SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2018, 11:18 AM
Batman7349 Batman7349 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln,NE
Posts: 40
Sage server crashing

Window 10 performed an update 2 days ago. Ever since it seems that my server quits and does not restart. I have to reboot the system, then power down my 4 HD 300’s so that the configuration loading screen appears before things work again. Just turning off the HD 300’s after a reboot will not work, just no signal or blank screen. Anybody else having issues after last update? This has been a once or twice a day event.
__________________
Server: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Win 10,SageTVv9, OS Transcend 128 SSD, 4 WD RE4 Black 2TB
Sources: Silicondust Connect Quatro
Mitsubishi HD1000 110", Samsung KS9000 SUHD
Clients: 3 - HD300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2018, 09:55 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 638
Does the log file sagetv_0.txt have anything of interest at the bottom after the crash? Are there any hs_err_pid.log files?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2018, 05:52 AM
Batman7349 Batman7349 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln,NE
Posts: 40
I thought the issue had resolved itself, but last night the sagetv service crashed 3 times in a ten minute span. I tried stopping and restarting the service but that did not work. I had to reboot the system. I'm not an expert reading the file so I have uploaded it. Maybe the comskip plug in. Or maybe i need to increase the ram on the server. Running Windows 10 with 4GB ram on an older EP45-UD3P motherboard.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_0.txt (661.5 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Server: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Win 10,SageTVv9, OS Transcend 128 SSD, 4 WD RE4 Black 2TB
Sources: Silicondust Connect Quatro
Mitsubishi HD1000 110", Samsung KS9000 SUHD
Clients: 3 - HD300
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2018, 06:32 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman7349 View Post
I thought the issue had resolved itself, but last night the sagetv service crashed 3 times in a ten minute span. I tried stopping and restarting the service but that did not work. I had to reboot the system. I'm not an expert reading the file so I have uploaded it. Maybe the comskip plug in. Or maybe i need to increase the ram on the server. Running Windows 10 with 4GB ram on an older EP45-UD3P motherboard.
There is no smoking gun in the logfile. The logging just suddenly stops with no errors at all.

Was the server running when you grabbed this logfile or had it crashed already?
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:40 AM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 638
Are there any hs_err_pid*.log files in the Sage directory? Those are left behind if the Java engine crashes hard and can sometimes help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2018, 02:07 PM
Batman7349 Batman7349 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln,NE
Posts: 40
The Sage service box said service running but none of my 3 HD300's could find an IP address. I would stop then restart the service but again the HD300's can not find an IP address. Reboot the computer and then the HD300's can obtain the IP address. Maybe its an issue with the PC. I'm going down to look for the java log....
__________________
Server: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Win 10,SageTVv9, OS Transcend 128 SSD, 4 WD RE4 Black 2TB
Sources: Silicondust Connect Quatro
Mitsubishi HD1000 110", Samsung KS9000 SUHD
Clients: 3 - HD300
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2018, 02:27 PM
Batman7349 Batman7349 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln,NE
Posts: 40
The only hs_err_pid.log was almost two years old, so that was not the case. I did find these smoking guns however. These were the three crashes that I experience last night. No crashes since....
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_1.txt (694.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: txt sagetv_2.txt (188.3 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Server: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Win 10,SageTVv9, OS Transcend 128 SSD, 4 WD RE4 Black 2TB
Sources: Silicondust Connect Quatro
Mitsubishi HD1000 110", Samsung KS9000 SUHD
Clients: 3 - HD300
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2018, 02:33 PM
Batman7349 Batman7349 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln,NE
Posts: 40
One more
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_3.txt (20.9 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Server: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Win 10,SageTVv9, OS Transcend 128 SSD, 4 WD RE4 Black 2TB
Sources: Silicondust Connect Quatro
Mitsubishi HD1000 110", Samsung KS9000 SUHD
Clients: 3 - HD300
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:18 PM
JustFred JustFred is online now
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 268
Some additional info might help:

1. Check the Windows Event Viewer. Are there any interesting Application event entries around the time of interest?

2. Win10... 32-bit or 64-bit OS?

3. What is the JVM Heap Size (Used/Total/Max)? Sage has this info on the Setup -> System Information screen.

4. Does Sage crash if all the HD300 extenders are physically disconnected from the network?

5. Are the HD300's the only clients being used ?
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 1.5TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ATSC: HVR2250; Time Warner Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.

Last edited by JustFred; 09-11-2018 at 08:25 PM. Reason: clarify
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage Process on Server Crashing rickgillyon SageTV Github Development 19 08-22-2017 02:10 PM
Server crashing corrupt wiz.bin? rxnelson SageTV Software 12 11-08-2015 09:12 PM
Server crashing...comskip? nettech_gt SageTV v7 Customizations 8 04-04-2013 09:02 AM
SageTV Server keeps crashing grauchy SageTV Software 2 02-21-2008 09:35 AM
MVP Server crashing Ralnee SageTV Software 2 11-11-2003 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.