SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2017, 02:04 PM
glenner glenner is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 88
Hardware for a new unRAID box

I've been spec'ing out hardware for a new unRAID box. So far, I've come up with this:
  1. Fractal Design Define R5 case (regular midtower takes 8 internal drives. ideally I could find a box that has 8 hot swappable drives from the front, but can't easily find something like that).
  2. Intel i7-7700 @ 3.6GHz CPU
  3. ASUS PRIME B250M-C/CSM Socket 1151 Intel B250 Chipset MB
  4. 32GB RAM
  5. 2 x 256GB M.2 PCI.E SSD (for redundant cache pool)
  6. Corsair AX760 PSU (750W)
  7. 2 x 4TB WD Red (new drives) + 6 x 2TB Seagate Barracudas (my old drives)
  8. SYBA SATA III 4 Internal 6Gbps Ports PCI-e Controller Card (SI-PEX40064) - MB only support 6 SATA connection. This adds 4 more.

Does this sound about right? This is likely overkill in some areas... but not sure I care. I'd rather have a bit too much under the hood, then find out later I don't have enough.

Box will run unRAID /w SageTV9, Plex, Logitech Media Server, misc apps, and 1-2 Win VMs in dockers.

Any thoughts or anything I'm missing or should do differently?
__________________

Server: unRAID 6.7.2, R5 case, i7-7700@3.6GHz, ASUSTek Prime H270 Pro, 32GB, 2x250GB M.2 SSD cache (raid1), 12TB pool, HDHR Dual Tuner, HDHR Extend, CM 4221/7778, SageTV v9, SageMC (high WAF), SD EPG, dockers (SageTV, Plex, Logitech Media Center, Emby, etc.)
Clients: 3 x HD300, Placeshifters
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2017, 03:20 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Check the MB Manual. Sometimes using the M.2 slots will eliminate a bunch of the onboard SATA ports (they might share the same PCIe lanes, so it's one or the other).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2017, 06:08 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,682
The power supply is definitely overkill. If you don't have a discrete graphics card there is no need for a power supply above 500W or even 350W. Your CPU uses (max) 150W including motherboard, RAM, etc. Hard drives use no more than 12W each. SSDs use a couple of watts or so. That doesn't even add up to 300W.

You don't mention if you have already bought any of these components but you would be better off with a full ATX rather than a mATX. For example the B-250 Plus has two M.2 SATA ports on the mobo and one of them supports up to 32Gbps.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2017, 12:36 PM
glenner glenner is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Check the MB Manual. Sometimes using the M.2 slots will eliminate a bunch of the onboard SATA ports (they might share the same PCIe lanes, so it's one or the other).
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The power supply is definitely overkill. If you don't have a discrete graphics card there is no need for a power supply above 500W or even 350W. Your CPU uses (max) 150W including motherboard, RAM, etc. Hard drives use no more than 12W each. SSDs use a couple of watts or so. That doesn't even add up to 300W.

You don't mention if you have already bought any of these components but you would be better off with a full ATX rather than a mATX. For example the B-250 Plus has two M.2 SATA ports on the mobo and one of them supports up to 32Gbps.

Thanks for the feedback. I did go into the store and look at some MB manuals. Sounds like you can setup the M.2 in either SATA or PCIe mode... if you use PCIe you get the faster speed, and it does not consume a SATA port. That's what I'm told, at least on this ASUS Pro board I'm getting... I wonder if most folks who have unRAID are using M.2s and losing SATA ports? Or are they just using regular SATA SSDs for the cache?

I did go full ATX (ASUS PRIME H270-PRO Socket 1151 ATX). Thanks.

I also watered down the PSU to 650W, though the thing with these is the price difference does not change much if you downgrade the wattage a bit. These Corsairs power down the fan when the PSU is running at low load, so it helps in my mind if you overkill a bit here (with noise, MTBF, etc...)? I've updated my specs as below and now ordered these parts... Though I can still make changes if needed:
  1. Fractal Design Define R5 case (regular midtower takes 8 internal drives. ideally I could find a box that has 8 hot swappable drives from the front, but can't easily find something like that).
  2. Intel i7-7700 @ 3.6GHz CPU
  3. ASUS PRIME H270-PRO Socket 1151 ATX
  4. 2 x Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCI.E SSD (redundant cache pool)
  5. Corsair RM650x 80Plus Gold PSU (650W)
  6. 2 x 4TB WD Red (new drives) + 6 x 2TB Seagate Barracudas (my old drives)
  7. SYBA SATA III 4 Internal 6Gbps Ports PCI-e Controller Card (SI-PEX40064) - MB only supports 6 SATA connection. This adds 4 more for a total of 10.
__________________

Server: unRAID 6.7.2, R5 case, i7-7700@3.6GHz, ASUSTek Prime H270 Pro, 32GB, 2x250GB M.2 SSD cache (raid1), 12TB pool, HDHR Dual Tuner, HDHR Extend, CM 4221/7778, SageTV v9, SageMC (high WAF), SD EPG, dockers (SageTV, Plex, Logitech Media Center, Emby, etc.)
Clients: 3 x HD300, Placeshifters
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2017, 10:18 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
you don't 'setup' the M.2 slots to be either PCIe or SATA. That's dependent on what card you stick in it. If it's a PCIe card, it connects to the M.2 slot as PCIe. If it's a SATA card, it connects as SATA. I know my gigabyte board had a table in it that showed what SATA ports would be disabled by populated each slot with either SATA, PCIe x1, or PCIe x4. If your board doesn't, then it may have enough PCIe lanes to handle it all and it won't be a problem. With it being a smaller board, with fewer actual slots than my full-ATX board, it wouldn't surprise me - just thought I'd bring up the possible issue before it surprised you.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unraid Hardware - What did you do? dealsdyker SageTV for unRAID/Docker 28 08-10-2017 05:21 PM
unRAID DVB 6.3.5 wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 05-31-2017 06:35 AM
What should I be focussing on hardware wise for unRAID server wayner Hardware Support 18 01-11-2017 12:23 PM
whs or unraid? rwc SageTV Software 28 09-18-2010 10:16 AM
Client hardware: hardware decoder? specs? natesneat2000 General Discussion 9 10-26-2004 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.