SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:14 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
Android client on FireTV stick?

I just bought a FireTV stick as they were so cheap during Prime Days. Can this run the SageTV client?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:33 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I just bought a FireTV stick as they were so cheap during Prime Days. Can this run the SageTV client?
In my experience if all you have are H.264 files and don't mind stereo then it would work fine for you. The Stick doesn't have hardware MPEG2 decoding. Also, the client does not support audio pass-through very well.

I recently, also during Prime Days, bought one of the full 4K Fire TV's since they were 50% off. The SageTV Client works better due to MPEG2 hardware decoder capability but audio pass-through is still an issue.

Audio pass-through is definitely one of the weaknesses of the Android SageTV Client. I've never gotten it to work correctly.

The Stick works very well for Plex and other streaming services though we've had trouble with Hulu being oddly slow. Have had zero issues with the full Fire TV.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:34 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
Do you have access to the Google Play store on the FireTV? I didn't think you did. If not, how do you install the SageTV app?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:45 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Do you have access to the Google Play store on the FireTV? I didn't think you did. If not, how do you install the SageTV app?
No, the Google Play Store is not available without sideloading it. The SageTV Client is available through the Amazon App Store:

https://smile.amazon.com/androideasy...=sagetv+client
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:46 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Now that I'm looking at it that appears to not be an official submission. So I'm not sure how up to date it is or that it might not include spyware.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:48 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
However, if you enable developer mode and then install Firefox or other browser or downloader app you can install apps by downloading their APK's directly.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:50 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I used this app originally to install APK's not available in through Amazon:

https://smile.amazon.com/AFTVnews-co...downloader+app
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:53 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
No, the Google Play Store is not available without sideloading it. The SageTV Client is available through the Amazon App Store:

https://smile.amazon.com/androideasy...=sagetv+client
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Now that I'm looking at it that appears to not be an official submission. So I'm not sure how up to date it is or that it might not include spyware.
That is an official installation. ie, I periodically update it. It doesn't get updated as often as the Google Play one, mainly because it's a little more work to submit to Amazon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2018, 11:59 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
That is an official installation. ie, I periodically update it. It doesn't get updated as often as the Google Play one, mainly because it's a little more work to submit to Amazon.
Ok, good to know. I just noticed it's a version behind the latest.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the Android client work on Chromebooks? wayner SageTV Clients Development 6 03-28-2018 07:20 PM
Getting IJK player working in Miniclient on FireTV WellThen SageTV Clients Development 1 01-22-2017 07:58 PM
[Android Mini Client] Integrate with Android TV 'Live Channels' dinki SageTV Clients Development 11 01-31-2016 09:43 AM
4k FireTV $99 Wayneb General Discussion 2 10-06-2015 01:24 PM
Android client? equalize SageTV Placeshifter 1 07-22-2010 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.