SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 11:21 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 320
Halt detected in recording

SageTV v9 32bit HD300

This has been happening periodically for quite some time but is now becoming the norm:

Watching (not recording) a program on live OTA: At the hour and/or half hour, if program changes, the screen will go black and SageTV is frozen. The only way out is to hit the "Guide" key and "run" the program. (The guide does not open on the program I was watching but a few channels up.) The error message is:

Quote:
Warning
The device input "Silicondust HDHomeRun Tuner <xxxxx> Digital TV Tuner" stopped producing data while recording "<show>" on <TV channel> on physical channel 32-31-1. SageTV will try to reset the device. This may be caused by a channel that is not available.
I have 10 tuners and each are set up in "Setup>Detailed Setup>Customize" to a different Merit Priority Value. I notice that when I restart SageTV (using the "Guide"), it connects to the same tuner that the error message points to.

I don't remember making any changes -- except to add the Silicondust Ultra but this was happening before that.

What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2018, 11:35 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
If you search around you can find other threads who have had issues at the top/bottom of the hour while watching live tv during a program change. I don't remember the resolution. But you can check that seeker/fast_mux_switch=true in your properties file since I believe that is one cause for this error.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2018, 11:50 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
If you search around you can find other threads who have had issues at the top/bottom of the hour while watching live tv during a program change. I don't remember the resolution. But you can check that seeker/fast_mux_switch=true in your properties file since I believe that is one cause for this error.
Thank you. (The obvious should be a first choice <chuckle>)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2018, 12:36 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
If you search around you can find other threads who have had issues at the top/bottom of the hour while watching live tv during a program change. I don't remember the resolution. But you can check that seeker/fast_mux_switch=true in your properties file since I believe that is one cause for this error.
I get that error sometimes as well. Are you saying that to prevent the error the property should be set to "true" or that setting it to "true" causes the error, so it should be set to "false" ?
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2018, 01:49 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,051
Setting it true means the tuner will keep streaming data but the file switches to a new one. Setting false causes the capture to stop, close and then start up a new capture into the new file. Therefore, false is more likely to cause problems if your tuner is acting up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2018, 07:45 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Setting it true means the tuner will keep streaming data but the file switches to a new one. Setting false causes the capture to stop, close and then start up a new capture into the new file. Therefore, false is more likely to cause problems if your tuner is acting up.

I have not had opportunity to try the other fixes suggested in the "search" results but... my setting was set to "True."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2018, 08:23 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
I found the specific thread that I was thinking of which resulted in a fix introduced in v9.0.13. I assume you're running a revision newer than 9.0.13?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2018, 08:57 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I found the specific thread that I was thinking of which resulted in a fix introduced in v9.0.13. I assume you're running a revision newer than 9.0.13?
I show it as v9.1.7.757.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2018, 10:42 PM
wdawg1000 wdawg1000 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: sw ohio
Posts: 5
Hello

The following eliminated my SageTV freezing at program changes. There is still a slight pause/black screen on program changes.

Make this registry change

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Frey Technologies\Common\DirectShow
EnableSageTVStreamDemux = 0


Changes to Sage and/or SageClient properties

videoframe/safe_fast_file_switching=false

seeker/fast_mux_switch=false

Hope it helps

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2018, 07:44 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdawg1000 View Post
Make this registry change

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Frey Technologies\Common\DirectShow
EnableSageTVStreamDemux = 0

seeker/fast_mux_switch=false
Did you add this to your Registry? It is not found in mine.

Nor is the "seeker" line found in Properties.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2018, 08:11 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Did you add this to your Registry? It is not found in mine.

Nor is the "seeker" line found in Properties.
The default for 'EnableSageTVStreamDemux' in the code is 1 so its only necessary to add it in the registry if you want it disabled (0).

k
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-16-2018, 04:52 PM
wdawg1000 wdawg1000 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: sw ohio
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Did you add this to your Registry? It is not found in mine.

Nor is the "seeker" line found in Properties.
It's been several years since I implemented these changes and I don't recall the original state of my system. I just checked and the changes are in my registry and properties file. These changes are in my notes for SageTV but I think they were pulled from threads on this forum. For reference I have Windows 7 64 bit and SageTV 9.1.10.783.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halt detected in recording, end up with mpg and ts gprichardson1 Hardware Support 1 06-17-2014 07:58 AM
HDHomeRun - Halt Detected in Recording tmiranda SageTV Beta Test Software 20 01-24-2011 11:57 AM
Halt Detected in recording PiX64 SageMC Custom Interface 18 04-13-2010 06:03 PM
Halt Detected In Recording vrscdx Hardware Support 43 03-05-2010 09:14 AM
Halt detected in recording loonsailor SageTV Software 0 08-12-2009 12:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.