viewing locations (bedroom, garage, kitchen, etc), where it's usually just watching a single show and turning it off. My primary location, where there is a lot more movies and menu navigation, will probably always be PC based.
Now now you never know what is in store as far as ui go, but most have been limiting because most use extenders.

I good 3d view in diamond wonder if someone is working on that...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-09-2011, 07:31 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
Interesting... for Sage duties *only*, I see no benefit to a PC over the HD300.
Perhaps.. but HD Netflix, BluRay menus/BDLive & 3D BluRay are enough of a reason for me to spend a one time extra $150 or so. The added ability to run an old school NES emulator is icing on the cake.. ;-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-10-2011, 04:16 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Perhaps.. but HD Netflix, BluRay menus/BDLive & 3D BluRay are enough of a reason for me to spend a one time extra $150 or so. The added ability to run an old school NES emulator is icing on the cake.. ;-)
See the emulator is what is pushing me on wanting one more than the hd Netflix since my tv has that built in it is easy enough to Pull up over sagetv, but I run emulators in my office and am starting to itch to get it in the living room. Blu ray menus I never want.

So that begs the question i3 or i5....are you using the dedicated video or a separate gpu?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:10 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
One of the strengths of Sage is the fact that it runs on extenders and full PCs. Choice is good because all users have different wants and needs.

For me a PC by the TV is a non-starter. For others a full function PC connected to the TV is a must. Viva la differance.

Thank you Sage for the choice.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-10-2011, 07:50 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
So that begs the question i3 or i5....are you using the dedicated video or a separate gpu?
I'm just using a super cheap i3-530 with the integrated GPU through an H55 chipset motherboard (mini-ITX, small, quiet)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-10-2011, 08:31 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I'm just using a super cheap i3-530 with the integrated GPU through an H55 chipset motherboard (mini-ITX, small, quiet)
+1 to that. The intel graphics on my h55 didn't go well with my tv due to the massive overscan, but other than that I've been extremely happy with my i3 client. I'm going for a dedicated gpu for the simple fact that the one I'm looking at gets a better HQV score than my i3, and the greater flexibility with overscan and things like that. When I used my plasma that had zero overscan the i3 integrated graphics were awesome.

I too like the ability to use my emulators. I never realized how much I love those old games. Now if I could just find out who put the mame and arcade stuff in studio...
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:17 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Overscan isn't a problem in sage, or other video players... The only time I might see it as an issue is with the emulators, but I just run them at a window in the right position and size to hide the borders in my overscan.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:53 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
For those using Netflix on an HTPC how do you access Netflix - via the web page? Windows MC? Are there other friendly 10 ft UIs?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 05-11-2011, 01:07 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Boxee make - software only. no hardware. runs on Windows and LInux. Very nice. Free.

as you may know, new Internet capable TVs and DVDs can play Netflix and others. Mine do.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:17 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
Boxee make - software only. no hardware. runs on Windows and LInux. Very nice. Free.

as you may know, new Internet capable TVs and DVDs can play Netflix and others. Mine do.
Actually Boxee also make the boxer box. Good review up on missing remote right now, but it is not the same as the pc experience.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:50 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
How good is the Wii for Netflix?

My wife want's to get one mainly for wii fit. I'm thinking that it might be a lot better for netflix too? Can it do HD?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:52 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
How good is the Wii for Netflix?

My wife want's to get one mainly for wii fit. I'm thinking that it might be a lot better for netflix too? Can it do HD?
Terrible IMHO it only can do 480p and using the wii remote to navigate is anything but great.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:58 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Not exactly the answer I was hoping for Thanks for the info. I'd rather get a ps3 or something. But she really want's wii fit...
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:02 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
Not exactly the answer I was hoping for Thanks for the info. I'd rather get a ps3 or something. But she really want's wii fit...
She can do better workout with a xbox kinect or at least that is what the wife says Then you also gain hulu plus
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:56 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Wii has to be better than PlayOn for Netflix. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-11-2011, 08:15 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
For those using Netflix on an HTPC how do you access Netflix - via the web page? Windows MC? Are there other friendly 10 ft UIs?
I have sage launch boxee to use netflix, vudu and some of the other built in "channels". For hulu, I just have sage launch huludesktop. Playon is perfectly fine for other rooms, but for my "theater" room it just doesn't cut it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-11-2011, 08:42 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I have sage launch boxee to use netflix, vudu and some of the other built in "channels". For hulu, I just have sage launch huludesktop. Playon is perfectly fine for other rooms, but for my "theater" room it just doesn't cut it.
If I build a client I will use netflix api to build a sage UI and then launch the netflix player directly so it is more integrated.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:11 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
When I build a client I will use netflix api to build a sage UI and then launch the netflix player directly so it is more integrated.
There i fixed it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netflix Control: A Netflix Silverlight Remote Control Script brainbone SageMC Custom Interface 59 04-22-2013 01:44 PM
Blu-ray player recommendation rgroves The SageTV Community 8 12-04-2010 07:33 PM
Anyone using PowerDVD8 Ultra player instead of SageTV DVD player? TechBill SageTV Customizations 11 11-12-2008 10:24 PM
Roku serves up Netflix Player source code oddjob Hardware Support 2 07-03-2008 08:35 AM
WHS Recommendation gblinckmann Hardware Support 2 11-22-2007 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.