SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2017, 10:51 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD w/2 tuners: fixed

I've added support for both tuners of the WinTV-dualHD usb stick for Sage 9 (Windows). (Prior to v9.1.7, Sage only saw one tuner of this device.) It's been tested on a couple of systems. The code changes haven't been pulled into GitHub yet, since I was hoping someone would be able to test & verify that everything works with multiple usb sticks (I only have one).

Until the fix gets built into an official release, the attached .dll can be used, which makes all tuners of the Hauppauge quadHD and dualHD devices accessible. This file is ONLY for Sage 9. It's a debug build, and logs a bit more info than usual to the sagetv_0.txt log file.

To use:
1) Stop the SageTv program and service
2) Make a backup of Sage.properties and the current DShowCapture.dll (both in SageTv/SageTv).
3) Replace the original DShowCapture.dll with the new unzipped file.
4) Restart Sage and (assuming the dualHD stick and drivers are already installed) 2 tuners for each usb stick should show up in the list of Video Sources.

If your Sage system previously had the dualHD installed & configured (it showed up as 'Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD TS Capture'), it's old tuner config will disappear. Instead, two new Video Sources will now be available: 'Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD ATSC Tuner' and 'Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD ATSC Tuner 2'. Use Sage's 'Setup Video Sources' wizard to Add and configure both tuners.

The attached .jpg shows how Sage displays the tuner names.

Please report results, especially with multiple usb sticks.

Known Issue: the Video Preview in Channel Setup always shows Signal Strength 0% and overlays "No Signal", but otherwise works as expected. This appears to be a Hauppauge (not Sage) limitation.

Note: if you later decide to install a newer version of Sage on top of your existing installation, be sure to either restore the original DShowCapture.dll, or run the installer TWICE, doing a Repair the 2nd time.

EDIT: to avoid confusion, I removed the .dll from this post. Sage 9.1.7.xx and later includes the fix.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WinTV-dualHD.jpg (100.1 KB, 74 views)
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.

Last edited by JustFred; 01-05-2019 at 10:13 AM. Reason: removed dll; install Sage Version 9.1.7 or later
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2017, 04:59 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,414
Multiple USB sticks are good to go I been running all 4 tuners for 6 hours now
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dualhd.jpg (183.0 KB, 92 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2017, 07:10 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 157
Thanks, works great.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_201, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2017, 09:17 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Unfortunately, the fix wasn't submitted to GitHub in time to be included in today's release of the "official" Windows installer, v9.1.6.747. So for now, anyone wanting both tuners should continue to use the .dll I supplied.

The fix should be in any subsequent official releases.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2019, 11:56 PM
antix antix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Victoria
Posts: 2
I just downloaded the latest version of SageTV as I replaced my Winfast dual tuner which is starting to play up after 3 years with a new Hauppage dual USB tuner.
I am not able to scan for new channels nor can I see two tuners in the list.
I was wondering where I could get my hands on the above mentioned zip file so I can replace the required dll's?

Regards
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2019, 07:05 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,059
Which latest version of SageTV? There's a few around at the moment

John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2019, 10:05 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by antix View Post
I was wondering where I could get my hands on the above mentioned zip file so I can replace the required dll's?
There's no need for that old .dll any more, which is why I removed it from my old posting. Sage 9.1.7 and later includes support for this tuner. Sorry for the confusion; I've edited my earlier post to note the above.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2019, 01:15 PM
antix antix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Victoria
Posts: 2
I was running an earlier version but that didnít work to start with so I downloaded 9.1.10 but it made no difference.
Could the latest Hauppauge drivers be causing the issue?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD TV Tuner USB and Soon a Quad Tuner PCIe SHS Hardware Support 12 10-02-2016 11:07 AM
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 setup/install issue: Analog tuners not capturing CC text taylork Hardware Support 8 09-29-2010 07:23 PM
WinTv 500MCE tuners not changing channels. Jgart Hardware Support 6 07-27-2006 09:57 PM
Quality DIfferences in WinTV-PVR 150 Tuners? joe123 Hardware Support 0 02-16-2006 11:30 PM
10 Tuners with WinTV-PVR-500MCE??? medialivingroom Hardware Support 19 10-18-2004 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.