SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2015, 01:32 AM
orrd orrd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 52
HD200 stuck on the "SageTV" logo at startup... is it dead?

My HD200 never gets past the "SageTV" logo at startup. It just stays on the logo screen and it doesn't respond to the remote (not even the power button).

I tried the reset holding the delete button, and that make the red LED flash a few times, but it still didn't work after restarting. I also tried updating the firmware with the .bin file on my SageTV server and holding the back button at startup. After several hours it was still sitting there with the red LED on and the green one flickering, so I restarted it. Still not getting past the logo screen.

Is there anything else I should try, or is it permanently dead?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2015, 06:41 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Things to try:

1) If you have another HD200, try a different power cord in the event the power adapter is on its way down.

2) If the network cable is plugged in during startup, try startup with the network cable unplugged.

3) This is an HD300 situation, but I suppose might work on an HD200, read the thread through focusing on Dave Beddows instructions:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61429

4) Unplug the power overnight and plug it back in the next day to see if it starts up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2015, 09:35 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 429
Several of my HD200s have occasionally experienced the symptoms you report. In every case, it's been recoverable by doing one or both of the following:

1. Sometimes the HD200 locks up and using the remote's power on/off button won't recover. Instead, power cycle the HD200 by disconnecting the DC power cable, wait 30 seconds and then plug it back in.

2. Sometimes the HD200's HDMI interface gets upset. In this case, you're stuck with the Sage logo continuously being displayed on the device connected to the HDMI port, while the component/composite outputs work just fine. To determine if this is the situation, temporarily connect the TV (or whatever) to the non-HDMI outputs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2015, 10:46 PM
orrd orrd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 52
Thanks to both KryptoNyte and JustFred for the suggestions.

JustFred's #2 solution of connecting it by composite and re-configuring the HDMI settings fixed it! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2015, 07:26 AM
Rob23 Rob23 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
That's a good tip on reconfiguring the HDMI settings. I've occassionally had to disconnect the power supply, but have not encountered the HDMI issue. Glad to know there's a workaround should it occur.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2015, 10:14 AM
orrd orrd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 52
Yeah, I had tried everything else, leaving it unplugged, different power supply, using the video out button, etc. It's strange because it wasn't just not displaying video... it wouldn't even respond to the remote control to turn it off, so the HDMI somehow was crashing it completely.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Squashed" "TV" options under HD200 Sage 7 Savage1701 SageTV Media Extender 3 12-06-2010 08:32 PM
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
Client stuck on "SageTV server has been lost" kobekatt SageTV Software 2 01-30-2010 10:24 PM
"-startup" and "ui/startup_type=2" BROKEN in SageTV 6.2.x mkanet SageTV Software 3 12-10-2007 01:18 PM
MVP stuck on "Loading SageTV Media Centre, Please Wait..." sjgore SageTV Media Extender 16 01-25-2007 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.