SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2011, 04:58 PM
Reefkeeper Reefkeeper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
SageTV only responds to 2 remote commands

I have a win 7 64 bit system with a Hauppauge 1600 & a 2250 installed. After much trial and error I managed to get the remote to work using the Hauppauge WinTV software. I also created a file called debug.txt and verified each of the buttons on the hauppauge 45 button remote transmitted the desired command. Confident I had the remote receiver and the blaster working, I then installed SageTV ver 7 and checked the box to install support for Hauppauge remotes.
My problem is SageTV will only respond to 2 commands from the remote, Stop and Play, all others produce no response at all. I suspect the problem is with one of the configuration files for SageTV but not sure which one to tackle. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2011, 10:24 PM
hedly's Avatar
hedly hedly is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 191
I had similar issues when I upgraded to Win7 64. I have two 1600 cards.

For my case, I use the IR receivers that plug in the back of the cards.

Turns out, I had to run an IR receiver for EACH card. Fortunately there is a smoked window that I hide them behind so it doesn't look messy. Anyway, once I had both IR receivers hooked up, things worked find.
__________________
hEdly
----------
SageTV 9, 64bit
Hauppauge Quad
AMD A6-3500; 8 GB RAM
Gigabyte A75-UD4H MOBO
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Receiving Free Over-the-Air HDTV in Sunny San Diego
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2011, 06:05 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The Hauppauge IR software can only support one IR device in a system. It's not always easy to determine which one is working. Try plugging the IR receiver into each TV card and test to see which one actually works on your system.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2011, 03:57 PM
Reefkeeper Reefkeeper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
I gave up on the Hauppauge remote

I purchased a USB UIRT and changed my SAGETV ver 7 remote configuration to "USB-UIRT + Any Remote". After learning the commands everything works but the remote needs 2 presses of each command. The first press will have no effect then the second press will result in the command responding twice. For example pressing the down arrow in the program guide will have no effect, pressing it again will move down 2 lines.
I went into the command setup and selected "Show SageTV commands linked to infared\keystroke" and found that for every keypress I make a numeric code and "None" appear on the first press, the second press will show a different numeric code and the command such as Down. I can delete the linked command but the None always appears. I suspect this may be part of the problem but I am not sure where to go from here. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:22 PM
karhill karhill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: seattle
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefkeeper View Post
I purchased a USB UIRT and changed my SAGETV ver 7 remote configuration to "USB-UIRT + Any Remote". After learning the commands everything works but the remote needs 2 presses of each command. The first press will have no effect then the second press will result in the command responding twice. For example pressing the down arrow in the program guide will have no effect, pressing it again will move down 2 lines.
I went into the command setup and selected "Show SageTV commands linked to infared\keystroke" and found that for every keypress I make a numeric code and "None" appear on the first press, the second press will show a different numeric code and the command such as Down. I can delete the linked command but the None always appears. I suspect this may be part of the problem but I am not sure where to go from here. Any suggestions?
I believe this is normal for Hauppauge remotes, which generate 2 different IR codes for each button press. Some sort of toggle mechanism: press it once, get the first code, press a 2nd time, get the 2nd code.

To configure the Hauppauge and the USB-UIRT, just have each command (e.g. "Down") mapped to two codes. It will work. Learn the IR code for down once. Then, without pressing any other buttons on the remote, learn the down command again. With the 2nd press of the "down" button on the remote, the down command will be mapped to 2 codes.

See http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...e+remote+codes for more details.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can SageTV relay IR commands from Comcast remote to the STV in basement for On-Demand MavRic SageTV Software 7 02-01-2009 10:49 AM
DVD Commands with MCE Remote Mike Hardware Support 3 11-13-2006 05:02 PM
Windowed interface responds slowly; full-screen normally; cause? GoldenTiger SageTV Software 0 01-22-2006 01:25 PM
Remote - Available commands markthenewf Hardware Support 1 03-08-2005 09:23 PM
Lag on Remote Commands lohmein SageTV Software 2 01-18-2005 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.